Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Import External Images Details »
Import External Images
Mod Version: 1.0.5, by y2ksw (Coder) y2ksw is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (38 votes - 4.68 average) Installs: 301
Released: 07 Nov 2010 Last Update: 14 Feb 2011 Downloads: 1907
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

This vBulletin 4 product imports external images in your posts from external servers or paths into a specific path, normally your forum's image folder.

Differently than the previous product Image Cache for vBulletin 3.x., it parses the posts at regular intervals for new images and replaces the external references in the background. Also, instead of using only a single folder, it creates folders for years and months, making it much easier to handle large quantities of images. The source and destination image URL's are stored into database, too, avoiding unnecessary duplicates.

It moves and optionally converts images from one place to another. It is a handy tool in order to keep your images local to your forums.

Version 1.0.4 is temporarily in BETA stage until the users have confirmed the newly requested features.
Version 1.0.5 is still in BETA stage. It adds a new bunch of additional features, one of which allows you to test your mathematical understanding ... and a few other to fine-tune CURL and socket timeouts, and resizing on the fly of too large images. If you don't know what these options do, please leave them at their default values.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	08-11-2010-11.32.53.jpg
Views:	4029
Size:	112.4 KB
ID:	123480   Click image for larger version

Name:	02-02-2011-22.06.39.jpg
Views:	2796
Size:	126.0 KB
ID:	126356  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #586  
Old 07 Apr 2014, 19:09
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Bob_R View Post
I hope I'm using the proper terminology. Because you answered my question and now you're saying that this isn't the solution.

Here's the problem with this mod and hot linking (unless I'm doing something wrong but I tested it).

On MY site if I place a hot link image error to show up on the offending site which has grabbed an image from my site. The error image shows BUT the mod also replaces the image on my site with the error image.

Only want the error image to show on the offending site (obviously).

If I don't include an error image the offending site gets a blank screen and the image on my site stays intact. That's fine right? Shows it's working!

Thanks for your help!
This is simply impossible. If you show a hotlink image to other sites, your site must remain unaffected. This is a server issue and must be setup correctly in the .htaccess file, and never was an issue with the mod.

If the offending site gets a blank screen, then definitively your hotlink formula isn't working. Get Firebug for Firefox and check the response on the "missing" image, I'm almost 100% sure it's an error 5xx, which translates in a scripting error in .htaccess.

The mod does only download images from other sites, and if they have hotlinking images, it will download those, unless you have them excluded = ignored
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #587  
Old 09 Apr 2014, 22:03
Bob_R Bob_R is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
This is simply impossible. If you show a hotlink image to other sites, your site must remain unaffected. This is a server issue and must be setup correctly in the .htaccess file, and never was an issue with the mod.

If the offending site gets a blank screen, then definitively your hotlink formula isn't working. Get Firebug for Firefox and check the response on the "missing" image, I'm almost 100% sure it's an error 5xx, which translates in a scripting error in .htaccess.

The mod does only download images from other sites, and if they have hotlinking images, it will download those, unless you have them excluded = ignored
Here's my .htaccess in regards to this situation

RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^$
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http(s)?://(www\.)?domain.com [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http(s)?://(www\.)?domain.com/forums [NC]
RewriteRule \.(jpg|jpeg|png|gif)$ - [NC,F,L]
Reply With Quote
  #588  
Old 10 Apr 2014, 11:46
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Bob_R View Post
Here's my .htaccess in regards to this situation

RewriteEngine on
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^$
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http(s)?://(www\.)?domain.com [NC]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http(s)?://(www\.)?domain.com/forums [NC]
RewriteRule \.(jpg|jpeg|png|gif)$ - [NC,F,L]
Provided that domain.com is your domain, your hotlink protection must look this way. Please see the additional backslash, no second line needed and no fancy queries. It's your site and you know how it can be addressed, so make it short and simple. The missing additional backslash and unsupported fancy queries may cause a blank screen. The F directive does generate a failure, the rest should be shown correctly on the offending page:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you used this tool: http://www.htaccesstools.com/hotlink-protection/ for generation, it does not work correctly and it is a shame, but fortunately not mine.

The above rules says: If the referer is not blank and if it starts with http://www.domain.com then fail on these file extensions: .jpg, .jpeg, .png and .gif. This means in cleartext, if the referrer is blank or the referer starts with http://www.domain.com, then the images are shown. Direct page access will thus show the images, but if you are navigating the offending site, they will not.

I hope this extra lecture was exhaustive enough and has really nothing to do with the mod.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/

Last edited by y2ksw; 10 Apr 2014 at 11:54.
Reply With Quote
  #589  
Old 19 May 2014, 18:37
shots shots is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Will this mod pickup changes?

i.e. if someone links an image and then a few days later changes the image (but not the filename) will this mod recognize that?

Followup: if so, will it overwrite the locally stored image or create an additional one with a -1 or something.
Reply With Quote
  #590  
Old 20 May 2014, 08:01
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by shots View Post
Will this mod pickup changes?

i.e. if someone links an image and then a few days later changes the image (but not the filename) will this mod recognize that?

Followup: if so, will it overwrite the locally stored image or create an additional one with a -1 or something.
The best way to know is to try it out. There are too many scenarios about this argument to efficiently give an answer. Generally, it imports images from external servers to local. What you do in local with these files, is your responsibility, but users have no influence. What people do on remote sites is beyond our possibilities
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #591  
Old 22 Jun 2014, 06:15
ar15dcm ar15dcm is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Real name: Dean
Will it do the same in CMS articles? If not, what would it take to add that functionality?
Reply With Quote
  #592  
Old 22 Jun 2014, 06:48
tbworld tbworld is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Originally Posted by ar15dcm View Post
Will it do the same in CMS articles? If not, what would it take to add that functionality?
I read in the thread that the CMS is not supported. The post was dated 2012, so don't take my word on it.
Reply With Quote
  #593  
Old 23 Jun 2014, 09:23
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by ar15dcm View Post
Will it do the same in CMS articles? If not, what would it take to add that functionality?
It's not supported. It would take quite some efford to read the articles the same way as it does for the forum posts and apply the changes. Essentially it needs another cronjob with almost no shared code.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #594  
Old 07 Jul 2014, 09:43
vvlo vvlo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
It is very useful product and I've used it for years
I will soon be ready for vb 5
Do you plan to do this?
Reply With Quote
  #595  
Old 07 Jul 2014, 12:13
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
I haven't tried it yet, but it may work probably just out of the box or with very few changes in vbulletin 5.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #596  
Old 10 Jul 2014, 19:25
vvlo vvlo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
I haven't tried it yet, but it may work probably just out of the box or with very few changes in vbulletin 5.

I am very much looking forward to hearing good news
This is one of the most popular products that are offered by you

Sorry for my bad English
Reply With Quote
  #597  
Old 15 Jul 2014, 10:32
Space_psy.be Space_psy.be is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
One thing I can confirm is that it works in v3.8.7-P4 without any changes.

For what I need it, I've done a small modification, mainly do a backup of the post before updating it.

What I'm most struggling with is the 27000+ posts that have images in them. It is slow. So I'm now rewriting parts of this addon so that it can run from cli.

If there is interest, I can contribute or publish the final cli version once it is finished. The code will not be nice though, I haven't coded much php in the last couple of years.

Last edited by Space_psy.be; 15 Jul 2014 at 12:43.
Reply With Quote
  #598  
Old 08 Aug 2014, 20:20
madness85 madness85 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
working great but if the thread is deleted does it clean up the un-used images?
Reply With Quote
  #599  
Old 09 Aug 2014, 06:37
madness85 madness85 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
No it doesn't clean un-used images can't use this sadly if it can't do it.
Reply With Quote
  #600  
Old 09 Aug 2014, 15:46
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
On large forums you can't tell if an image is reused. This is a plugin for typically very large forums, where the lack of images is much more critical than a few too many. Also, it may come handy to have a copy. Please think about it as a feature
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lisansdevir


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:01.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: