Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 05 Aug 2010, 23:28
ltwonet ltwonet is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Facebook Connect, Move

hi, Hopefully someone can help, I'd like to move the facebook Connect button/information to the Navbar area, I've tried copying the information in the header and putting it in the navbar but it just disappears and then doesn't work at all, can someone tell me how to move it.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06 Aug 2010, 00:57
ltwonet ltwonet is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Looks like it might be possible via the CSS file vbulletin-chrome unfortantely I am not that familiar with building CSS.

Any help?

Here are is what I was able to dig from the CSS file


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Where/what changes do I need to do to move it to this location.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg stylecontinued4.jpg (95.6 KB, 168 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07 Aug 2010, 02:26
downloadsuk downloadsuk is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Real name: Gregory Orton
Wink

Originally Posted by ltwonet View Post
hi, Hopefully someone can help, I'd like to move the facebook Connect button/information to the Navbar area, I've tried copying the information in the header and putting it in the navbar but it just disappears and then doesn't work at all, can someone tell me how to move it.
Well it looks like it's your lucky day my friend. I'm doing exactly the same thing.

You can move the code no problem - and its not the code thats wrong. Its the way VB executes its templates. The template has to be "registered" for use inside another template. From default, the facebook header template that gets called after the VB conditional in header is not registered for use in the navbar template.

You have to create your own addon at template hook "parse_templates" location that fires this code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

that will make the facebook header display in the navbar. So far i haven't needed to modify anything else.

Hope that helps. Any questions, just ask.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07 Aug 2010, 13:04
ltwonet ltwonet is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Originally Posted by downloadsuk View Post
Well it looks like it's your lucky day my friend. I'm doing exactly the same thing.

You can move the code no problem - and its not the code thats wrong. Its the way VB executes its templates. The template has to be "registered" for use inside another template. From default, the facebook header template that gets called after the VB conditional in header is not registered for use in the navbar template.

You have to create your own addon at template hook "parse_templates" location that fires this code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

that will make the facebook header display in the navbar. So far i haven't needed to modify anything else.

Hope that helps. Any questions, just ask.
Helps alot thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Aug 2010, 06:29
ifitsmedia ifitsmedia is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Originally Posted by downloadsuk View Post
You have to create your own addon at template hook "parse_templates" location that fires this code:
Can you explain this more?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19 Aug 2010, 03:17
fishmaster fishmaster is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
can someone dumb this down some more please..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20 Aug 2010, 15:25
vivamexico55 vivamexico55 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Originally Posted by fishmaster View Post
can someone dumb this down some more please..
+1

--------------- Added 20 Aug 2010 at 15:30 ---------------

Originally Posted by downloadsuk View Post
Well it looks like it's your lucky day my friend. I'm doing exactly the same thing.

You can move the code no problem - and its not the code thats wrong. Its the way VB executes its templates. The template has to be "registered" for use inside another template. From default, the facebook header template that gets called after the VB conditional in header is not registered for use in the navbar template.

You have to create your own addon at template hook "parse_templates" location that fires this code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

that will make the facebook header display in the navbar. So far i haven't needed to modify anything else.

Hope that helps. Any questions, just ask.
Please tell me if I'm wrong:

1. Go to Plugins > Add plugin
2. Select parse_templates as hook location
3. Paste code and enable?

And then move around the previously mentioned code for the FB button? Or is this more complicated than that?

Last edited by vivamexico55; 20 Aug 2010 at 15:30. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20 Aug 2010, 17:23
GONUMBER6's Avatar
GONUMBER6 GONUMBER6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Real name: Lisa
Tried it, it did not work. Connect button is still next to log in.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30 Aug 2010, 13:10
FASEOFMARS FASEOFMARS is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Originally Posted by downloadsuk View Post
Well it looks like it's your lucky day my friend. I'm doing exactly the same thing.

You can move the code no problem - and its not the code thats wrong. Its the way VB executes its templates. The template has to be "registered" for use inside another template. From default, the facebook header template that gets called after the VB conditional in header is not registered for use in the navbar template.

You have to create your own addon at template hook "parse_templates" location that fires this code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

that will make the facebook header display in the navbar. So far i haven't needed to modify anything else.

Hope that helps. Any questions, just ask.
i have done that but it does not seem to change anything..

is their another step?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13 Sep 2010, 15:50
themagicm themagicm is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
anyone?

--------------- Added 13 Sep 2010 at 16:16 ---------------

ok guys, got it working with an example here:

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showt...=move+facebook

Last edited by themagicm; 13 Sep 2010 at 16:16. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:21.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: