Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Rotating Banner System Details »
Rotating Banner System
Mod Version: 2.4.2, by y2ksw (Coder) y2ksw is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (141 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 1238
Released: 16 Aug 2008 Last Update: 09 Sep 2013 Downloads: 11071
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

With the Rotating Banner System software, you may publish literally anywhere standard banners and advertising, with no restriction but your imagination. Unlike many other products, it allows to show an unlimited amount of banners and advertising, which are randomly shown at the places you choose, and you may refer generically to an Ad by using specific placeholders.

Also the management is straight-forward and simple to use. Forum administrators with maintenance rights may add, edit and delete records from the Administration Control Panel (ACP), one of each representing a banner. After saving the new banner settings, they are immediately visible at your board.

Compatibility: from vBulletin 3.6.5 onwards

By the way, I do also install the hack on your boards, but since I am very, very busy, it may take some time (weeks) until it gets done.


Tutorials:Updates:
  • 2.0.1: Simple click tracker added, HTML help included.
  • 2.0.3: Small bug fixes; additional banner list, navigation bar, E-Mail field for banner event notifications and automatic save on scroll setting; absolute URL to rbs_banner.php in order to allow click tracking on non-standard pages; supported languages: English, Italian; Help file clean-up.
  • 2.0.5: Small bug fixes; additional details in banner list; email notification for epired banners.
  • 2.0.6: vbCMS compatibility bug fix; additional banner lists.
  • 2.0.7: Usergroups filter: now it is possible to define a list of usergroups which may show a banner; additional vbCMS compatibility bug fix.
  • 2.0.8: Various fixes and most of all, inclusion of the right files: admin_rbs.php, cpnav_rbs.xml
  • 2.0.9: Extra comma fix in new record creation.
  • 2.1.0: Fix for an occasional banner type selection bug, when the sample banners have been deleted or disabled.
  • 2.2.0 (Major upgrade): Up to 10 different banner locations. Requires changes to your existing placeholders in your templates, since a more generic format has been chosen. If you don't need more than 2 different locations, you don't need to upgrade. Changed files: rbs_banner.php, admin_rbs.php
  • 2.2.1: Minor bug fix in files: admin_rbs_h_banner_list.php, admin_rbs_v_banner_list.php
  • 2.2.1: Hotfix for Max Clicks saving bug.
  • 2.2.2: More listings and less files. PDF Help. Separate Italian add-ons and help. Duplicate button.
  • 2.2.3: Minor bug fixes. Changed files: product-rbs.xml
  • 2.2.4: Flash Banner support (beta). Changed files: product-rbs.xml, rbs_wrapper.swf, admin_rbs.php, English Help.
  • 2.2.5: Hotfix for vBulletin 4.0.2 compatibility bug.
  • 2.2.6: Checking for installed Flash Wrapper rbs_wrapper.swf; A few English FAQ; Help files. Changed files: product-rbs.xml
  • 2.3.0 (Major upgrade): New modules: Delete Expired Banners, Disable Expired Banners; Detail Banner Statistics with unique access key for your customers; Updated help; Changed files: all.
  • 2.3.1: Hotfix for missing field in rbs_hist table. Changed files: none, just update product.
  • 2.3.2: Added: Unsupported option for setting any number of available positions between 1 and big bang. Fixed: Small bug and speed issues. Removed: Italian translation. Italians may now request support at www.vbulletin.it. Changed files: admin_rbs.php.
  • 2.3.3: Fix: Copy selected forum ID's during banner duplication. Changed: start and end hours for new banners are set to 0:00 and 23:59 respectively. Changed files: admin_rbs.php.
  • 2.3.4: Option: Send Mail Before. This option allows to schedule expiring banners differently. New variables for emails: $rbs_enddate: This variable holds the formatted banner ending date and time based on the standard formats for date and time in vBulletin settings; $rbs_name: This variable holds the banner name. EMail Notifications option description: Added direct links to the email phrases for quick changes. Changed files: rbs_mail_cron.php.
  • 2.4.0 (Major upgrade): Removed: Option to enable or disable mailing. Banners with email addresses to notify are handled. Setting to reset mailing in single banners. Now, if mailing should be repeated, you will have to edit the banner from phpMyAdmin. Added: Order links in lists. The initial state is ordered by ID, as before. By clicking the titles, the other voices can be ordered. Clicking twice inverts the order. This works in all lists. Options to prevent counting and reducing thus a tiny bit of load. A new bunch of demo banners for new installations. Demo banners are locked into database in order to avoid 30% of the questions because of the 'experts' deleting them before trying the product. They can be disabled and modified though. The true experts can delete them after all testing from the database by using phpMyAdmin without side effects. Changes: Phrase for emailing about expiring banners, now also with direct links to the phrases. Demo banners. Our old publisher ID is replaced with the new ones, and old demo banners are updated with the new ones, if found. The functions have been exported to includes/functions_rbs.php. This makes the product code smaller and easier to maintain, and runs faster on sites where caching/acceleration is enabled. Changed Files: all *.php
  • 2.4.1: Option Likelihood. This new option adds a weight to banners and allows thus to show one banner more often than another. The default weight is 100%. We also make sure that the final date of the default banners falls into a valid range. Changed files: includes/functions_rbs.php and rbs_stats.php.
  • 2.4.2: Workaround for update sequence problems.
Hacks and unsupported add-ons:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	banner.png
Views:	13177
Size:	27.7 KB
ID:	123711   Click image for larger version

Name:	style.jpg
Views:	7562
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	123714   Click image for larger version

Name:	navigation.png
Views:	8172
Size:	4.9 KB
ID:	123715   Click image for larger version

Name:	estatistics.png
Views:	10767
Size:	14.7 KB
ID:	123716  

Click image for larger version

Name:	options.jpg
Views:	3666
Size:	123.7 KB
ID:	137954  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #1621  
Old 09 Dec 2011, 19:30
licensinglinks licensinglinks is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
There is no such function available.
Thanks anyway - great hack
Reply With Quote
  #1622  
Old 09 Dec 2011, 22:09
Scalemotorcars's Avatar
Scalemotorcars Scalemotorcars is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Daniel
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
It's an issue which seems to happen lately to more people ... it has to do with the div tag with no class or style attached and it seems as if Chrome does some magic with simple div tags. Please see here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...postcount=1398

Ive got it working in everything but Chrome. I tried the div class fix but no luck. Cleared cache and still nothing. Any ideals?

Here's the page. It has the default ads up. http://www.scalemotorcars.com/forum/
__________________
ScaleMotorcars.com Large scale model building at its best. Check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #1623  
Old 11 Dec 2011, 17:56
molieman's Avatar
molieman molieman is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Matt Olieman
I would like to place two ads in the "above navbar" area, such as Position 0 and 2, one left the other right. Is this possible and if so how?

Thanks,
__________________
Matt Olieman
www.mycockpit.org
Reply With Quote
  #1624  
Old 12 Dec 2011, 00:23
gogogadgetbiker's Avatar
gogogadgetbiker gogogadgetbiker is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Any chance someone could give me a step-by-step on how to install this? I just got into this about 5 days ago and I simply don't have a clue what to do.

Also if anyone is interested in being my "Go To Guy" when it comes to vBulletin I'll give you lifetime subscriber status on my forum www.choppedbaggers.com
Reply With Quote
  #1625  
Old 12 Dec 2011, 02:10
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
DJ's "How To Install Modifications (Mods/Hacks)" for Beginners
Reply With Quote
  #1626  
Old 12 Dec 2011, 11:42
DEGE DEGE is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Edu
I searched inside this thread but couldn't find any clue for this...

How can I create a "Text only" banner (not Google related) where I can show some formated text (let's say a colored table) with some words, but keep it tracked and linked in the RBS?

I've tried adding the simple text, but it does not make hyperlink. Tried also adding html code hyperlink in the text area and works, but keeps no track.

Can you help me?
Reply With Quote
  #1627  
Old 12 Dec 2011, 13:31
DEGE DEGE is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Edu
I figured out the code

replaced:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

There was no other way to get it working since the "text" option of this mod relayed on Google javascript code and didn't keep track of text banners ever.

Thanks anyway
Reply With Quote
  #1628  
Old 13 Dec 2011, 11:07
molieman's Avatar
molieman molieman is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Matt Olieman
Originally Posted by molieman View Post
I would like to place two ads in the "above navbar" area, such as Position 0 and 2, one left the other right. Is this possible and if so how?
Thanks,
CORRECTION..... DUHHHHHHhhhh ....

I meant "BELOW" navbar

Please help
__________________
Matt Olieman
www.mycockpit.org
Reply With Quote
  #1629  
Old 13 Dec 2011, 16:15
gogogadgetbiker's Avatar
gogogadgetbiker gogogadgetbiker is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I cannot seem to get the Forum selection tool to work. If I understand it right, a selected forum will be blue and an unselected forum will be white.

If I leave all forums in the Forum selection section white, the enabled banners show up on every forum "like they should."

But if I select them all "blue" except one forum "white" the banner does not display in any forum.

Any ideas?
__________________
www.choppedbaggers.com
Reply With Quote
  #1630  
Old 13 Dec 2011, 16:50
gogogadgetbiker's Avatar
gogogadgetbiker gogogadgetbiker is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
I figured it out, I had to make seperate banners. 1 for the home page, and 1 for everything else...
__________________
www.choppedbaggers.com
Reply With Quote
  #1631  
Old 15 Dec 2011, 00:44
Scalemotorcars's Avatar
Scalemotorcars Scalemotorcars is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Daniel
Still no luck on Chrome. Anyone???
__________________
ScaleMotorcars.com Large scale model building at its best. Check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #1632  
Old 15 Dec 2011, 01:19
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by Scalemotorcars View Post
Still no luck on Chrome. Anyone???
No clue. But FWIW I used to notice the google ads not showing up in FF for me, and earlier today I was working near the footer adspace in Chrome and I noticed the same thing. I would have to refresh the page several times until one of my local banners came up.

So I don't have an answer, in fact I have worse news for you - I just tried your link in Firefox and the ad didn't show there either.

A possible clue though in IE. An ad shows, but it's not changing. It's stuck on a televisionfanatic.com ad. So maybe there's something wrong with the ad code.
Reply With Quote
  #1633  
Old 17 Dec 2011, 01:17
Scalemotorcars's Avatar
Scalemotorcars Scalemotorcars is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Daniel
It might be the default code. Ill try some of my own ads and see whats up. Thanks for checking.
__________________
ScaleMotorcars.com Large scale model building at its best. Check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #1634  
Old 20 Dec 2011, 04:01
CSS59 CSS59 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
is this banner ad system server intense?
Reply With Quote
  #1635  
Old 20 Dec 2011, 05:09
CSS59 CSS59 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
I installed this and for the life of me I can't get any banners to show up.
inserted the code in the Advertising spot
I checked settings ->options and Advertising and all looks good but banners won't show up. I see there are two default google ads. Those wont even show up

I have this code in but nothing shows up
<!--@vbbanners:0@-->

Last edited by CSS59; 20 Dec 2011 at 05:15.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:23.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: