Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Dynamic News Slider Plugin (RSS Driven) jQuery - Increase User Activity in Forum/CMS Details »
Dynamic News Slider Plugin (RSS Driven) jQuery - Increase User Activity in Forum/CMS
Mod Version: 1.00, by rtyagis (Coder/Designer) rtyagis is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.1.11 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 16
Released: 02 Apr 2012 Last Update: Never Downloads: 91
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

This mod is not written by me. It was written by Muhammad Shahbaz Saleem of egrappler.com

If you like this, you can show your support by Rating it, Marking it as installed, Nominating for MOTM. Thanks!

What is Dynamic News Slider Plugin?
Dynamic News is a jQuery news slider plugin that makes news integration to your CMS and forum very easy. Dynamic News plugin supports two ways to add news data. You can either enter your news via HTML mark-ups manually or let Dynamic News plugin load the news from rss feed and build the necessary HTML mark-ups automatically. One cool feature of Dynamic News slider plugin is the news preview or news summary pane, hovering over news headline will show news summary in a tool tip like pop up, which also provides link to news detail page. All the features of Dynamic News slider plugin are configurable. It’s up to you whether you want to display news preview pane, display control bar, auto hide control bar or keep it always visible.


Demo on vbulletin forum - http://www.policywala.com/forum/
Demo on vbulletin CMS - http://www.policywala.com/
Working on Vbulletin Forum/CMS version – 4.1.11 P1

Dynamic News Plugin Features
1. Dynamic/RSS Driven
2. Can set the no of news entries to be fetched from RSS
3. Supports manual entry of headlines and news detail via HTML markups
4. Supports news preview

Dynamic News Slider Plugin Parameters (You can set these as per your need)
• feedurl: URL of rss feed, default is ''. If 'feedurl' is empty then plugin will look for headlines within HTML markup.
• entries: Total no or news entries to be used by Dynamic News Plugins
• switchinterval: No of milliseconds single headline stays, default is 5000 ms or 5 secs.
• controls: Boolean value if true the news plugin will display the controls bar, default is true.
• showdetail: Boolean value if true, hovering over headline will pop up news summary, default is true.
• moretext: The text that will be displayed on news detail link within news summary pop up, default is 'more detail'.
• controlsalwaysvisible: Boolean value if true the control bar will remain visible, auto hide otherwise, default is false.

How to set up?
1. Download – dnews folder

2. Upload ‘dnews’ folder in your public_html folder

3. Add below code in ad_global_header1

Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> Edit Templates -> Ad Location Templates -> ad_global_header1

Change -
1- Yourwebsite.com

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

2- Add RSS Feed of your CMS/ Forum [In my CMS it is - http://www.policywala.com/external.p...s=120&count=10
3- OR If you want to change any of the Dynamic News Slider Plugin Parameters setting as specified above.


Others changes (if you need)

1- Commented ‘remember me’ box so that the news slider look good.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

How to change Remember me - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...+button&page=4

2- Edit the Additional CSS
Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> Edit Templates -> CSS Templates -> additional.css

Edit the additional.css template and add this code:

A- To adjust the logo (if needed)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Note: You can adjust the top and bottom values as needed to fine tune the logo placement.

B- To adjust the ad global header (if needed)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Note: You can adjust the right and top values as needed to fine tune the News Slider placement.

I am not an expert in this slider. I just really liked it for my forum, it looks the best and works quite well for me. I thought I would share it. If anyone has any suggestions on how to make it better, let me know. I will update the files accordingly.

Please Mark as Installed if you use this.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Major Additions vBSocial.com Sidekick News Lite - Increase User Activity daveaite vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 24 24 Aug 2013 20:12
Forum Home Enhancements Rhoov's News Slider haincha vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 52 22 Mar 2013 13:16

  #16  
Old 03 Apr 2012, 18:51
tarzan22 tarzan22 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
rss actived y no funciona

http://www.foroxd.com/
__________________
Descarga directa
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03 Apr 2012, 19:05
rtyagis rtyagis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by tarzan22 View Post
rss actived y no funciona

http://www.foroxd.com/
You have not uploaded dnews folder in your public_html - http://www.foroxd.com/dnews/
Also update RSS Feed Link
__________________
PolicyWala | Forum
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03 Apr 2012, 19:32
tarzan22 tarzan22 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Sorry, I got on the wrong website.

There is no way they are in Spanish?

thanks
__________________
Descarga directa
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 03 Apr 2012, 20:33
rtyagis rtyagis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by tarzan22 View Post
Sorry, I got on the wrong website.

There is no way they are in Spanish?

thanks
It is just picking RSS feed of your website. It support all languages.
__________________
PolicyWala | Forum
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11 May 2012, 13:53
pesclub's Avatar
pesclub pesclub is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Real name: PAweł
I did everything as in the manual and it does not work
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 19 May 2012, 07:56
lovevn lovevn is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by rtyagis View Post
Did you added RSS Feed?
How can I add rss feed?
By changing the url of this code?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 29 May 2012, 16:33
rtyagis rtyagis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by lovevn View Post
How can I add rss feed?
By changing the url of this code?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Add RSS Feed of your CMS/ Forum [In my CMS it is - http://www.policywala.com/external.p...s=120&count=10
__________________
PolicyWala | Forum
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 29 May 2012, 16:34
rtyagis rtyagis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by pesclub View Post
I did everything as in the manual and it does not work
Could you pls tell in detail?
__________________
PolicyWala | Forum
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 31 May 2012, 05:34
lovevn lovevn is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Thanks for your reply. I have more questions:

Dynamic News Plugin Features
1. Dynamic/RSS Driven
2. Can set the no of news entries to be fetched from RSS
3. Supports manual entry of headlines and news detail via HTML markups
4. Supports news preview
Do I have to manually put the headlines and news details? If not what should I do with the following:

<div id="container">
<div class="demo">
<div class="news-wrapper" id="snews">
<div class="news">
<div class="headline">
<a href="#" title="Title 1: Title 1 ">
JTitle 1</a>
</div>
<div class="headline">
<a href="#" title="Title 2 ">
Title 2.</a>
</div>
<div class="headline">
<a href="#" title="Title 3">
Title 3</a>
</div>
<div class="headline">
<a href="#" title="Title 4">
Title 4.</a>
</div>
</div>
</div>
</div>
</div>
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11 Sep 2012, 14:31
DocZaius DocZaius is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Originally Posted by tarzan22 View Post
Mine also looks like this. And yes, I did add the RSS feed like you suggested. Here is my ad_global_header1 template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 17 Sep 2012, 00:13
bjornb bjornb is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Add
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to the top of the ad_global_header1 template (according to my browser console the script had problems with the google.load("feeds", "1"); part).

https://developers.google.com/feed/v1/devguide

Last edited by bjornb; 17 Sep 2012 at 00:18.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 18 Sep 2012, 14:40
DocZaius DocZaius is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Thanks, but that didn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 27 Sep 2012, 21:56
Mark_Zuckerberg Mark_Zuckerberg is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
will this mod work on vb 4.2 and if so will it get news by itself as updated on forum or only specific news can be added?
__________________
Webmasters Forum
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:38.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: