Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
[HOW TO - vB4] Sidebar in your own mod
Coroner
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 797

I start for about 25 years with an TI and learned Basic. Next was an Commodere 64, Amiga. On Amiga I learned Assembler and wrote some Games. Many years later again, I learned myself (without book ...) php,html and javascript. Then I wrote some small

Germany
by Coroner Coroner is offline 19 Feb 2010

Do you like the sidebar ? Here I will explain how to insert it into your own mod.

1.) make sure that you have loaded forumhome.css. This is nessesary for the blocks.
2.) prepare your template(s) (modify your product).

You have to do this for all "main" templates you'd like to insert the sidebar!

search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and add above:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

next search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and add below:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and at least, search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and add above:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

3.) preparing you're php file(s). Somewhere in you file you're requireing the global.php.
Below it you can insert the following script:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This is the original vBulletin Script. That means, the sidebar is always enabled, when the sidebar is enabled in the AdminCP.
If you like to change that, simply change the following line:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

into:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

$sidebar_in_my_mod could be a value taken from you're mod (eg. $vbulletin->options['xyz']).

Now the last step. Somewhere you have to register your "main" template, simply insert

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

We're finish now. You will see the sidebar in you own modification.

Remember: This will show all availiable blocks.
You can use this mod to set the block on page ....
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=235219

I hope this article is helpfull.

Coroner

Last edited by Coroner; 19 Feb 2010 at 19:09..
Views: 5226
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 07 Mar 2010, 14:02
abdobasha2004's Avatar
abdobasha2004 abdobasha2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
thank you
nice !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02 Apr 2010, 20:26
Jaxel Jaxel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
This isn't working for me... at all. I get the small arrow tab, but it shows on the bottom of my page... instead of on the right... and if I click the arrow, nothing shows up. Below is my page... I cut and pasted the contents directly into it for testing purposes...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

--------------- Added 03 Apr 2010 at 07:49 ---------------

Okay... I got it working... but it doesn't align correctly...

http://test.8wayrun.com/media.php?

Last edited by Jaxel; 03 Apr 2010 at 07:49. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03 Apr 2010, 08:55
Coroner Coroner is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Stefan
What do you mean with: "align correctely" ? I see your bar on the right.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04 Apr 2010, 03:23
Jaxel Jaxel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
The TOP of the sidebar is not lined up with the TOP of my main content...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04 Apr 2010, 03:44
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by Jaxel View Post
The TOP of the sidebar is not lined up with the TOP of my main content...
Tinker with the CSS

You can wrap the entire DIV for the sidebar with a simple:

<div style="margin: -4px 0px 0px 0px;">
All that code up above here blah blah
</div>

to test then modify the original css to suit and remove the div style wrapper.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05 Apr 2010, 06:18
Jaxel Jaxel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Thanks, I don't know why I didn't think of that. I've been programming nonstop for a week... so your brain starts to short out after a while.

Any word on how to add this kind of sidebar functionality to my own sidebar? Not the VB Sidebar?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10 May 2010, 19:29
Da-Vinci Da-Vinci is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Originally Posted by Jaxel View Post
This isn't working for me... at all. I get the small arrow tab, but it shows on the bottom of my page... instead of on the right... and if I click the arrow, nothing shows up. Below is my page... I cut and pasted the contents directly into it for testing purposes...

How did you manage to get it working?

I'm having the same issue.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24 May 2012, 19:58
Bisha's Avatar
Bisha Bisha is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
it want work on activity.php :S
__________________
My Hacks ~ @Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02 May 2014, 09:46
behcet behcet is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Article
Article Author Type Replies Last Post
vB3 Sidebar TheAnt vBulletin 3.0 Template Modifications 32 10 Apr 2004 17:00



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:55.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: