Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
New Thread/Post Reminder Message Details »
New Thread/Post Reminder Message
Mod Version: 1.4.1, by MarkFL (Coder) MarkFL is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (6 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 21
Released: 26 Oct 2016 Last Update: 22 Feb 2017 Downloads: 71
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Translations  

Overview:

This product allows you to define a message that can be displayed above the ckeditor anywhere new posts are created and edited. We know our users read our carefully constructed rules about as carefully as people read instruction manuals in general. This product can be used to display a message or even list of reminders for proper posting conduct on our sites, which will make it more likely that your users are actually aware of what is allowed and expected when posting.

You may select the forums in which this product is active and the active areas in those forum from showing it only when new threads are created to everywhere new posts are created/edited. You may select certain usergroups to be exempt from seeing the message, and for those users set to see the message, you may decide to stop showing the message once they reach a certain post count, or have started a certain number of threads. You may decide whether the message element is collapsible or not and you may set a maximum height for the message element in case you message takes up a lot of vertical space and you don't want it taking up too much space on your pages.

New Thread/New Reply (Advanced)/Edit Post (Advanced):



Quick Reply:



Quick Edit:



Updates:

Version 1.1:
  • Updated query for thread count to only include the active forums.

Version 1.2:
  • Declared $foruminfo array global in plugins that render custom template.

Version 1.3:
  • Now allows for different messages/titles to be displayed in different forums.

For example, if you edit your message to read:

BEGINFORUMIDS 2,3,4 ENDFORUMIDSMessage 1...BEGINFORUMIDS 5,6,7 ENDFORUMIDSMessage 2...

Then (given that forums with forumids 2-7 are in the "Active Forums"), forums with a forum id of 2, 3 or 4 will display "Message 1..." and forums with a forumid of 4, 6 or 7 will display "Message 2..."

Messages may be stacked as well, that is you can define a message that appears in all forum messages, and then have additional messages that are specific to certain forums that will get added to any previous messages that apply to the forum.

For example, if you edit your message to read:

BEGINFORUMIDS 2,3,4,5,6,7 ENDFORUMIDSMessage 1...BEGINFORUMIDS 2,3,4 ENDFORUMIDSMessage 2...BEGINFORUMIDS 5,6,7 ENDFORUMIDSMessage 3...

Then (given that forums with forumids 2-7 are in the "Active Forums"), forums with a forum id of 2, 3 or 4 will display "Message 1...Message 2..." and forums with a forumid of 4, 6 or 7 will display "Message 1...Message 3..."

The stacked messages will appear in the order in which they are defined.

Block titles work the same way.

Version 1.4:
  • Added setting for header CSS.
  • Added setting for content CSS.

Version 1.4.1:
  • Resolved issue with activity stream.

Compatibility:

Tested and working on VB 4.2.x and may work on all 4.x versions of vBulletin.

Backup/Warning:

This product does not alter your database, however it is always good practice to make regular backups and you should make a backup before installing ANY new mod.

As always, products are USE AT YOUR OWN RISK. I will provide support and do my best to help but no absolute guarantee is offered.

To Install:
  1. Download and extract the attached .zip file.
  2. Follow AdminCP -> Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product.
  3. Click on "Choose File" and browse to the product .xml file that was packaged in the .zip file.
  4. Click "Import."
  5. You MUST enable the product in the settings before it will function.
  6. Configure the remaining settings to your liking. Each setting has a detailed explanation of its use.



Support for this product can be found here:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	markfl_ntm_acp.jpg
Views:	779
Size:	86.5 KB
ID:	155421   Click image for larger version

Name:	markfl_ntm_newreply.jpg
Views:	788
Size:	44.4 KB
ID:	155422   Click image for larger version

Name:	markfl_ntm_quickreply.jpg
Views:	787
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	155423   Click image for larger version

Name:	markfl_ntm_quickedit.jpg
Views:	801
Size:	71.3 KB
ID:	155424  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Thread Reminder on Move Guest190829 vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 16 17 May 2006 09:15

  #16  
Old 28 Oct 2016, 08:14
Bulent Tekcan Bulent Tekcan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
What did you select under "Active Areas?"
All box is selected,but tested one by one also. I installed my completely empty and %100 original 4.2.3 test forum result is same. Any problem with php 5.6.x ?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 28 Oct 2016, 08:22
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
There shouldn't be any issues with that PHP version that I know of.

Are you certain you have not exempted a usergroup to which you belong?

If not and if you wish, please PM me the login credentials for an admin account and I will come investigate.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 28 Oct 2016, 09:12
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Okay, the issue at Bulent's site was that the variable $foruminfo needed to be declared global in the two plugins that render the custom message template.

If/when I publish an upgrade to this product, I will include this in the update unless others report this same issue before then and if so, I will publish an update for this issue by itself.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 28 Oct 2016, 09:52
Bulent Tekcan Bulent Tekcan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
Okay, the issue at Bulent's site was that the variable $foruminfo needed to be declared global in the two plugins that render the custom message template.

If/when I publish an upgrade to this product, I will include this in the update unless others report this same issue before then and if so, I will publish an update for this issue by itself.
Thanks so much again from here
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 28 Oct 2016, 13:01
scottkoz20 scottkoz20 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Real name: Scott
hey Mark - I am seeing the same issue on my dev site that Bulent was having

where is the $foruminfo variable?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 28 Oct 2016, 17:12
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Update - Version 1.2:
  • Declared $foruminfo array global in plugins that render custom template.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 28 Oct 2016, 18:01
scottkoz20 scottkoz20 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Real name: Scott
thanks Mark - makes it easier
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10 Nov 2016, 22:16
Stratis's Avatar
Stratis Stratis is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Real name: Stratis
Mark I have an issue with the update v1.2, I will try to describe it...


In the Activity stream, all threads posts shows - redirect to the same forum.
Code at thread phrase is:
<a href="{1}" class="username">{2}</a> started a thread <a href="{3}">{4}</a> in <a href="{5}">{6}</a>


This <a href="{5}">{6}</a>
always shows, example: Mydomain/forumdisplay.php?7
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Same with posts
<a href="{1}">{2}</a> replied to a thread <a href="{3}">{4}</a> in <a href="{5}">{6}</a>




This <a href="{5}">{6}</a> shows the same forumdisplay as above.


When I put OFF the modification does not fix, only fixes when disable from Plugins & Products

Maybe I did not manage to describe well, sorry for my bad English.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11 Nov 2016, 02:07
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Hello Stratis,

This product doesn't do anything with the activity stream. None of the sites on which I have installed this have had the activity stream affected at all from what I can tell.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11 Nov 2016, 09:03
Stratis's Avatar
Stratis Stratis is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Real name: Stratis
Maybe so for you and others

For me what I did:
I uninstalled v1.2 and installed v1.1 All works fine.
To test I installed again v1.2 and voila problem came up again.
Return now to 1.1 and I am staying here. Just have it in mind.
Probably something happens only to my forum.


Thanks Mark
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11 Nov 2016, 20:26
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Thank you Stratis, for the information...I appreciate it. I guess declaring $foruminfo as global in this product's plugins is interfering with your Activity Stream somehow.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12 Nov 2016, 07:22
Stratis's Avatar
Stratis Stratis is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Real name: Stratis
Yes, actually yesterday I found wich piece of code makes the problem to me.

Plugin "Add Message To Quick Edit (If Applicable)"
This on top ( global $vbulletin, $foruminfo; )

Deleting $foruminfo like this ( global $vbulletin; ) problem does not exists, but I did not leave v1.2 because I do not know if excepting it having other issues.


Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12 Nov 2016, 07:25
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
That's the only difference between v1.1 and v1.2, and I only added it because it wouldn't work for Scott without it, and adding it didn't cause me any issues on several sites.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 18 Nov 2016, 11:11
unrealbaz27 unrealbaz27 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Love this addon and thanks buddy.
Is there anyway thoe...we can set different text for different parts of forum?

example..ive added this as thread format rules for requests,,,,but would be great to have different text and assign to our troubleshhoting area etc
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 19 Nov 2016, 07:56
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by unrealbaz27 View Post
Love this addon and thanks buddy.
Is there anyway thoe...we can set different text for different parts of forum?

example..ive added this as thread format rules for requests,,,,but would be great to have different text and assign to our troubleshhoting area etc
I will certainly consider that for a future update.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:35.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: