Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Replacment of External.php with FeedBurner Details »
Replacment of External.php with FeedBurner
Mod Version: 1.00, by mccollin (Member) mccollin is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.5 Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 17
Released: 01 Nov 2007 Last Update: Never Downloads: 4
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code  

I am frustrated with the fact that vBulletin 3.6.x does not limit the RSS feeds and so your entire posts are going out for someone to load into their site, thus eliminating the need for them to come to your site at all. Upon investigating this, I discovered FeedBurner's vast capabilities so I have tried to replace the built-in RSS capabilities of vBulletin's external.php with FeedBurner.

The modification is a simple template change, and renaming one file.

1. First you need to go to feedburner.com and get yourself an account setup.

2. Copy your /forums/external.php file to some other name such as /forums/feedburner.php. (you will eventually want to hide external.php, so this is a preliminary step)

3. Next go into AdminCP and print out a list of all your forums. Then, by using the "hover" over the names of the forums, record the forum IDs from the URL in the browser's status window on your list.

4. Create a new feed at feedburner.com using the url of
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(where /yourforumurl.com/yourforumdirectory/ is the path to your forum, and fbget.php is what you copied external.php to).

5. Using the tools at Feedburner.com to create links to your feed, determine the url to your Feedburner feed and make a note of it. It will most likely be something like this...
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

.

6. Test the feed to make sure it works.

7. Now you will need to manually create a new feed for any forum which you want to have a feed fore. Go into Feedburner.com and the new feed dialog. Re-enter the url used above to create another feed, and append to the end of it the code for forumid. Use the chart you created and start at the top. You will need to create a feed for each forum you wish to have a feed to. The url for forum ID 47 would be
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

. Feedburner should create the title of the feed for you based on your forum title, and I recommend you don't change it here. The reason is that if you have a lot of forums, you will have a lot of feeds and your only easy way to identify them is by their names. You want them to match. Another tip is that for parent forums, I used the feature of external.php to aggregate forumids with commas. In these cases, I would list all the child forums into one feed.

8. Repeat this process for all forums you wish to have feeds for, making sure that the url used in each case is exactly the same except for the forumid. This is very important.

9. Now to integrate this into your forum, you need to make a change to the headinclude template. Find the following code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And replace it with the following code, replacing the urls with the ones that feedburner created for your feeds. Note that you replace the forumid part of the url with $foruminfo[forumid].


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

10. Once you are sure that its working, you can rename external.php to something else. If you ever want to reverse this, you simply need to replace your old template, and rename external.php back.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 01 Nov 2007, 04:09
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
interesting idea
__________________

Email me for website help: brandon[at]sheley[dot]org
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Nov 2007, 05:30
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
nice one - I was also frustrated by the rss feeds in vb being too explicit and considered doing this myself, but you did all of the legwork for me - thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Nov 2007, 06:08
mccollin mccollin is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Mike
Its not hard... just time consuming. I did about 1/4 of my forums so far... the ones I figured people would care about. I'll try to do the rest as time permits. Feedburner has a ton of tools to help exploit the RSS feeds that I hope to get into. The thing is though that I've not found a way to easily change all the feeds at the same time, which is a pain. They need a way to make a global change to add something to a feed.
__________________
Mikey
PDAPhoneHome ... Get Converged! / NortheastFoto ... Get Imaged!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02 Nov 2007, 04:53
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=125100
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02 Nov 2007, 06:39
mccollin mccollin is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Mike
Yes... I'm aware of that but it doesn't work with 3.6.5 or newer. That's why I went looking for something else. The thing is that Feedburner brings a lot more to the table. I also just found out that I can even have Feedburner use my url... like feeds.mysite.com... I just need to setup the zone file correctly.
__________________
Mikey
PDAPhoneHome ... Get Converged! / NortheastFoto ... Get Imaged!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06 Nov 2007, 23:07
FleaBag's Avatar
FleaBag FleaBag is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
This looks really cool. I'm planning to take a look. Thanks for sharing.
__________________
AndroidETC.com :: Android, and other stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08 Nov 2007, 04:29
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by mccollin View Post
Yes... I'm aware of that but it doesn't work with 3.6.5 or newer. That's why I went looking for something else.
Yes it does, you have to enable it in the ACP, and select the number of characters to display, and it works just fine. I am using 3.6.8 PL2 and it works as advertised.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13 Nov 2007, 20:27
Milad's Avatar
Milad Milad is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Milad
you may replace external.php with a file that send 301 redirecting http header. to redirect users who are already subscribed to your feeds.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15 Nov 2007, 14:05
cihangir's Avatar
cihangir cihangir is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
nice job, this is what i have been waiting for years . thanks a lot.
__________________
www.zoque.com
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16 Nov 2007, 05:38
mexicanpizza mexicanpizza is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
In the case of parent-subforums, where you've made a feedburner feed that aggregates all of a set of subforums (/external.php?type=RSS2&forumids=3,4,5,6)....I can't see how the above will work with your code modification to display one feedburner feed for all 4 of the forums. In your second to last line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That won't work, right? If you've done what I described above (aggregating with forumids=3,4,5,6, and creating a feedburner feed of that)...your modification will break when it generates the link above....as the feedburner link will be http://feeds.feedburner.com/yourforumurlcom-3456 if you left the default.

For example, you're viewing forumid=5, your code above generates a link to http://feeds.feedburner.com/yourforumurlcom-5 for which there is no separate feedburner feed....

ack I'm so confused.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16 Nov 2007, 21:49
coolgus coolgus is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
exactly my question too. Every feed I create for seperate forums, has different feedburner url. I couldn't find a way to link the original feed with the other forums from feedburner.com tools.

And in the last step, do we have to enter only the original feed ? (http://feeds.feedburner.com/yourforumurlcom )
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16 Nov 2007, 22:28
mccollin mccollin is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Mike
Originally Posted by mexicanpizza View Post
In the case of parent-subforums, where you've made a feedburner feed that aggregates all of a set of subforums (/external.php?type=RSS2&forumids=3,4,5,6)....I can't see how the above will work with your code modification to display one feedburner feed for all 4 of the forums. In your second to last line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That won't work, right? If you've done what I described above (aggregating with forumids=3,4,5,6, and creating a feedburner feed of that)...your modification will break when it generates the link above....as the feedburner link will be http://feeds.feedburner.com/yourforumurlcom-3456 if you left the default.

For example, you're viewing forumid=5, your code above generates a link to http://feeds.feedburner.com/yourforumurlcom-5 for which there is no separate feedburner feed....

ack I'm so confused.
Well you didn't do it exactly the way I did. I use the parent forum-id, which allows the header code to work, but when I create the feed in Feedburner, THERE I insert the list of feeds that I want to show for that parent forum-id. This doesn't actually work with the normal external.php approach, which is why I started looking for an alternative in the first place. For example, I have a News Archive parent forum, and within it there are five different category news forums. What I wanted, was that if someone subscribed to the News Archive, that they'd get all the news. With external.php, it doesn't work that way.... unless you create the forum as a category... which I don't do because of a little problem with formatting. In any event, this will work if you use the parent forum's forumID, and then make sure to associate it properly with the name of the feed in Feedburner.
__________________
Mikey
PDAPhoneHome ... Get Converged! / NortheastFoto ... Get Imaged!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12 Dec 2007, 00:08
Coop1979 Coop1979 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
I'm somewhat dense and new to vbulletin, so could someone help me out? I'm looking to add about 30 feedburner links to take the place of my standard rss links. How do I adjust this code for the multiple feeds?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Do I do this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I'm guessing not since it's not working for me
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12 Dec 2007, 21:05
Coop1979 Coop1979 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
I'm stupid, please ignore my post. I figured it out
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:07.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: