Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Quick Web Search Details »
Quick Web Search
Mod Version: 1.0.1, by derekivey (Member) derekivey is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.4 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 9
Released: 19 Sep 2005 Last Update: 30 Sep 2005 Downloads: 14
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

Quick Web Search
Developers: Floris & derekivey
Version: 1.0.1
vBulletin Version: 3.5.4
File Edits: 0
Template Edits: 0
New Phrases: 5
Difficulty: Easy

Description: This Hack Adds a Quick Web Search to your AdminCP. Right now it supports Google, Yahoo, Ask Jeeves, and MSN. You may disable any of those in vBulletin Options under Admin Control Panel Options.


Screenshots of this hack are below.

Please click If you installed this hack.

Thanks!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ss1.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	19.7 KB
ID:	34989   Click image for larger version

Name:	ss2.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	267.7 KB
ID:	34990   Click image for larger version

Name:	ss3.jpg
Views:	213
Size:	287.9 KB
ID:	34991   Click image for larger version

Name:	ss4.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	226.7 KB
ID:	34992  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ss5.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	246.0 KB
ID:	34993  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks Add Weather Search to Quick Search rpainter vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 9 26 Aug 2010 16:23

Comments
  #2  
Old 19 Sep 2005, 23:11
nexialys
Guest
 
hum... i don't see the use of this actually...

ALL up to date browsers have an integrated Search engine integrated to the navbar, why add a block for search in code when you already have it each time you have a window opened...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20 Sep 2005, 00:23
Daniel's Avatar
Daniel Daniel is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: Daniel
Because he can
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20 Sep 2005, 19:46
derekivey derekivey is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Derek
Originally Posted by nexialys
hum... i don't see the use of this actually...

ALL up to date browsers have an integrated Search engine integrated to the navbar, why add a block for search in code when you already have it each time you have a window opened...
Well, it could be useful if you are in the Admin CP and need to search for something real quick, and don't want more windows open...
__________________
Please do not PM or IM me for support or my hacks, or vBulletin questions.
Use my hack threads for support instead, please. All PM, or IM requests will be ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20 Sep 2005, 22:29
Floris Floris is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Originally Posted by nexialys
hum... i don't see the use of this actually...

ALL up to date browsers have an integrated Search engine integrated to the navbar, why add a block for search in code when you already have it each time you have a window opened...
I have seen people request this, and now it is available. I think it is really kind of him to take the time and write out instructions and release his resource here instead of keeping it to himself. Nice job & tnx for sharing. I'm gonna install this on a few of my web sites.
__________________
My community; http://wetalknation.net
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21 Sep 2005, 20:17
Floris Floris is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Will a future version give you the ability to choose between various search engines?
__________________
My community; http://wetalknation.net
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21 Sep 2005, 20:51
derekivey derekivey is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Derek
Yeah,

I'm gonna add a option in the AdminCP to select a certain one or to have it show all of them in a drop down box...
__________________
Please do not PM or IM me for support or my hacks, or vBulletin questions.
Use my hack threads for support instead, please. All PM, or IM requests will be ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23 Sep 2005, 18:04
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Would be nice if this was a Plugin instead of requiring File Edits :/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23 Sep 2005, 21:25
derekivey derekivey is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Derek
Unfortuantely, I cannot do that, because vBulletin doesn't have a hook at that spot. If they added one, I could make it a plugin, but I can't at the moment because of there being no hook at that spot...
__________________
Please do not PM or IM me for support or my hacks, or vBulletin questions.
Use my hack threads for support instead, please. All PM, or IM requests will be ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24 Sep 2005, 04:57
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
There are 3 Hooks on the Index Page - shouldn't be too hard to use one of them
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 25 Sep 2005, 17:10
Floris Floris is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Originally Posted by KirbyDE
There are 3 Hooks on the Index Page - shouldn't be too hard to use one of them
I am currently coding the product version of this source code hack. I will soon post my .zip here for Derek.
Attached Images
File Type: gif screenshot_qws.gif (14.6 KB, 37 views)
__________________
My community; http://wetalknation.net

Last edited by Floris; 25 Sep 2005 at 17:12.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25 Sep 2005, 17:16
derekivey derekivey is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Derek
Good job Floris
__________________
Please do not PM or IM me for support or my hacks, or vBulletin questions.
Use my hack threads for support instead, please. All PM, or IM requests will be ignored.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25 Sep 2005, 17:46
Floris Floris is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Quick Web Search

Upgrade instructions:
uninstall the source code hack and follow install instructions.

Install instructions:
Add this as a new product, import the .xml

Screenshot:
Here.
Attached Files
File Type: zip quick_web_search.zip (15.6 KB, 11 views)
__________________
My community; http://wetalknation.net

Last edited by Floris; 25 Sep 2005 at 17:56.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 25 Sep 2005, 17:54
Floris Floris is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
global admincp option

I am sure someone knows how to make a query that works, but I have too little time right now to try things out on a fresh install.

Basicly, if you want this right now and don't want to wait for someone to update the product .xml with install/uninstall query & settings turn on debug code and go to the vbulletion options > admincp options > and click on 'add a new setting', and fill it in like the below screenshot.

Then import the .xml from this .zip which is ready for the switch 1/0

I am sure kirby knows
Attached Images
File Type: gif screenshot_acp_qws.gif (19.2 KB, 25 views)
Attached Files
File Type: zip product-quick_web_search-acp.zip (1.0 KB, 9 views)
__________________
My community; http://wetalknation.net

Last edited by Floris; 25 Sep 2005 at 18:01.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 25 Sep 2005, 21:46
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Originally Posted by Floris
I am sure kirby knows
Hmm ... what should I know?
Don't really understand what you were talking about queries, sorry.
This Hack does not seem to need any install/uninstall codes?

Also, I think that a setting to turn this featurs On/Off is redundant - one could just activate/deactivate the product?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:41.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: