Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Watermark Generator Details »
Watermark Generator
Mod Version: 1.1, by Disasterpiece (Coder) Disasterpiece is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (22 votes - 4.77 average) Installs: 150
Released: 18 May 2011 Last Update: 09 Jun 2011 Downloads: 1050
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Is in Beta Stage  

Quick Info

This mod adds a watermark to album and attachment images.
The watermark is customizable via image files or specified text.
Processed images are cached and the original files remain untouched, so you can modify or remove the watermark anytime you want.


Features

- Intelligent Caching
- Uses standard vBulletin methods, therefore no file modifications necessary
- Settings-Preview with a sample image in Adminpanel
- Generative plugin behaviour, works with most other mods which use the same hooks or use attachment images elsewhere

Installation


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Changelog

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Additional Info

The Mod is currently in BETA. This means, that we tested it on a test environment (vb 4.0.x to 4.1.3) but has not yet undergo excessive stress test.
Keep an eye out for updated versions until the final release!
If you encounter any bugs, missing or misplaced features, let us know!

F.A.Q

- I don't see changes in my live images!
> To see changes on the image files you have to clear your browser's cache!
In firefox it's enough to force a fresh reload via STRG+F5 and on other browsers STRG+F5 or SHIFT+F5 should work.
If you don't perform this step, your browser will show the old cached version and maybe the watermark won't show or changes won't apply.

- My png/gif watermark isn't transparent, instead I get a black background!
> PNG-8 is known for having transparency problems, GIF in some cases as well.
Fall back to PNG-24 with Alpha channel (all modern image tools should be able to save as PNG-24)
If you have trouble creating a working png-24 with alpha channel, you can send me a PM with a link to your watermark and I'll convert it to png-24 for you.

- I have trouble with special characters or non-latin charactersets!
> The addon is using standard php functionalities for the text. If for any reason you have trouble with special chars, I suggest using a transparent png-24 with the text from an external image tool instead.

Support / Branding

We provide quality vbulletin software modifications for zero costs. To help our mod to be well-known, a backlink is added to your forum footer by the plugin, where the plugin is used in any way.
You must not remove the copyright/backlink code!
However, if you like to support us, you are allowed to remove the footer note with a small donation (10$ minimum).
If you choose to do so, we'll contact you via the email provided by paypal with instructions on how to remove the footer note.
A link to paypal donation service can be found on the top right area of this post.

Feel free to contact an author of the mod if you have any questions or suggestions.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	plwatermark_2.jpg
Views:	2767
Size:	105.4 KB
ID:	129186   Click image for larger version

Name:	plwatermark_3.jpg
Views:	3179
Size:	120.2 KB
ID:	129187   Click image for larger version

Name:	plwatermark_admin12.jpg
Views:	1662
Size:	108.0 KB
ID:	129188   Click image for larger version

Name:	plwatermark_admin11.jpg
Views:	3083
Size:	68.3 KB
ID:	129189  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #196  
Old 21 Mar 2014, 21:58
mkkak mkkak is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Originally Posted by Reed_HCT View Post
The scheduled task for cache pruning does not work for me.

Cache liftime is set to 86400 (1 day) and lru table size is set to 100.
The task is scheduled at 9 am.
I'm running vbulletin 4.1.11

When I look into the cache dir I find all the files created since the last manual cache prune, while I suppose only to see files created from 9 am of yesterday, and no more than 100 files.
The Same Problem
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 07 Oct 2015, 05:06
Bernard4366 Bernard4366 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Is the developer still monitoring this thread?
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 07 Oct 2015, 09:30
friendlymela's Avatar
friendlymela friendlymela is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Real name: Zeeshan Shams
very interesting
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 07 Oct 2015, 12:20
ArcadeSyndicate's Avatar
ArcadeSyndicate ArcadeSyndicate is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
use this since years, works perfect for attachments in 4.2.2
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 09 Oct 2015, 15:13
Disasterpiece's Avatar
Disasterpiece Disasterpiece is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by Bernard4366 View Post
Is the developer still monitoring this thread?
monitoring yes, but support for my addons is limited.
Reply With Quote
  #201  
Old 26 Jan 2016, 01:51
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
I am trying this with 4.2. Watermarking options are limited.

Does this take each image and then duplicate it with a watermark? We have thousands and thousands of images going back years. is this going to copy each one into the cache? I do not understand the Intelligent caching. The description says it does not touch the original images so what happens when images are unchached?

I really need a decent watermarking plug in. Does anyone know of another one that will not duplicate all images?
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 26 Jan 2016, 17:00
Disasterpiece's Avatar
Disasterpiece Disasterpiece is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
Does this take each image and then duplicate it with a watermark?
Yes, but only as they are requested. If you have image 1-1000 in your attachment database and no new attachment requests are made, the watermark-cache is empty. If users request images 20-30, the cache now contains 10 images with a watermark.
Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
We have thousands and thousands of images going back years. is this going to copy each one into the cache? I do not understand the Intelligent caching. The description says it does not touch the original images so what happens when images are unchached?
The original images are untouched, if a user requests an image, the plugin checks if a watermarked copy is already available in the cache. If so, the cached image is shown, if else, the plugin creates a watermarked version of it and stores it in the cache. If the cache is already at maximum capacity, one older cached image will be thrown out beforehand.

It duplicates only images that are requested by the user (read: shown) and the number of duplicate images at any time is at maximum the number you defined in the settings.

Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
I really need a decent watermarking plug in. Does anyone know of another one that will not duplicate all images?
If you want the plugin not to store the duplicates, set the LRU size to 1 and/or set the cache lifetime to zero.

Altough I don't recommend that, you can still get the functionality like this.
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 26 Jan 2016, 21:48
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Thanks!

My main concerns are server resources and storage and having images watermarked when either hotlinked to other sites or downloaded.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 26 Jan 2016, 22:18
Disasterpiece's Avatar
Disasterpiece Disasterpiece is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
server resources
Well, applying image data takes some time to process. The point of the cache is to reduce server load, so the same image doesn't have to be processed every time it is requested. Hence, the cache.

Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
and storage
That's what the LRU table size setting is for.

And besides, images aren't that huge. It is 2016, webserver storage capacity isn't weighted in gold anymore, so I don't really see the problem here tbh.

Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
and having images watermarked when either hotlinked to other sites or downloaded.
That is the point of watermarks.
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 26 Jan 2016, 22:41
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Um yes.. I am just confused because the images are being served from the cache? Correct? I do not understand how this can still work without the cache.

And yes storage is still important on a server with multiple sites and hundreds of gigs of images.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 26 Jan 2016, 22:51
Disasterpiece's Avatar
Disasterpiece Disasterpiece is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
The image would still be saved to the cache temporarily, yes.
With the next image request, the old one would be deleted and the new cache image would be saved to disk as well.
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 27 Jan 2016, 01:43
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Ok, so the issue with this I am trying to understand is that a temporary image with a watermark would be hotlinked and then when the cache is full that image would be removed?
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 28 Jan 2016, 19:17
Disasterpiece's Avatar
Disasterpiece Disasterpiece is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by RichieBoy67 View Post
Ok, so the issue with this I am trying to understand is that a temporary image with a watermark would be hotlinked and then when the cache is full that image would be removed?
...and be re-generated when it is needed. Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 29 Jan 2016, 18:57
concepts's Avatar
concepts concepts is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Jamale
This works BEAUTIFULLY!!!!
__________________

Achieving Superior Aesthetic Conditioning
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 14 Mar 2016, 11:04
cooltom cooltom is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
I just install your plugin and work fine. Good to not forget setup correct write rights on cache folder :]
Question: How do you "calculate" size of transparent PNG image watermark?

-if u make it big for bigger images , it looks huge on small images
-if you make it good for smaller images it too small on bigger images

No way to resize png base on input image dimension? So u make it big as max allowed size of attachement image and when its smaller it just resize gnp wathermark to sit hight if the image (keep aspekt rato).

Now it just glue imput image and watermak png together.

The idea is have Watermark image same size on every image (doenst matter size of the image).

Thanks for ideas

Tomas
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:14.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: