Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Import External Images Details »
Import External Images
Mod Version: 1.0.5, by y2ksw (Coder) y2ksw is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (38 votes - 4.68 average) Installs: 301
Released: 07 Nov 2010 Last Update: 14 Feb 2011 Downloads: 1906
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

This vBulletin 4 product imports external images in your posts from external servers or paths into a specific path, normally your forum's image folder.

Differently than the previous product Image Cache for vBulletin 3.x., it parses the posts at regular intervals for new images and replaces the external references in the background. Also, instead of using only a single folder, it creates folders for years and months, making it much easier to handle large quantities of images. The source and destination image URL's are stored into database, too, avoiding unnecessary duplicates.

It moves and optionally converts images from one place to another. It is a handy tool in order to keep your images local to your forums.

Version 1.0.4 is temporarily in BETA stage until the users have confirmed the newly requested features.
Version 1.0.5 is still in BETA stage. It adds a new bunch of additional features, one of which allows you to test your mathematical understanding ... and a few other to fine-tune CURL and socket timeouts, and resizing on the fly of too large images. If you don't know what these options do, please leave them at their default values.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	08-11-2010-11.32.53.jpg
Views:	4028
Size:	112.4 KB
ID:	123480   Click image for larger version

Name:	02-02-2011-22.06.39.jpg
Views:	2795
Size:	126.0 KB
ID:	126356  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #571  
Old 09 Feb 2014, 12:34
majjed2008 majjed2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
hello

can we made it import the VB image also from thumps like that we have all picture in just onne folder ?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #572  
Old 10 Feb 2014, 12:16
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Manoel Júnior View Post
You can import images directly to my database rather than to a folder on my FTP?
No. It is not intended to create attachments.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #573  
Old 10 Feb 2014, 12:19
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by majjed2008 View Post
hello

can we made it import the VB image also from thumps like that we have all picture in just onne folder ?

Thank you
It is not possible to determine if an image you see in the posts is a thumb or actually an image. Thus it will import only images which have a recognizable format with the IMG BBCode.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #574  
Old 10 Feb 2014, 15:10
majjed2008 majjed2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
It is not possible to determine if an image you see in the posts is a thumb or actually an image. Thus it will import only images which have a recognizable format with the IMG BBCode.
thank you is there any way that we can import thump or change them to be in folder as image , anyone know please ?
Reply With Quote
  #575  
Old 07 Mar 2014, 23:40
elfenny's Avatar
elfenny elfenny is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
I created the folder with 777 permissions but not create subfolders.

The mod does not work, how can I fix?
Reply With Quote
  #576  
Old 15 Mar 2014, 21:32
Bob_R Bob_R is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
As it turns out, the question was different. You want to know if you can block hotlinking on your server. The answer is yes and it has nothing to do with this mod.

In order to block hotlinking you will have to add 3 (or more) lines in your .htaccess file, like:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Originally Posted by Bob_R View Post
OK, maybe I'll try it by adding the code to the .htaccess myself. My server people tried it thru cPanel and it did not work. Not saying that it's this mods fault just sharing.

I also heard from a trusted friend that "hotlink protection (via an htaccess file) doesn't protect images uploaded to vbulletin because they are being requested via php files, not via their native file name."

I'll keep you informed.
OK, did the code. It works if you post an image to another site with HTML img.

But, all I have to do is wrap the image in BB code ex. [img]www.thisisanimage[/img] and it still shows on the offending site.

Anyway around this?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #577  
Old 16 Mar 2014, 19:59
Bob_R Bob_R is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
OK, I believe it is working. Because of this mod though you cannot use a hotlnk error image because it copies the hotlink error image and replaces the original pic on your site.
Reply With Quote
  #578  
Old 21 Mar 2014, 09:33
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Bob_R View Post
OK, I believe it is working. Because of this mod though you cannot use a hotlnk error image because it copies the hotlink error image and replaces the original pic on your site.
There is no way around. Sites may enable hotlink protection at their discretion, but usually the plugin works. Some exceptions made. You may "whitelist" those domains in the options and thus they will keep the hotlink.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #579  
Old 21 Mar 2014, 14:50
Bob_R Bob_R is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
There is no way around. Sites may enable hotlink protection at their discretion, but usually the plugin works. Some exceptions made. You may "whitelist" those domains in the options and thus they will keep the hotlink.
It's working except for that for the the hotlink image also ends up showing on my site.

I've since taken out the image. It'll now just show a blank empty post on the offending site.

I'm I reading you right, whitelist will make the image show? How do I whitelist?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #580  
Old 21 Mar 2014, 15:40
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Bob_R View Post
It's working except for that for the the hotlink image also ends up showing on my site.

I've since taken out the image. It'll now just show a blank empty post on the offending site.

I'm I reading you right, whitelist will make the image show? How do I whitelist?

Thanks.
Please go to the options. There is a big field with according description and most probably already a "path" of a previous release of this product. Just add as many items you need
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #581  
Old 21 Mar 2014, 20:21
Bob_R Bob_R is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
Please go to the options. There is a big field with according description and most probably already a "path" of a previous release of this product. Just add as many items you need
Which options, sir? I went into my vbulletin options for this mod and did not see as you say "a big field with according description and most probably already a "path" of a previous release of this product. Just add as many items you need."
Reply With Quote
  #582  
Old 25 Mar 2014, 06:39
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
It is the "Ignore" field.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #583  
Old 29 Mar 2014, 17:54
Bob_R Bob_R is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
It is the "Ignore" field.
So, just put the URL of a site or sites in the Ignore field and my hotlink error message WILL show on the offending site and NOT show on my site (on my site the hotlink image was replacing the image which was hotlinked to begin with)?
Reply With Quote
  #584  
Old 07 Apr 2014, 13:04
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Bob_R View Post
So, just put the URL of a site or sites in the Ignore field and my hotlink error message WILL show on the offending site and NOT show on my site (on my site the hotlink image was replacing the image which was hotlinked to begin with)?
If you insert the host in the ignore field, the images will not be imported. What they will show, in the end, depends on the site from where you try to show images. Which essentially may be hotlink blockers or anything else
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #585  
Old 07 Apr 2014, 15:06
Bob_R Bob_R is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I hope I'm using the proper terminology. Because you answered my question and now you're saying that this isn't the solution.

Here's the problem with this mod and hot linking (unless I'm doing something wrong but I tested it).

On MY site if I place a hot link image error to show up on the offending site which has grabbed an image from my site. The error image shows BUT the mod also replaces the image on my site with the error image.

Only want the error image to show on the offending site (obviously).

If I don't include an error image the offending site gets a blank screen and the image on my site stays intact. That's fine right? Shows it's working!

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lisansdevir


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:15.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: