Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 20:22
bluidkiti bluidkiti is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
How do you switch your forum from php to html

I see some forums, especially big ones, whose ending to their links for their sites end in html. How do I switch my vbulletin forum over to html instead of php? What is recommended to do this?

I am considering this is because my site has been having alot of problems with getting suspended for excessive CPU quota usage. I read this can be illiminated some by switching your site from php pages to html pages. Is this correct?

Thank you in advance for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 20:35
Shaheen's Avatar
Shaheen Shaheen is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by bluidkiti View Post
I see some forums, especially big ones, whose ending to their links for their sites end in html. How do I switch my vbulletin forum over to html instead of php? What is recommended to do this?

I am considering this is because my site has been having alot of problems with getting suspended for excessive CPU quota usage. I read this can be illiminated some by switching your site from php pages to html pages. Is this correct?

Thank you in advance for your help.
As much i know
they are using url rewrite and making urls search engine friendly .
you can check this hack TfSEO 2 or purchase VBSEO to do so.
i think this will help u in cpu quota usage but some times bcoz of limited database connection you get error and finally suspended
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 20:42
AzH's Avatar
AzH AzH is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
These scripts won't reduce server load, the change from .php to .html will have no impact upon performance. Upgrade your hosting.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 21:39
Bellardia Bellardia is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Changing from php to html will reduce load if your change the page itself and not just it's extension No pre-processing will surely reduce your load, still making your forums work however, is another story.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 21:49
bluidkiti bluidkiti is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Originally Posted by Bellardia View Post
Changing from php to html will reduce load if your change the page itself and not just it's extension No pre-processing will surely reduce your load, still making your forums work however, is another story.

What are some suggestions on changing the pages?

Thank you all for your replies. I haven't done anything except for been researching this and gathering information.

The pages that show up alot as causing the problem are showthread.php, forumdisplay.php, register.php.

Last edited by bluidkiti; 14 Jan 2009 at 21:55.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 22:11
SEOvB's Avatar
SEOvB SEOvB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Jarvis
Originally Posted by bluidkiti View Post
What are some suggestions on changing the pages?

Thank you all for your replies. I haven't done anything except for been researching this and gathering information.

The pages that show up alot as causing the problem are showthread.php, forumdisplay.php, register.php.
You can optimize these pages by removing modifications that aren't necessary.

Otherwise you may need to upgrade your hosting, as I dont think there is any solution on changing the pages from dynamic to true static .html pages.
__________________
vBulletin Services and vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14 Jan 2009, 22:15
COBRAws's Avatar
COBRAws COBRAws is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Real name: Jack
Originally Posted by bluidkiti View Post
I see some forums, especially big ones, whose ending to their links for their sites end in html. How do I switch my vbulletin forum over to html instead of php? What is recommended to do this?

I am considering this is because my site has been having alot of problems with getting suspended for excessive CPU quota usage. I read this can be illiminated some by switching your site from php pages to html pages. Is this correct?

Thank you in advance for your help.
Adding a mod rewrite mod wont reduce your server load, it will cause the opposite effect.
More over, switching your php pages to html (static content) is impossible with vbulletin, due to the nature of vbulletin software itself.

You can try using some cache system, I recommend you use xCache. I would also recommend a server/hardware upgrade.

my 2cents
__________________
cobraws
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15 Jan 2009, 06:12
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
Just a reminder before people start suggesting hosts:

Please use vBulletin.com for discussion on hosting companies or server suggestions: vBulletin Hosting Options.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:16.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: