Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 13 Oct 2018, 19:24
alfuzzy alfuzzy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Most Users Ever Online Statistic.

Anyone know how to reset (if possible) the "Most Users Ever Online Statistic" found in the "What's Going On" area?

Looked in the Admincp area...but couldn't find anything...maybe need to dig deeper.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13 Oct 2018, 19:55
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
I think you'd have to run a query to edit the 'datastore' table. At vBcom, the advice given is to manually run this query:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I have not tested this, so hopefully you have a test installation you can try this with first.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14 Oct 2018, 00:35
alfuzzy alfuzzy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Nice. That certainly looks much more involved than a nice-easy reset button in the admincp (if there was one)!

Thanks MarkFL...appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14 Oct 2018, 19:40
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by alfuzzy View Post
Nice. That certainly looks much more involved than a nice-easy reset button in the admincp (if there was one)!
If there was one that is exactly what it would do - run that same query but with one click.

Easy enough to paste this into ACP/Maintenance/Execute SQL Query/ Manual box and click "Continue."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14 Oct 2018, 20:14
alfuzzy alfuzzy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Originally Posted by Max Taxable View Post
If there was one that is exactly what it would do - run that same query but with one click.

Easy enough to paste this into ACP/Maintenance/Execute SQL Query/ Manual box and click "Continue."
Yes..."Easy Enough" (if someone is used to doing this sort of stuff). But even MarkFL above mentioned..."I have not tested this, so hopefully you have a test installation you can try this with first."

It really would have been great if vBulletin had incorporated a "reset" button in the admincp for that most ever users online statistic.

That statistic can be so easily manipulated...and being able to easily reset it would be handy for when a website is significantly altered...and generating a "new" most users ever stat under the new conditions would be useful.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14 Oct 2018, 20:27
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by alfuzzy View Post
Yes..."Easy Enough" (if someone is used to doing this sort of stuff). But even MarkFL above mentioned..."I have not tested this, so hopefully you have a test installation you can try this with first."

It really would have been great if vBulletin had incorporated a "reset" button in the admincp for that most ever users online statistic.

That statistic can be so easily manipulated...and being able to easily reset it would be handy for when a website is significantly altered...and generating a "new" most users ever stat under the new conditions would be useful.

Thanks
I just ran the manual query I posted above on my local dev site (vB 4.2.5), and it worked without issue.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14 Oct 2018, 20:58
alfuzzy alfuzzy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
I just ran the manual query I posted above on my local dev site (vB 4.2.5), and it worked without issue.
Thank you sir...appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15 Oct 2018, 00:37
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by alfuzzy View Post
Yes..."Easy Enough" (if someone is used to doing this sort of stuff).
I mean, it's quite simple really even if you've never done it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15 Oct 2018, 22:21
alfuzzy alfuzzy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Originally Posted by Max Taxable View Post
I mean, it's quite simple really even if you've never done it.
I get ya on that.

I think that part that had me concerned was with MarkFL's first post in the tread about doing things on a test site...rather than the live site (which could indicate some level of risk).

But then MarkFL said he did it...and things worked fine.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15 Oct 2018, 23:02
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by alfuzzy View Post
I think that part that had me concerned was with MarkFL's first post in the tread about doing things on a test site...rather than the live site (which could indicate some level of risk).
That's pretty much a standard disclaimer, any time anyone with experience is recommending you manually run a db query. Along with either/or, "Make sure you do a backup first!"

Could sound ominous, but really it's not. It's just part of "best practices" not to do stuff like that on your live site without first trying it on a tester. And it's "best practices" to recommend testing first.

You never let us know if you ran the query or not, and if so did it get you where you wanted to be.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16 Oct 2018, 03:55
alfuzzy alfuzzy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Originally Posted by Max Taxable View Post
That's pretty much a standard disclaimer, any time anyone with experience is recommending you manually run a db query. Along with either/or, "Make sure you do a backup first!"

Could sound ominous, but really it's not. It's just part of "best practices" not to do stuff like that on your live site without first trying it on a tester. And it's "best practices" to recommend testing first.
Totally understand the disclaimer aspect. No way 100% of the suggestions will work 100% of the time. And it's the 0.00001% of the time something doesn't work...is when something will come back to bite you in the butt!

Originally Posted by Max Taxable View Post
You never let us know if you ran the query or not, and if so did it get you where you wanted to be.
My main issue is I've had trouble setting up a test site. Tried doing it on my server...and it didn't work out (even with expert help). And tried doing a local test setup using products like XAMPP & MAMP...and couldn't get it to work ether. Setup instructions for XAMPP & MAMP just not detailed enough. I'm sure after I figure out how to do it the first time...it will make total sense.

Just not there yet with the learning curve! lol

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16 Oct 2018, 04:36
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Oh yeah, the first time I set up a local server using xampp it took me hours to get it working. There's definitely a learning curve for all this stuff, but what I lack in expertise I mostly make up with tenacity.

But, once you do get a local server set up it's well worth all the effort. I've got all kinds of forum software now running on it, and it's super nice to have a place to try things out without worrying about destroying a live site.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16 Oct 2018, 06:04
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by alfuzzy View Post
My main issue is I've had trouble setting up a test site.
You can safely run the query. It's been tested. It's only affecting the datastore, there's zero chance it can do any damage. You're good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17 Oct 2018, 10:37
rekha rekha is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
If you have your admincp setup to allow mysql queries, then it is @ admincp -> Maintenance -> Execute SQL Query. Otherwise, you can login to mysql directly or use a mysql frontend (we use Navicat) to run mysql queries.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:42.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: