Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB Telnet/ SSH Web Shell in Admin CP Details »
vB Telnet/ SSH Web Shell in Admin CP
Mod Version: 1.00, by Erwin (Member) Erwin is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.1 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 15
Released: 07 Jun 2004 Last Update: Never Downloads: 15
Not Supported  

vB Telnet/ SSH Web Shell by Dr Erwin Loh version 1.0

This allows you Telnet/ SSH Shell access via your vB 3.x.x Admin CP.
This is very useful if you are somewhere where you cannot get Telnet or SSH shell access, or you are behind a firewall.

Disclaimer: The author does not take responsibility for any detriment that comes out of the use of this script. Use at your own risk!


Installation (full instructions in Install.txt in ZIP file):

1) Set a second layer of popup usernames and passwords for added security.
2) Upload "ssh.php" to your /admincp folder.

3) Make a link to the SSH shell in your Admin CP.

Finish!

Once this is installed, you can just click on the "vB SSH/ Telnet" link in your Admin CP on the left column underneath your "vBulletin Options" to access this.


Enjoy!

Dr. Erwin Loh

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ssh.jpg
Views:	447
Size:	75.8 KB
ID:	19001  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 07 Jun 2004, 11:23
Natch's Avatar
Natch Natch is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Excuse the profanity, but OMFG - what a treat it is to see you at work!

Thanks for this one!
__________________
Natcher00
... is the Admin @ MobileForces.org - Official Community for a cult Vehicle based FPS - the only place for support!
... also he's Penfold to Dark_Wizard's Danger Mouse in development of vBWar
http://www.mobileforces.org/sig.jpg
{DaniWeb: Learn HOW-TO mod_rewrite your vB board}
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07 Jun 2004, 11:41
DaveLogic DaveLogic is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Real name: David
Excellant !!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07 Jun 2004, 12:56
Odysseus's Avatar
Odysseus Odysseus is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Magnificant!
I will install this asap.

But ... might this be a great security leak? Can you user "su" to becom root? :ninja:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07 Jun 2004, 13:11
Floris Floris is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Originally Posted by Odysseus
Magnificant!
I will install this asap.

But ... might this be a great security leak? Can you user "su" to becom root? :ninja:
If they know the su password, they don't need to login through the admincp first They can login remote anyway through different means.
__________________
My community; http://wetalknation.net
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07 Jun 2004, 13:59
mOdEtWo mOdEtWo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Wow, great hack. How do you do it. I've been looking for this actually, since I'm behind a firewall.

Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07 Jun 2004, 14:07
mOdEtWo mOdEtWo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Can this be used outside of vB?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07 Jun 2004, 16:50
13th_Disciple 13th_Disciple is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Erwin.. I have tried to use web based ssh clients before and have not been able to use them when I was behind a firewall.. Is all of the port 22 data handled by the admin CP from within the server, or is the browser from the client-side actually trying to connect to port 22??
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07 Jun 2004, 18:55
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
Wow

You have so much time to release Hacks, you would have had enough time to stay here as admin
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07 Jun 2004, 19:58
mOdEtWo mOdEtWo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
it seems to log in as nobody on the server, is it possible to log in as my user?

I'm of course not allowed to run 'su'
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07 Jun 2004, 20:50
Erwin's Avatar
Erwin Erwin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Originally Posted by 13th_Disciple
Erwin.. I have tried to use web based ssh clients before and have not been able to use them when I was behind a firewall.. Is all of the port 22 data handled by the admin CP from within the server, or is the browser from the client-side actually trying to connect to port 22??
It uses port 80, http, not port 22. So it bypasses firewalls.

No, you can't su -.

At the moment, because apache/ httpd is usually owned by nobody, you log in as nobody. I can see if that can be bypassed, but then that would be a security issue.

@Xenon - these are just hacks I use on my site. Thought I would share.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07 Jun 2004, 21:32
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
Even so i miss you

hmm, can't you change your account so 'login as'
(i can't test it, as i don't think i should install this here ^^)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08 Jun 2004, 04:17
neocorteqz's Avatar
neocorteqz neocorteqz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: George E Collins Jr

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08 Jun 2004, 07:13
gmarik's Avatar
gmarik gmarik is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Marco
Why should we need one?
Any idea?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08 Jun 2004, 07:35
Erwin's Avatar
Erwin Erwin is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Originally Posted by gmarik
Why should we need one?
Any idea?
I use it from work, where I don't have SSH access because of the work's firewall.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:36.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: