Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[DBTech] vBSlider v3 (vB4) Details »
[DBTech] vBSlider v3 (vB4)
Mod Version: 3.0.2, by DragonByte Tech (Coder) DragonByte Tech is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (22 votes - 4.68 average) Installs: 148
Released: 18 Jan 2012 Last Update: 25 Apr 2016 Downloads: 1212
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  


vBSlider: What is it?

vBSlider is a professional slider mod, allowing administrators to show the latest threads, articles, blogs, and custom-defined content in a jQuery based slider. vBSlider can be used on both the CMS and Forum, and is compatible with vBulletin 4.x Suite, vBulletin 4.x Forum Only, and vBulletin 3.x

Uses

vBSlider can be used on both the CMS and Forum to promote your latest content, as well as custom content, and can be separately configured for both the CMS and Forum.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you like this mod please hit the button to the right ---->

Please remember to click the, button to the right if you installed the mod ---->

What does 'Marking As Installed' do ?

* It helps you to stay on top of updates - members who have installed modifications will be notified by us whenever new updates are available.

*
For security issues - vbulletin.org will contact all members who have installed a modification whenever a security issue is brought to their attention.

* Marking a modification as installed also helps us know how many people are using our work, giving us extra incentive to provide more features and new modifications.

We appreciate the support!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Differences between Pro and Lite

Priority support & Product Demos available at: http://www.dragonbyte-tech.com

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Translations may be available @ http://www.dragonbyte-tech.com/forums/91-Translations
Support for translations handled by the translator in its respective threads only.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Complete Feature List (Lite)

General Settings
  • Option to display version number in widget footer
  • Option to not load jQuery, if it is already being called by another modification
  • Option to select which version of jQuery to load
  • Default image for CMS content items that do not have an associated image (a default DragonByte Tech image is provided) [vB4.x only]
  • Default image for Forum content items that do not have an associated image (a default DragonByte Tech image is provided)
  • Default image for Blog content items that do not have an associated image (a default DragonByte Tech image is provided)
  • Default image for DragonByte Gallery content items that do not have an associated image (a default DragonByte Tech image is provided)

Multiple Slider Instances
  • Ability to create and insert virtually unlimited sliders across your forum
  • All settings below are customised on a per-instance basis

CMS Options (as a Widget on CMS pages) [vB4.x only]
  • Option to select how many articles from the CMS you want to display
  • Option to select which CMS sections you want to include/exclude from the slider
  • Option to select how many threads from the forum you want to display
  • Option to select which forums you want to include/exclude from the slider
  • Option to select how many blog entries from the blogs you want to display
  • Option to select which blog categories you want to include/exclude from the slider
  • Option to select how many [DBTech] Gallery images you want to display
  • Option to select which [DBTech] Gallery instances you want to include/exclude from the slider
  • Option to select how many custom content items you want to display
  • Option to select how many characters of the content item you want to display

Forum Options (as a Widget on Forum Home, vB3 & vB4)
  • Option to enable or disable the widget on Forum Home
  • Option to select location for the widget on Forum Home (above or below forums)
  • All of the other options listed for the CMS [vB4.x only]

Customisation
  • Stylevars available for both the CMS and Forum versions, so that you can match each one to your specific design [vB4.x only]
  • External CSS file available so you can match the slider to your forum [vB3.x only]
  • Ability to define a maximum width and height for the slider (in StyleVars for vB4, in CSS for vB3)
  • Fully phrased to allow for customization for different languages

Additional Feature List (Pro)

General Settings
  • Option to move Copyright location from below slider to site footer
  • Option to change the default image for CMS content items that do not have an associated image (vB4 Only)
  • Option to change the default image for Forum content items that do not have an associated image
  • Option to change the default image for Blog content items that do not have an associated image
  • Option to use IMG tags inside the content types to allow for external images to be used inside of the slider

CMS [vB4.x only] and Forum Options (as a Widget on CMS/Forum pages, CMS is vB4 Only)
  • Option to select how long each content item displays before transitioning to the next slide
  • Option to pick the location inside the slider for the content
  • Option to pick the text alignment of the content

Custom Content Options
  • This gives you the ability to create your own content items to display to your users
  • Ability to define a title for the content
  • Ability to define a message for the content. Message can include HTML formatting
  • Ability to define a link if you want to provide additional information in a separate location
  • Ability to define a link to an image for the content item
  • Option to pick the location inside the slider for the content
  • Option to pick the text alignment of the content
  • Option to enable/disable on the CMS [vB4.x only]
  • Option to enable/disable on Forum Home
  • Option to enable/disable site wide
  • Option to select the target location for the link to open in
  • Option for 'banner-only', so if no text is in the message area, the content slider doesn't show
  • All of the above options are definable for each custom content item

Customisation
  • Ability to define the width of the content area when located on the left or right side (in StyleVars for vB4, CSS for vB3)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This mod displays a copyright notification in the footer of all pages which includes:
  • 1 Link to DragonByte Technologies homepage
  • 1 Link to Product Description page of this modification

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ACP_Menu.PNG
Views:	802
Size:	2.9 KB
ID:	135847   Click image for larger version

Name:	CMS_Options.jpg
Views:	1451
Size:	84.6 KB
ID:	135848   Click image for larger version

Name:	Forum_Options.jpg
Views:	956
Size:	109.5 KB
ID:	135849   Click image for larger version

Name:	General_Options.jpg
Views:	743
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	135850  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Create_Custom.jpg
Views:	1296
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	135851   Click image for larger version

Name:	Custom_List.jpg
Views:	975
Size:	21.6 KB
ID:	135852   Click image for larger version

Name:	CMS_Widget.PNG
Views:	4562
Size:	137.2 KB
ID:	135853   Click image for larger version

Name:	Forum_Widget.PNG
Views:	3491
Size:	77.4 KB
ID:	135854  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Major Additions [DBTech] vBArcade v2 (vB4) DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 429 23 Oct 2018 10:49
Major Additions [DBTech] vBNotifications v1 (vB4) DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 189 16 Apr 2018 21:46
Major Additions [DBTech] vBNavTabs - Navbar Tabs / Tab Management v1 (vB4) DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 420 11 Jun 2017 22:45
Add-On Releases [DBTech] Inferno vBShout to DBTech vBShout DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 10 22 Mar 2013 20:38
Add-On Releases [DBTech] Inferno vBShout to DBTech vBShout DragonByte Tech vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 6 28 May 2011 12:15

  #61  
Old 28 Jan 2012, 18:42
illusioNtEk illusioNtEk is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
as soon as the bugs are fixed i will glady pay! plz hurry
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 28 Jan 2012, 21:21
ProFifaLeagues's Avatar
ProFifaLeagues ProFifaLeagues is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by illusioNtEk View Post
as soon as the bugs are fixed i will glady pay! plz hurry
I dont think there is any bugs as such the mod works Superb for most people who have used it and with updates will only get better!
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 29 Jan 2012, 03:57
jack-d jack-d is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Originally Posted by DragonByte Tech View Post
For the drop down screen, you can resize it via Stylevars, just look for the content width stylevar. In the pro version, you have the ability to move the slider to the top, but with the title, message, and link, it still ends up taking up a lot of space.
Brad
Everyone has different tastes and I just feel a slider should be just that, not a huge obtrusive block hiding everything you are trying to show. Just a suggestion for you to build upon.


Originally Posted by DragonByte Tech View Post
Not sure on your comment on lo-res... If images in your threads or articles, etc., are small, then this upsizes them (currently) to fit inside the slider, therefore making them appear lo-res. This will happen no matter how I do it. If I keep the image the size it is (so that it appears hi-res), you may end up with a lot of blank space just so the image looks "hi-res". Like I said, maybe I'm just misunderstanding you.

Brad
I actually made a few posts and made some images up that were sized to fit the slider so no resizing would be required and when I look at them in the forums they look fine but viewing the same image in the slider they look like a jpg compressed to 40 or 50%. Now this was one test and I have not had time to test it anymore so it might be something else. I know they are not "upsizing" as you say so that is not the issue.

All of my images are on the large size and the only way this slider would work is for me to manually re-size them all and that would be no fun. I for one would need no enlarging as it will always look low-res but if this could reduce size that would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 29 Jan 2012, 13:28
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Well, I am using vB's built-in attachment system via attachment.php to display the attachments, so I don't see how they should be any different than in the forum. There is nothing in the code that should be changing the quality of the images. I'm not sure what else I can say.

Brad
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 29 Jan 2012, 14:35
New Joe's Avatar
New Joe New Joe is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
When I had it installed the quality of he pictures were really bad for some and fine for others,
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 29 Jan 2012, 14:42
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Originally Posted by New Joe View Post
When I had it installed the quality of he pictures were really bad for some and fine for others,
My guess is that for the ones it was really bad for, the images actual width was significantly less than the width of the slider, in which case it was getting upsized.

Brad
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 30 Jan 2012, 11:15
sergarch's Avatar
sergarch sergarch is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Hello Brad,
I've found a bug with VBSEO integrated in my portal.

When I click on slider, the link led me to not VBSEO articles or themes and show me only my main CMS or forumhome page.

Example:
http://www.xpam.org/content.php/250-...83%D1%80%D0%B0

Instead of this it must led me to
http://www.xpam.org/content/250-pulsa-denura.html

I'm using Russian language and utf-8 on my portal.
__________________
Crossroads of the worlds
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 30 Jan 2012, 15:07
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Its an issue with vB and their lack of a friendly URL function that works for the CMS. It is being corrected in 4.1.11 (at least, according the the latest Jira). Until then, you just need to edit the widget.php file in (forum)/dbtech/vbslider/actions/widget.php, search for "content.php" and replace it with "content" (at least that's how it looks given your links), and it should work. If not, let me know.

Brad
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 30 Jan 2012, 19:24
sergarch's Avatar
sergarch sergarch is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
It does not work.

http://www.xpam.org/content/250-%D0%...83%D1%80%D0%B0

"Page not found" error occured.
__________________
Crossroads of the worlds
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 30 Jan 2012, 20:08
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Originally Posted by sergarch View Post
It does not work.

http://www.xpam.org/content/250-%D0%...83%D1%80%D0%B0

"Page not found" error occured.
Ok, so it appears that it's pulling the exact name of the article, which is in ??Russian??, and using those letters in the URL instead of regular letters. It might take me a bit to figure this out, as I'm not even sure where to begin testing this. I do some searching and let you know what I find out. Thanks!

Brad
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 30 Jan 2012, 20:16
mkkochan's Avatar
mkkochan mkkochan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Real name: kamil
4.1.10 also worked with super job
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 31 Jan 2012, 09:56
sergarch's Avatar
sergarch sergarch is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Originally Posted by DragonByte Tech View Post
Ok, so it appears that it's pulling the exact name of the article, which is in Russian

Brad
You are absolutely right!

This issue only for none English speakers forums with vBSEO enabled.
English speakers forums works perfectly with this mod.
__________________
Crossroads of the worlds
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 04 Feb 2012, 04:28
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
Version 1.0.7 has been released, fixing some issues, as well as adding an option to allow admins to define a minimum image dimension for slider images. Basically, this is to make sure small attachments don't get upsized significantly and displayed inside the slider. This DOESN'T fix all the issues with image sizing right now, but it does give you a little bit more control over the images that show up.

I would also like to thank everyone who nominated and have voted for this product for MOTM!

Brad
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 04 Feb 2012, 21:01
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
If you downloaded v1.0.7 before this post, please re-download the package and reinstall. There was a small error in the XML file which is now fixed. Thanks.

Edit: It appears there is still an issue in the XML that I need to fix, so I have removed the download for now. Once I get the issue fixed, I will put the file back up. Sorry for an inconveniences...

Brad
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).

Last edited by DragonByte Tech; 04 Feb 2012 at 22:08.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 05 Feb 2012, 17:57
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Real name: Fillip & Iain
The product has been fixed, so v1.0.7 is once again available for download. Thanks!

Brad
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Please support our mods by nominating them to MOTM!
Please do NOT PM us for support. Private Messages are only for exchanging sensitive details (like FTP / AdminCP logins).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: