Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Rotating Banner System Details »
Rotating Banner System
Mod Version: 2.4.2, by y2ksw (Coder) y2ksw is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (141 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 1238
Released: 16 Aug 2008 Last Update: 09 Sep 2013 Downloads: 11087
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

With the Rotating Banner System software, you may publish literally anywhere standard banners and advertising, with no restriction but your imagination. Unlike many other products, it allows to show an unlimited amount of banners and advertising, which are randomly shown at the places you choose, and you may refer generically to an Ad by using specific placeholders.

Also the management is straight-forward and simple to use. Forum administrators with maintenance rights may add, edit and delete records from the Administration Control Panel (ACP), one of each representing a banner. After saving the new banner settings, they are immediately visible at your board.

Compatibility: from vBulletin 3.6.5 onwards

By the way, I do also install the hack on your boards, but since I am very, very busy, it may take some time (weeks) until it gets done.


Tutorials:Updates:
  • 2.0.1: Simple click tracker added, HTML help included.
  • 2.0.3: Small bug fixes; additional banner list, navigation bar, E-Mail field for banner event notifications and automatic save on scroll setting; absolute URL to rbs_banner.php in order to allow click tracking on non-standard pages; supported languages: English, Italian; Help file clean-up.
  • 2.0.5: Small bug fixes; additional details in banner list; email notification for epired banners.
  • 2.0.6: vbCMS compatibility bug fix; additional banner lists.
  • 2.0.7: Usergroups filter: now it is possible to define a list of usergroups which may show a banner; additional vbCMS compatibility bug fix.
  • 2.0.8: Various fixes and most of all, inclusion of the right files: admin_rbs.php, cpnav_rbs.xml
  • 2.0.9: Extra comma fix in new record creation.
  • 2.1.0: Fix for an occasional banner type selection bug, when the sample banners have been deleted or disabled.
  • 2.2.0 (Major upgrade): Up to 10 different banner locations. Requires changes to your existing placeholders in your templates, since a more generic format has been chosen. If you don't need more than 2 different locations, you don't need to upgrade. Changed files: rbs_banner.php, admin_rbs.php
  • 2.2.1: Minor bug fix in files: admin_rbs_h_banner_list.php, admin_rbs_v_banner_list.php
  • 2.2.1: Hotfix for Max Clicks saving bug.
  • 2.2.2: More listings and less files. PDF Help. Separate Italian add-ons and help. Duplicate button.
  • 2.2.3: Minor bug fixes. Changed files: product-rbs.xml
  • 2.2.4: Flash Banner support (beta). Changed files: product-rbs.xml, rbs_wrapper.swf, admin_rbs.php, English Help.
  • 2.2.5: Hotfix for vBulletin 4.0.2 compatibility bug.
  • 2.2.6: Checking for installed Flash Wrapper rbs_wrapper.swf; A few English FAQ; Help files. Changed files: product-rbs.xml
  • 2.3.0 (Major upgrade): New modules: Delete Expired Banners, Disable Expired Banners; Detail Banner Statistics with unique access key for your customers; Updated help; Changed files: all.
  • 2.3.1: Hotfix for missing field in rbs_hist table. Changed files: none, just update product.
  • 2.3.2: Added: Unsupported option for setting any number of available positions between 1 and big bang. Fixed: Small bug and speed issues. Removed: Italian translation. Italians may now request support at www.vbulletin.it. Changed files: admin_rbs.php.
  • 2.3.3: Fix: Copy selected forum ID's during banner duplication. Changed: start and end hours for new banners are set to 0:00 and 23:59 respectively. Changed files: admin_rbs.php.
  • 2.3.4: Option: Send Mail Before. This option allows to schedule expiring banners differently. New variables for emails: $rbs_enddate: This variable holds the formatted banner ending date and time based on the standard formats for date and time in vBulletin settings; $rbs_name: This variable holds the banner name. EMail Notifications option description: Added direct links to the email phrases for quick changes. Changed files: rbs_mail_cron.php.
  • 2.4.0 (Major upgrade): Removed: Option to enable or disable mailing. Banners with email addresses to notify are handled. Setting to reset mailing in single banners. Now, if mailing should be repeated, you will have to edit the banner from phpMyAdmin. Added: Order links in lists. The initial state is ordered by ID, as before. By clicking the titles, the other voices can be ordered. Clicking twice inverts the order. This works in all lists. Options to prevent counting and reducing thus a tiny bit of load. A new bunch of demo banners for new installations. Demo banners are locked into database in order to avoid 30% of the questions because of the 'experts' deleting them before trying the product. They can be disabled and modified though. The true experts can delete them after all testing from the database by using phpMyAdmin without side effects. Changes: Phrase for emailing about expiring banners, now also with direct links to the phrases. Demo banners. Our old publisher ID is replaced with the new ones, and old demo banners are updated with the new ones, if found. The functions have been exported to includes/functions_rbs.php. This makes the product code smaller and easier to maintain, and runs faster on sites where caching/acceleration is enabled. Changed Files: all *.php
  • 2.4.1: Option Likelihood. This new option adds a weight to banners and allows thus to show one banner more often than another. The default weight is 100%. We also make sure that the final date of the default banners falls into a valid range. Changed files: includes/functions_rbs.php and rbs_stats.php.
  • 2.4.2: Workaround for update sequence problems.
Hacks and unsupported add-ons:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	banner.png
Views:	13214
Size:	27.7 KB
ID:	123711   Click image for larger version

Name:	style.jpg
Views:	7590
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	123714   Click image for larger version

Name:	navigation.png
Views:	8203
Size:	4.9 KB
ID:	123715   Click image for larger version

Name:	estatistics.png
Views:	10803
Size:	14.7 KB
ID:	123716  

Click image for larger version

Name:	options.jpg
Views:	3695
Size:	123.7 KB
ID:	137954  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #2461  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 08:12
drdoc drdoc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
You just copied the files without the folders. It is intended to copy the contents of the upload folder to your forum home ... including the folders.
I have uploaded all files in folders Upload....when i click "upload" folder then again shows admincp folder with 4 files in it and also shows includes folder which again shows files of cron xml etc...

How to upload directly folder...when i tried in file manager it redirecting to files in folder the how can we upload folders directly....what makes different when i upload all files with in upload folder....confused....
Reply With Quote
  #2462  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 11:27
drdoc drdoc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
UPDATED feedback

Just now i have removed all previous uploaded individual files and now uploaded entire "UPLOAD" folder using ZIP format and later Extracted as you told u upload entire folder of "upload" . I named my Upload folder as "rbs upload"....unzipped that and deleted zip format file and now have all files and folder with in "rbs upload"

Now the directory path is public_html/rbs upload

Check screen shot...BUT still i cannot see RBS in my VB CP...where i went wrong now, as i uploaded entire folder this time.....

Next ..Manage product=> Add/Import and then Browsed for the product's XML file (product-rbs.xml), and clicked import but i got a message like this "Please upload the files that came with the product before installing or upgrading!

Missing files:

The missing files do not show anything....

Kindly check screen shot and let me know what to do...i uploaded all folders this time...but no use

Next what about addons folder with in 2.4.2...i ignored it as i was instructed only on "upload" folder and "product's XML file (product-rbs.xml)"

check my screenshot for better understanding and pls guide me experts or coder...thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rbs upload screen shot.jpg (63.3 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2463  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 14:08
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
I don't think you'll be able to run your forum using cpanel or any other file manager; you're going to have to learn FTP.

At any rate it looks like you're still uploading to the wrong place. Usually you can just rename the "upload" folder to "forum" (or whatever your forum folder is) and drag and drop it on public_html.

A good beginner guide is at:
DJ's "How To Install Modifications (Mods/Hacks)" for Beginners - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=201864
Reply With Quote
  #2464  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 14:14
drdoc drdoc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Originally Posted by Videx View Post
I don't think you'll be able to run your forum using cpanel or any other file manager; you're going to have to learn FTP.

At any rate it looks like you're still uploading to the wrong place. Usually you can just rename the "upload" folder to "forum" (or whatever your forum folder is) and drag and drop it on public_html.

A good beginner guide is at:
DJ's "How To Install Modifications (Mods/Hacks)" for Beginners - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=201864
Thanks for your suggestion...yes i need to learn FTP but before that i will try renaming and read your link on How To Install Modifications (Mods/Hacks)" for Beginners

Thanks videx
Reply With Quote
  #2465  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 14:21
drdoc drdoc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Originally Posted by Videx View Post
I don't think you'll be able to run your forum using cpanel or any other file manager; you're going to have to learn FTP.

At any rate it looks like you're still uploading to the wrong place. Usually you can just rename the "upload" folder to "forum" (or whatever your forum folder is) and drag and drop it on public_html.

A good beginner guide is at:
DJ's "How To Install Modifications (Mods/Hacks)" for Beginners - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=201864

But i cannot see FORUM folder in public_html?
Reply With Quote
  #2466  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 14:27
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by dr.reddy View Post
But i cannot see FORUM folder in public_html?
Then where did you install your forum? Note this mod is for VB4 which by default will install in public_html/forum (I think).
Reply With Quote
  #2467  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 15:38
drdoc drdoc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Originally Posted by Videx View Post
Then where did you install your forum? Note this mod is for VB4 which by default will install in public_html/forum (I think).
It was installed by VB expert professional install/upgrade not by me ...i can see only public_html/forum.php and that forum.php is file not folder

I installed "upload" folder to public_html so it became like this public_html/upload
Reply With Quote
  #2468  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 15:56
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Originally Posted by dr.reddy View Post
It was installed by VB expert professional install/upgrade not by me ...i can see only public_html/forum.php and that forum.php is file not folder

I installed "upload" folder to public_html so it became like this public_html/upload
In your instance the forum is installed in your root folder, which is "public_html/"

You should be uploading everything to "public_html/" not to "public_html/upload/".

For instance the file and folder structure after uploading should look like:
public_html/admincp
public_html/includes
public_html/rbs_banner.php
public_html/rbs_stats.php
public_html/rbs_wrapper.swf


P.S. This will be how you install all mods in the future also. The "upload" directory for mods is just reference to your default forum directory which for you is the root folder "public_html".
Reply With Quote
  #2469  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 16:05
drdoc drdoc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Originally Posted by bzcomputers View Post
In your instance the forum is installed in your root folder, which is "public_html/"

You should be uploading everything to "public_html/" not to "public_html/upload/".

For instance the file and folder structure after uploading should look like:
public_html/admincp
public_html/includes
public_html/rbs_banner.php
public_html/rbs_stats.php
public_html/rbs_wrapper.swf


P.S. This will be how you install all mods in the future also. The "upload" directory for mods is just reference to your default forum directory which for you is the root folder "public_html".
yes i have uploaded everything to public_html/ only but NOT to public_html/upload/

But as seen in screenshots above i uploaded "upload folder" ( renamed as rbs upload) entire thing to public_html/ so finally it looks public_html/rbs upload after uploading "upload folder"

so next i will try like you mentioned like this

public_html/admincp
public_html/includes
public_html/rbs_banner.php
public_html/rbs_stats.php
public_html/rbs_wrapper.swf

BUT after my upload it looked like this

public_html/rbs upload/admincp
public_html/rbs upload/includes
public_html/rbs upload/rbs_banner.php
public_html/rbs upload/rbs_stats.php
public_html/rbs upload/rbs_wrapper.swf

i will again reupload again my upload folder (rbs upload)

Thanks..let u know soon
Reply With Quote
  #2470  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 17:03
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Originally Posted by dr.reddy View Post
...BUT after my upload it looked like this

public_html/rbs upload/admincp
public_html/rbs upload/includes
public_html/rbs upload/rbs_banner.php
public_html/rbs upload/rbs_stats.php
public_html/rbs upload/rbs_wrapper.swf

i will again reupload again my upload folder (rbs upload)

Thanks..let u know soon
Just make sure you are selecting to upload the contents within the "upload" directory and not selecting to upload the "upload" directory itself and it should give you the results you need.
Reply With Quote
  #2471  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 17:38
drdoc drdoc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Originally Posted by bzcomputers View Post
Just make sure you are selecting to upload the contents within the "upload" directory and not selecting to upload the "upload" directory itself and it should give you the results you need.
Coder replied like this in post # 2460 "You just copied the files without the folders. It is intended to copy the contents of the upload folder to your forum home ... including the folders."

Are you both telling same thing? I will now try to upload the contents within the "upload" directory as you said and check the status...I will update my feedback soon...thx
Reply With Quote
  #2472  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 18:15
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Originally Posted by dr.reddy View Post
Coder replied like this in post # 2460 "You just copied the files without the folders. It is intended to copy the contents of the upload folder to your forum home ... including the folders."

Are you both telling same thing? I will now try to upload the contents within the "upload" directory as you said and check the status...I will update my feedback soon...thx
Yes, we are saying the same thing. For you, when looking at the "upload" directory for any mod, consider the "upload" directory the same as your "public_html" directory on your server.

You then need to copy the contents of the "upload" folder to your root folder "public_html". This includes maintaining the file/folder structure under "upload".

Sample of what is being uploaded:
upload/admincp/admin_rbs.php
upload/includes/cron/rbs_mail_cron.php
upload/rbs_banner.php

Where it should be uploaded:
public_html/admincp/admin_rbs.php
public_html/includes/cron/rbs_mail_cron.php
public_html/rbs_banner.php
Reply With Quote
  #2473  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 18:16
drdoc drdoc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Originally Posted by bzcomputers View Post
Just make sure you are selecting to upload the contents within the "upload" directory and not selecting to upload the "upload" directory itself and it should give you the results you need.

NEW UPDATE

This time i uploaded like people said here....default admincp and includes folder names were already present in my public_html.....then i uploaded admincp and includes folders of 2.4.2 "upload" to my public_html (Actually i uploaded zip of admincp and includes and extracted and later deleted zip files) and then all files with in admincp and includes folders of 2.4.2 "upload"went in to previously present default admin and includes folder....I though i replaced folders and shocked a moment but realized that uploaded 2.4.2 upload and includes files just went in to previously present default admincp and includes folder (thank god), and later uploaded rbs_banner.php,rbs_stats.php,rbs_wrapper.swf files in to public_html and now i an see following below format in my public_html

public_html/admincp
public_html/includes
public_html/rbs_banner.php
public_html/rbs_stats.php
public_html/rbs_wrapper.swf

But still i cannot see RBS in my VB cpanel...i thought some thing went wrong and disappointed....but i immediately tried to add/import and did following

Manage product=> Add/Import and then Browsed for the product's XML file (product-rbs.xml), and clicked import ....To my surprise it got imported and accepted this time...then i thought RBS may now appear in my VB cpanel and scroll down left menu.....then....hurray i did it...i can see RBS as seen in screen shot.....thanks to bzcomputers and coder...ESPECIALLY special thanks to bzcomputers, you guided me with example and i did it now....hay...thanks...i will go for next steps now...my target is adding RBS below navbar....Now i dont know next steps....just read and proceed further and update u all..

check my screenshot....big thanks to bzcomputers
Attached Images
File Type: jpg RBS VB cpanel accepted.jpg (119.4 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by drdoc; 07 Feb 2014 at 18:22.
Reply With Quote
  #2474  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 19:42
drdoc drdoc is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Regarding placing Banners "Below Navbar" location

I am looking for Rotating banners which need to Refresh after every "few seconds" below navbar location.

So far i placed 2 banner successfully below navbar with "position 0 banner list" and they are changing alternately only when i refresh...what to do to set auto rotation with few seconds gap.

How i did....i created 2 banners and saved in "position 0 banner list" and next went to RBS in settings => options...and changed <!--@vbbanners:%d@--> to <!--@vbbanners:0@-->

Next went to style manager=>edit templates=>navbar below=> template box was empty so i added this "<!--@vbbanners:0@-->" Hope i did correctly so far

next what should i do in order to add position 1-9, i mean in settings=>options=>what should i add in the place of Nth Placeholder , as i have already entered <!--@vbbanners:0@-->

pls clarify and also let me know about rotating banner with time gap automatically instead of rotation banner after refreshing page.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2475  
Old 07 Feb 2014, 23:41
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

@bzcomputers I'd like all of your posts for helping dr.reddy if it would let me, can only like one for now until I share more "like love" so instead a shout out to you for being super nice and helping him today!

Originally Posted by dr.reddy View Post
How i did....i created 2 banners and saved in "position 0 banner list" and next went to RBS in settings => options...and changed <!--@vbbanners:%d@--> to <!--@vbbanners:0@-->
^ Go back in settings and change that BACK to the previous value, it should always read <!--@vbbanners:%d@-->

If you currently have it set to: <!--@vbbanners:0@--> then it will not work, it must have the %d.
To explain the mod knows that the %d represents a # i.e. the banner list ID#.

Originally Posted by dr.reddy View Post
Next went to style manager=>edit templates=>navbar below=> template box was empty so i added this "<!--@vbbanners:0@-->" Hope i did correctly so far
That is correct, that will now show the banners (all banners you have added to LIST 0) from list 0 in that location. If more than one banner they will randomly rotate in.

Originally Posted by dr.reddy View Post
next what should i do in order to add position 1-9, i mean in settings=>options=>what should i add in the place of Nth Placeholder , as i have already entered <!--@vbbanners:0@-->

pls clarify and also let me know about rotating banner with time gap automatically instead of rotation banner after refreshing page.

Thanks
Add more banners to List 0 OR manage the other list and add in banners to those list, you only add more code to the template i.e. <!--@vbbanners:0@--> and <!--@vbbanners:1@--> if you are showing the banners from list 0 AND list 1.

Edit: Ahh and this mod rotates the banners on page load/refresh there is currently no timer function.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!

Last edited by TheLastSuperman; 07 Feb 2014 at 23:47. Reason: caps'd some stuff for emphasis
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:31.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: