Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Joomla for vBulletin (IMPORTANT UPDATE) - Bridge to the World's Most Popular CMS Details »
Joomla for vBulletin (IMPORTANT UPDATE) - Bridge to the World's Most Popular CMS
Mod Version: 1.0.0 RC2, by Michael Morris (Member) Michael Morris is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2009 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (10 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 68
Released: 26 Apr 2007 Last Update: Never Downloads: 899
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

Warning!!! An potential exploit has been found in this modification. The server that hosts vjoomla.com has been attacked several times. It is known to already be severely comprimised so at this time it is unclear whether the vulnerability lies in vJoomla, Joomla itself or the server. Until this is resolved to my satisfaction I am removing this modification. My apologies.


The modification WILL be re-released once this issue is resolved!

vJoomla is an offshoot of Joomla 1.0 that is designed to run in tandem with vbulletin. Unlike the main release it will not run without vbulletin - if you desire a CMS without a forum then use Joomla! instead. vJoomla is identical in most all regards to Joomla!

What vJoomla Does
  • Provide a single session, single login interface to Joomla and vbulletin.
  • Allows Joomla pages to be skinned by vbulletin's template engine.
  • Maps Joomla usergroups to vbulletin usergroups.

What vJoomla Does Not Do
  • It does not rewrite your templates for you - so you will need to go in currently and change relative links to images and pages to absolute links. This is most important in the style sheets and in the navbar template. This is something you need to do yourself rather than programmatically since no two sites are likely to be using the same style sheet and the same setup for these links.

Install Instructions
  1. Log into your admincp
  2. Close your forum
  3. If your forums are at the root of your site move them elsewhere - the best location is probably /forum
  4. Upload the files from the zip packages to their respective locations. There should be no overwrites.
  5. Navigate to the root of your site and run the Joomla installer.
  6. Go back to the admincp and install the Joomla product file
  7. Now either copy the ./cpstyles, ./clientscript and ./images directory of the forum into the Joomla directory OR create symbolic links to those directories. The contents of the ./images directory of Joomla and vbulletin will need to be merged.

This is release candidate 2.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #316  
Old 07 Jun 2007, 16:43
Michael Morris's Avatar
Michael Morris Michael Morris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Real name: Michael Morris
Two possible approaches. 1 - give Joomla the option to use its own navbar. I could implement this as follows, create template jos_navbar. Joomla will try that navbar template during rendering first - if it is empty it will use the vbulletin navbar.

I could also include a $show['joomlaon'] variable in joomla so that templates could respond to being rendered by Joomla.

So do one, the other, or both?
Reply With Quote
  #317  
Old 07 Jun 2007, 16:50
VivaLaPinkowitz VivaLaPinkowitz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Andrew Pinkowitz
Both sound excellent!

Also, are you aware of the error text that is displayed on the news and FAQ modules and a possible fix for them?
Reply With Quote
  #318  
Old 07 Jun 2007, 18:22
RedefiningFate RedefiningFate is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Two problems that came up so far Michael-

1. If I were to select an option on the poll that it automatically brings up upon installation, it states that I need to enable cookies. However I am able to login to every site that requires cookies so I know they are on...any suggestions?

2. If I go to the administrator for joomla through the vB admincp and try and change a newsflash or something. It loads up everything but then will not allow me to edit anything and the original text disappears. It then will not allow me to close out/cancel out of the edit and then because I don't cancel or close it, the newsflash gets locked.

Any help with greatly be appreciated!

Thanks...

Last edited by RedefiningFate; 07 Jun 2007 at 18:28.
Reply With Quote
  #319  
Old 07 Jun 2007, 18:39
Luky Luky is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Jay
Originally Posted by RedefiningFate View Post
Two problems that came up so far Michael-

1. If I were to select an option on the poll that it automatically brings up upon installation, it states that I need to enable cookies. However I am able to login to every site that requires cookies so I know they are on...any suggestions?

2. If I go to the administrator for joomla through the vB admincp and try and change a newsflash or something. It loads up everything but then will not allow me to edit anything and the original text disappears. It then will not allow me to close out/cancel out of the edit and then because I don't cancel or close it, the newsflash gets locked.

Any help with greatly be appreciated!

Thanks...
I get number 1, polls dont work.
Reply With Quote
  #320  
Old 07 Jun 2007, 18:46
VivaLaPinkowitz VivaLaPinkowitz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Andrew Pinkowitz
Originally Posted by RedefiningFate View Post
2. If I go to the administrator for joomla through the vB admincp and try and change a newsflash or something. It loads up everything but then will not allow me to edit anything and the original text disappears. It then will not allow me to close out/cancel out of the edit and then because I don't cancel or close it, the newsflash gets locked.
A quick fix for the locking of the posts are to log out and log back in. I've noticed the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #321  
Old 07 Jun 2007, 18:49
VivaLaPinkowitz VivaLaPinkowitz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Andrew Pinkowitz
I've noticed the poll issue on normal installs of Joomla, not just vJoomla. This is a problem that I'd like to find a solution to however.
Reply With Quote
  #322  
Old 07 Jun 2007, 20:46
imported_hbs imported_hbs is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
reposting my problem - anyone know what can cause/solve it

Trying to install it I am getting a message box saying "The site has not been provided" followed by another message "Forum not found". I am getting this error at Step 4 of the install.
The installer find my forum @ step 1 then it finish the joomla DB settings, I leave the usergroup configuration defults and click NEXT then I receive the 2 message boxes.
I checked to see that the Path to Save Cookies is /

What did I do wrong

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old 07 Jun 2007, 20:51
Luky Luky is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Jay
Originally Posted by imported_hbs View Post
reposting my problem - anyone know what can cause/solve it

Trying to install it I am getting a message box saying "The site has not been provided" followed by another message "Forum not found". I am getting this error at Step 4 of the install.
The installer find my forum @ step 1 then it finish the joomla DB settings, I leave the usergroup configuration defults and click NEXT then I receive the 2 message boxes.
I checked to see that the Path to Save Cookies is /

What did I do wrong

thanks in advance
http://www.alchemist-team.net/vjoomla.html
Reply With Quote
  #324  
Old 08 Jun 2007, 04:22
Invalid ID's Avatar
Invalid ID Invalid ID is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Real name: Wahab Hameed
Anyone has a demo?
Reply With Quote
  #325  
Old 08 Jun 2007, 05:32
4x4 Mecca 4x4 Mecca is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Error during product import. Could this be because I didn't stop my forums?

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #326  
Old 08 Jun 2007, 05:52
4x4 Mecca 4x4 Mecca is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
I tried with the boards turned off, same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old 08 Jun 2007, 08:36
imported_hbs imported_hbs is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Originally Posted by 4x4 Mecca View Post
Error during product import. Could this be because I didn't stop my forums?

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
you have to drop the 'joomla_registered' (without the single quotes) from the user table before continuing.
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 08 Jun 2007, 12:56
Luky Luky is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Jay
Originally Posted by Invalid ID View Post
Anyone has a demo?
sig
Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old 08 Jun 2007, 19:14
AK47 Nemesis AK47 Nemesis is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Real name: Hans Hoogwerf
Originally Posted by Michael Morris View Post
Ok, for the technically inclined, and especially for those considering writing components or modules for this variant of Joomla, here in brief is how this works.

Joomla's global file calls vbulletin's global.php - either the forum or the admincp version as needed. If the forum version is used it caches it's 20 templates. The rest of the hacks are in the Joomla mainframe. Rather than allow the Joomla database object to connect itself the resource id of the Master connection is passed to it from the vbulletin database object. Both database classes are therefore available. So if you like you can do

$database->setQuery("-- some query");
$database->loadObjectList();

or you can use vbulletin's way.

$db->query_read(" -- some query ");

Each system has it's advantages and disadvantages. Typically I use the joomla object to handle joomla tables if, for no other reason, the table prefix in the queries is automatically parsed. But I digress.

Joomla doesn't do it's own login in this hack. Instead, at the line where Joomla WOULD verify the password it instead checks the vbulletin registry object ($vbulletin) to see if there is a user. If there is the hack lies to Joomla and cuts it loose with a session without independent verification. Therefore, in this hack all logins and user manipulations go through vbulletin (which has a far more robust user system anyway so in my opinion, no loss).

This will cause problems if you install a Joomla component that extends on the Joomla user object. These components probably will not work.

vJoomla, for the most part, doesn't need a complete user list. The first time a vbulletin user moves to a joomla page though part of their registration is copied into the joomla user table. This should help certain components function and is also necessary for the Joomla backend to work. I may write some stricter syncing code if necessary -- vJoomla itself doesn't need it to work but some components might.

The admin side is a little tricker. I had to disable joomla timing out - I swear this took longer than any other part but it works now. Again, Joomla is dependent on vbulletin to get the security right in this hack. Since admincp global throws a login interface automatically if you time out on it there's no reason for Joomla to maintain a seperate check. If you return from vbulletin global.php in the Joomla admin files you're golden.

Final notes are on templates. Once Joomla is ready to call it's template engine a hack steps in and iterates over the Joomla module positions, reading them all into an array. Each module position is then wrapped in a template file (though in this base distribution there are no elaborations on these templates). After this is done Joomla's output passes through vbulletin's template engine and vbulletin completes the page output.

In all it took 2 months on and off to figure this all out. But though it's incomplete, it's working very smoothly at the moment. Questions and comments welcome.
Will this work with other CMS too? Because we are building our own atm and we would love to have vBulletin integrated.
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 08 Jun 2007, 20:56
4x4 Mecca 4x4 Mecca is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by imported_hbs View Post
you have to drop the 'joomla_registered' (without the single quotes) from the user table before continuing.
I did that, then there was another table that had an error, so I deleted them both, (Both joomla_)
Then I got an error saying there was no jos_menu table, so I created it, then I got this error

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:53.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: