Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy Details »
DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy
Mod Version: 1.5.0, by Digital Jedi (Coder/Designer) Digital Jedi is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (8 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 72
Released: 09 Mar 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 362
Supported Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

**vBulletin 3.x version can be found here: DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy**

Ever felt your postbit_legacy template was just too long? Or maybe you'd like to add more content to your postbit_legacy, but you don't like the cluttered look or extended length of the post, especially when most posts are only a handful of sentences? Almost every decent modification here on vB.org has the option to add a link or a display to your postbit templates, and you've likely struggled, as I have, to come up with just the info you want to display, likely excluding things you thought would look real nice, but just couldn't justify the room for.

Now I've seen several good modifications that address this problem, and all of them are pretty nice. I've seen everything from a drop-down menu that displays the content, to a box that can be opened and closed just underneath the avatar. All of them are practical in their own way, and here's one more way that I worked out using a script from Dynamic Drive's website called Tab Content Script. This cleaned up my postbit_legacy just the way I wanted, and let me add even more content then I would have originally intended. It also allowed me to organize content in whatever manner I wished. I love it and I think you will too.


Screenshots


Live Demo
Live Demo is on a vBulletin 3.x forum, but the functionality is identical for vB4. Click any of the grey dots beneath the user's avatars.


Difficulty: Intermediate
A few things you should know before moving forward. The instructions for this mod are not your standard template modification instructions. It's going to presume that you've edited your postbit_legacy template before and that you're somewhat familiar with its content, with HTML and how to wrap <if condition=""> conditionals. So it's not going to be a "look for this line of code, add this under it" kind of traditional tutorial. What I'm going to do is show you the basic code, how to implement it and then let you do with it what you want. That is, after all, the reason I came up with mod in first place, and I know everyone wont have the same postbit content and/or will want to set theirs up differently.

With that said, knowledge of how to modify your templates and basic HTML coding is something every vBulletin administrator should have. I'm not a coder. I'm a complete hack. But I know enough to take some of the wealth of code snippets available on the web and attempt to use them in new and inventive ways. Administrating a vB forum is that much more satisfying as a result.


Installation
To add this to your forum requires you to upload some files, make one edit to your headinclude template and one to your postbit_legacy template. If you don't know what postbit_legacy does, it's the template that controls the look of your posts when you've chosen to have avatars and user information appear to the left hand side of your posts. If you don't use that look for your forum, but instead use the one where avatars appear above your posts, then that means you use the postbit template, and this modification wasn't designed to look right on that template. (Though we have had a few users give it a try.)

Step 1.
First things first. After downloading the Attachment 113756 file, extract the contents and upload the postbit_tabs folder in your forum's root directory (Your forum root is the folder you have physically installed vBulletin in, which means that for some folks, this isn't the same thing as your site root.)

Step 2.
Right click and download this JavaScript file from the Dynamic Drive website: tabcontent.js (You can also download it from this page.) Upload it to the postbit_tabs folder you just added to your website.

Step 3.
Now to edit your headinclude template. Go to Admin CP >>> Styles & Templates >>> Style Manager >>> <<>> >>> headinclude.

Add the following block of code to the very bottom. Remember to keep the copyright intact for legal use.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Step 4.
Now to access your postbit_legacy template, go to Admin CP >>> Styles & Templates >>> Style Manager >>> <<>> >>> Postbit Templates >>> postbit_legacy.

From here, your going to add a basic set of code from which you can then customize it. You can pretty much add it anywhere in the template, but most likely your going to want to add it just below the avatar. If that's the case, your avatar code is most likely going to look something like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that add this basic set of code. This block of code will be your physical tab content.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now go to your forum and see if your tabs are displaying properly and your not getting any errors. You should have five dot tabs that display five different sets of information when clicked.

Final Steps
Now comes the hard part. Now you have to decide what you want to put in those places called Tab 1 Content:Block A, etc. This is where knowledge of your postbit_legacy template comes into play. Your now going to move whatever content you want in the respective tabs from their current location into the tabs. This is entirely up to you, but you can use my forum as a starting point. The following posts also have some tips to help you along the way.

Post 2 has a Basic Breakdown of what the tabs do, a tutorial on how to add more tabs, default snippets of code that you can move into the tabs containers as well some snippets from common hacks.

Post 3 has some links to other sites that have implemented this hack to give you an idea of what can be done with it. And it has some additional images to use in place of the default dots.

Post 5 has Frequently Asked Questions for most problems you would encounter.




Known Bugs
There is one minor issue with the tabs that only occurs when using the AJAX quick reply and inline editing. Actually it's two issues, but I've only seen one or the other on my live site vs. my demo board. In one instance, the entire content of all your tabs displays all at once when posting/editing using AJAX. This is not a huge deal, as the only person who sees it do that is the person doing the posting/editing. And it will return to normal anytime he reloads or refreshes the page. The other instance is when after posting/editing through AJAX, no tab content appears, except the dot tabs. This is also not a huge deal as the same thing will happen here too; only the poster sees it and it will look normal anytime he returns or reloads the page. I think it's a minor trade off for the sleek look it gives your forum the rest of the time.

Upgrade Instructions
For those using the vBulletin 3.x version and who want to upgrade, follow the instructions I'll be including shortly in a subsequent post.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit-Tabs-Screenie.gif
Views:	7999
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	113758   Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit Tabs Screenie.png
Views:	7905
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	113757  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy Digital Jedi vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 389 19 Sep 2013 16:26

  #46  
Old 17 Jul 2010, 17:20
EquinoxWorld EquinoxWorld is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Has anyone tested this out for 4.0.5? Thanks for the help everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 24 Jul 2010, 16:59
RobbieZ RobbieZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I do like this.

Shame about the bugs with AJAX and inline.

I presume I can integrate it with Dragon Byte Tech mods - VbShop / VbActivity so the postbit legacy doesnt look so clustered.

Thanks - Clicks installs.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 25 Jul 2010, 01:06
Webbstre Webbstre is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Originally Posted by RobbieZ View Post
I do like this.

Shame about the bugs with AJAX and inline.

I presume I can integrate it with Dragon Byte Tech mods - VbShop / VbActivity so the postbit legacy doesnt look so clustered.

Thanks - Clicks installs.
You most definitely can. I only have two tabs right now, but on one I have the profile info and on the second I have activity stats. Here's an example: http://www.runicgamesfansite.com/sho...ted=1#post7967
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 26 Jul 2010, 15:26
RobbieZ RobbieZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Originally Posted by Webbstre View Post
You most definitely can. I only have two tabs right now, but on one I have the profile info and on the second I have activity stats. Here's an example: http://www.runicgamesfansite.com/sho...ted=1#post7967
Looks good Webbstre

Have you witnessed the bug still , where it shows all the information when inline moderation is being done?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 03 Aug 2010, 03:34
merk_aus merk_aus is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Brendon
Is there anyway to make the "dots" centered?
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 06 Aug 2010, 22:20
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by EquinoxWorld View Post
Has anyone tested this out for 4.0.5? Thanks for the help everyone.
No reason why it shouldn't.


Originally Posted by RobbieZ View Post
Looks good Webbstre

Have you witnessed the bug still , where it shows all the information when inline moderation is being done?
Pretty much it should string out like that every time, or just display nothing during inline editing/posting. But it will only show for the poster and no one else, and won't show up again on page reload.

Originally Posted by merk_aus View Post
Is there anyway to make the "dots" centered?
There's a rather lengthy discussion on that in the 3.x thread that you may want to look over. I can't recall what finally worked for us there.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 30 Aug 2010, 20:33
AfterWorldForum AfterWorldForum is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Originally Posted by EquinoxWorld View Post
Has anyone tested this out for 4.0.5? Thanks for the help everyone.
Got it running on that now.

I'm not fully satisfied with it yet (I have yet to port the Arcade, and I wouldn't mind tweaking a few other settings as well), but when I am, I'll share the codes I ended up using.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 31 Aug 2010, 18:17
AfterWorldForum AfterWorldForum is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
As promised, here's my version of the script. I used mostly existing stuff ouf of the postbit_legacy template, and converted some of the suggestions from DJ to work with vB4. Code below is ready for copy/paste, and is working on 4.0.5. Live demo can be seen on www.EntropiaPlanets.com.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Substitute Field<number> with your own userfields. Also please note that under Tab 1, I added the hook postbit_userinfo_right from the original template. I use the PhotoPost vBGallery, and that adds an image count using the hook. The same applies to the Blogs. I added the hook in the specific location so these additional stats show up right under the Posts.

Last edited by AfterWorldForum; 01 Sep 2010 at 12:41. Reason: correction
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 04 Sep 2010, 18:58
AfterWorldForum AfterWorldForum is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Originally Posted by Digital Jedi View Post
There's a rather lengthy discussion on that in the 3.x thread that you may want to look over. I can't recall what finally worked for us there.
Just finished reading the thread, and what worked for me was adding a margin to "push" the dots towards the middle. In the CSS file, in the first class, add the text in red below:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Adjust the number so it suits your settings.

Original post by stickskills here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=188
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 05 Sep 2010, 00:15
betts02's Avatar
betts02 betts02 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Have done everything, Made sure all the files uploaded but i stall get no tab images, Just lines as seen here - http://www.nextgenerationgamers.co.u...ll=1#post23252

Any help ?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 06 Sep 2010, 00:04
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by AfterWorldForum View Post
Just finished reading the thread, and what worked for me was adding a margin to "push" the dots towards the middle. In the CSS file, in the first class, add the text in red below:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Adjust the number so it suits your settings.

Original post by stickskills here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=188
Thinking about this in retrospect, you should be able to get true centering by setting the margin-right and margin-left to "auto".


Originally Posted by betts02 View Post
Have done everything, Made sure all the files uploaded but i stall get no tab images, Just lines as seen here - http://www.nextgenerationgamers.co.u...ll=1#post23252

Any help ?
I don't see the headinclude code in the source code of your page. It looks like you've skipped Step 3 or maybe added it to the wrong style.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 06 Sep 2010, 10:42
betts02's Avatar
betts02 betts02 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Many thanks, Its woking now

I had nearly the exact same code in the headinclude and though it was this,lol

But it was for the signature slider, added this and working fine, just need to install a brighter image for the dots
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 16 Oct 2010, 17:37
duditas's Avatar
duditas duditas is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Hello

I'm a kind of a newbie and I'm working very hard to get this mod in my forum.

I almost get it, with a little help of kuervo (vbhispano), because I'm not good at english.


My penultimate problem is that I can't make js works. My dots don't change its colour and I can't access to TAB 2 CONTENT, TAB 2 CONTENT, and so..
All dots are linked to : http://www.myforum.com/#

I have it at -> postbit_tabs carpet


I have followed FAQ 5 and 6, and I think I did everything properly


Any sugestion, please?


** I would like to thank to AfterWorldForum for showing us his code. =)

Last edited by duditas; 17 Oct 2010 at 02:56. Reason: Solved one of the problems
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 18 Oct 2010, 11:45
duditas's Avatar
duditas duditas is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Ryuk @ vbhispano has solved my problem. Thanks anyway
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 28 Oct 2010, 09:12
Nocturnal222 Nocturnal222 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Thanks for this one, good edit, looks sleek in our forum
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:59.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: