Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Logician NEWS: Drag Any Message to Your Main Page Details »
Logician NEWS: Drag Any Message to Your Main Page
Mod Version: 1.00, by Logician (Coder) Logician is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 2.2.x Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 105
Released: 31 May 2002 Last Update: Never Downloads: 14
Not Supported  

This is a news script which will drag vb forum messages from your vb db to your non-vb main page/news page. There are a lot of good news script around but I needed a highly customizable main page news script with some special features and wrote it myself. I'm using it in my site's main page for a long time, but I was just too lazy to write installation/help documents to share it here, sorry!

FEATURES:

* This script simply pulls forum messages which you marked as "news" from your vb database and post them in your non-vbulletin (main/other) page.
* You can mark messages as "NEWS" in any forum you want (including private forums). You dont need to restrict your news to a specific forum.
* You can drag any message to your main page, regardless of its date. So news is NOT supposed to be the most recent messages in your board.
* You do NOT have to carry the whole message to your main page as news. You can import it all or simply take some part of it. So eg. you can drag a message's the first paragraph to your news page and link the thread for "Read More".
* Moreover you can insert invisible custom NEWS text which will be dragged to your main page to your board messages, but not shown in the original forum thread. So your original thread message and news text on your main page can be different than eachother.
* You can have sticky news in your main page (even if they are not sticky in your forum).
* News does NOT need to be the first message in the thread. You can tag any reply message as news and pull it to your main page either.
* Script parses ALL of your message icons/smilies (including your custom add-ons) and some of the important vBCode like: [url] [email] [img] [b] [i] [u]
* You can specify which members may post news.
* You can form your News' title seperately, apart from of the original thread/message title.
* You can set maximum number of news shown in your main page.
* You can set maximum number of characters that all shown news should not exceed. Some messages can be long and some can be short and if you set a character limit, the script will automatically compile enough news from your database to fit your web page's relevant part according to the limit you set.
* You can enable/disable:
News Poster Name
News Date
News Read Number
News 'Send to a Friend' Link
Comment number/Add comment button/Last commenter
Will viewing news increase the original thread's view count or not
News is sticky or not
for ALL your news INDIVIDUALLY.
* All news tags are invisible in the original thread. So forum readers do not notice any difference when you tag a message as news.
* Dragging a message to your main page as news is as simple as inserting a hidden [news]Title of My News[/news] tag to your forum message.

Well, these features are what I needed in my news script, so it should suffice to you too!

It's an easy to install script and will work with ALL vbulletin versions because it's an add-on, not a hack. I can give support as much as I have time, but please ask here, not via email or PM.

If you use the script, please click INSTALL. If you post the URL of your news page after installation, you can help other users see the script in action in different pages and in custom designs, thank you!

Logician

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #181  
Old 09 Apr 2004, 01:09
MeTaL_oRgY MeTaL_oRgY is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
hey logician... humm.. sorry for being such an annoying guy... but I think u are the only one who can help me....

first of all, I donīt care about the avatar thing anymore.... I create a news template that looks quite good ... but I have a functionality problem...

I have my site in both, english and spanish, so I need two news scripts (I used to use fusionnews... but it was too slow to login, write the news, then logout and then do it all over again on the other script... it worked, but it was too slow...). Iīve installed this script in two different folders, noticias and news. Then installed the advanced way and post a news item on my spanish forum. worked.. perfectly... then posted on the english one.. perfect again, both showing on their respective pages. The problem came when I posted agian on the english forum, one newswriter posted and the old post dissapeared from the mainpage... I thought it may be a installation error but no. I then tried to post another news on the english forum and nothing, the post my friend created was(and still is) the only one that can be viewed on the english main page... even if I post a newer news item.. X.x...

I can post again on the spanish forum and it works perfectly... they started deleting each others [news]tags, but that was an easy tsolve problem... (just had to set "$remove_news_tag" to 0) but now Iīm desperate... plz help!

here are some URLS that may be helfull:

http://zelda.wi3k.net/home2.php <-- english mainpage
http://zelda.wi3k.net/foro/forumdisplay.php?forumid=22 <-- english news forum
http://zelda.wi3k.net/home.php <-- spanish mainpage
http://zelda.wi3k.net/foro/forumdisplay.php?forumid=23 <-- spanish news forum

hope u can help me... I think the solution is to create a whole new script.. kinda... for the english news... I mean, with different variables, tags and everything.. but Iīm unsure....

thnx in advance and sorry for being so annoying (again)...

BTW Iīve double and triple checked the phpheader.php file of both, english and spanish and they are right. also, every post has the tags within it ...

Last edited by MeTaL_oRgY; 09 Apr 2004 at 01:19.
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 09 Apr 2004, 06:20
Logician's Avatar
Logician Logician is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
The script is designed to turn off news tags when a news is not pulled into the news page for a reason. In your example when spanish script runs, english news is not pulled since their forum id is not matched so the script deletes them.

This should fix your problem:
find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and replace it as:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Logician's Blog | WebTemplates for vb 4.x : VB Integrated Content Management System
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 09 Apr 2004, 17:24
MeTaL_oRgY MeTaL_oRgY is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
lol.. it didnīt.... I, the administrator, canīt post news.. I logged in as "Zeldafan" (my other news poster" and it worked... kinda... it replaced the other new with the one I posted under his name... of course Iīve checked this: $max_news=0; so I dunno what the problem is... ops:..... again sorry for beeing so annoying :s...

[EDIT]

mmmm.. now itņs weirder.. it says: "news hve been compied in xxxxx seconds" but nothing appears!!... Oo... and the spanish one has just 1 news (there are 2 news on the forum @@....

[EDIT]

I installed all over again from start, of course, replacing the text that u gave me logician, and hereīs what I get:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

......

Last edited by MeTaL_oRgY; 09 Apr 2004 at 17:58.
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 09 Apr 2004, 20:13
Logician's Avatar
Logician Logician is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
sorry should be in_array not inarray
__________________
Logician's Blog | WebTemplates for vb 4.x : VB Integrated Content Management System
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 09 Apr 2004, 20:30
MeTaL_oRgY MeTaL_oRgY is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
lol, thnx, it solve the fatal error problem, but itīs not compiling the news.. Iīll try erasing the forums and creating new ones and installing all over.. Iīll tell u how it came out after

[EDIT]

lol, I did what stated above... english poster posted a news on english and I posted in spanish... again, spanish is working and english isnīt... english just says: "News has been compiled in 0.0535 seconds." but the news donīt appear... I did a new install (downloaded and started all over again) for both files, I erased the old forums and created new ones, what changed their IDīs.... I checked all twice and itīs not working. I think itīs the hack since itīs not created to support two different languages in two different pages.... but I dunno :ermm:

any ideas?... if itīs too much trouble just tell me and Iīll install fusionnews or something for the enlgish part.. (damn.. >.<).....

Last edited by MeTaL_oRgY; 09 Apr 2004 at 21:05.
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 17 Jun 2004, 13:19
gmarik's Avatar
gmarik gmarik is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Marco
Logicina,
Warning: mysql_connect(): Access denied for user: '[email protected]' (Using password: YES) in /home/logician/public_html/newsdemo/newsconfig.php on line 26
Couldnt find MYSQL!
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 17 Jun 2004, 13:25
higmet higmet is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
check your database settings in phpheader.php
Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 10 Aug 2004, 22:35
vBTotal's Avatar
vBTotal vBTotal is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
will this work for 3.x?
Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 20 Feb 2005, 19:23
jalliday jalliday is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
i've installed this hack a year ago, now i've upgraded to vb3 and it still works.
great
works with vbulletin 3.06
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 20 Feb 2005, 19:32
Logician's Avatar
Logician Logician is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by jalliday
i've installed this hack a year ago, now i've upgraded to vb3 and it still works.
great
works with vbulletin 3.06
really??? even I didn't know this lol
__________________
Logician's Blog | WebTemplates for vb 4.x : VB Integrated Content Management System
Reply With Quote
  #191  
Old 03 Mar 2005, 13:35
jalliday jalliday is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
with an upgrade, it works.i didnt tried with a new install.
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 03 Mar 2005, 23:43
YoricksRequiem YoricksRequiem is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Can we get details on how to use it for vb3? It would be awesome !
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 03 Dec 2006, 23:16
unit3029 unit3029 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Smile Is this still supported?

I still use this even now in vb 3.6.4 , Fresh install

the only problem i have with it now is the ability to hide the tags from people who use quote.

We used to have to edit the newreply.php and add a small drop of code, however cant see where to continue doing this as the newreply.php no longer has that code or at least has changed considerably.

OLD Instructions:-

Step 4: (Optional)
What if you use news tags in a message and someone replies this message by pressing "QUOTE" in the original thread? Your news tags will be revealed to him. IF he is not authorized to send news, this is no big deal but if you want to hide them anyway, you can apply this optional hack too:

Edit newreply.php and find


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Before that add this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Save and upload newreply.php..

If you get the time, Id appreciate an update to this

also do you know if its possible to hide the buttons on the advanced wysiwyg editor from specific groups ?

Last edited by unit3029; 03 Dec 2006 at 23:35.
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 13 Dec 2006, 18:11
renalpha renalpha is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
i get an error when i try this
mySQL error:Table 'squaddes_Vbulletin.post' doesn't exist
it is in the phpmyadmin stuff
code.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:50.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: