Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
ZH - Restrict A Browser Details »
ZH - Restrict A Browser
Mod Version: 1.0.0, by Ziki (Coder) Ziki is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.3 Rating: (1 vote - 4.00 average) Installs: 21
Released: 19 Dec 2007 Last Update: Never Downloads: 112
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

This modification was brought to you by
KXDesign
http://www.kxdesign.com/


~Modification name
Restrict A Browser

~Modification description
This plugin restricts a certain browser from accessing your site.When that browser tries to access your site an alert will say that the browser is not supported and will close the window.

~Modification options
  • On/Off
  • Choose Browser type

~Modification info
File uploads: 0
Template edits: 0
Templates: 1
File edits: 0
Plugins: 1
SQL Queries: 0
Phrases: 5
Settings: 2

Install time: 3 sec
Install level: Easy]

~Modification installation

Step 1: Import Product



~Modification screenshots
None


~Modification copyright
This may not be distributed,released or claimed as your work without author's permission.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Board Optimization ZH - Restrict A Browser Ziki vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 27 29 Feb 2008 03:17
ZH - Restrict A Browser Ziki vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 6 05 Dec 2006 15:20

Comments
  #2  
Old 19 Dec 2007, 19:58
Ziki's Avatar
Ziki Ziki is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
~Reserved~
__________________
My free mods~click here
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19 Dec 2007, 20:08
SEOvB's Avatar
SEOvB SEOvB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Jarvis
Instead of closing down the broswer, is it possible it redirects it to a page where you can download the browser at?
__________________
vBulletin Services and vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20 Dec 2007, 09:58
Ba$im Ba$im is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Basim
thanx.
__________________
3walim soft news arcade
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20 Dec 2007, 16:11
cosy cosy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
can we get a option for custom message and a redirect url ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20 Dec 2007, 18:27
TCooper's Avatar
TCooper TCooper is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Repooc
Originally Posted by cosy View Post
can we get a option for custom message and a redirect url ?
it should be pretty easy to redirect to a particular page if needed. You would have to edit his javascript to redirect to url instead of using

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I would try javascripts window location like

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

unless he decides to make it a feature in his hack.
I personally havent tried using this yet or even his hack at that. I will as soon as I get around to upgrading my board but trying to hold of til gold... not wanting to deal with beta version at the moment.
__________________
Trevor C.
Fraggers Forever
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20 Dec 2007, 20:20
360junkie 360junkie is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
umm all they have to to to get by this is click

ok

no

then there on the site
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21 Dec 2007, 15:28
Snake's Avatar
Snake Snake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Real name: Josh
Excellent!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21 Dec 2007, 22:17
ninjamaster's Avatar
ninjamaster ninjamaster is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
thank this will come in handy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25 Jun 2008, 12:29
Kzyl-orda Kzyl-orda is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Nik
Nice, and i installed it, but i can choose just 1 browser, i want to kick both IE and Safari. Can you change it to multiple choise?
I was just able to make safari and IE blocked in the same script, so i'm ok, this is just a suggestion to improve your addon

This is how i modified the code to ban both the browser:
from:
<if condition="$vboptions[zh_restrict_type]==1">
<if condition="is_browser(ie)">
<script type="text/javascript">
alert("Internet Explorer is not welcome here, than your browser type has been blocked from our site. Please a supported one. We suggest you Firefox or Opera")
window.location = "http://www.url.com"
</script>
</if> </if>
To:
<if condition="$vboptions[zh_restrict_type]==1">
<if condition="is_browser(ie)">
<script type="text/javascript">
alert("Your browser type has been blocked from our site.Please a supported one.")
window.location = "http://www.url.com"
</script>
</if>
<if condition="is_browser(safari)">
<script type="text/javascript">
alert("Your browser type has been blocked from our site.Please a supported one.")
window.location = "http://www.url.com"
</script>
</if>
</if>
And
From:
<option value=\"1\" " . iif($setting['value']==1,'selected="selected"') . ">Internet Explorer</option>
To:
<option value=\"1\" " . iif($setting['value']==1,'selected="selected"') . ">Internet Explorer and Safari</option>
Hope it helps

Last edited by Kzyl-orda; 25 Jun 2008 at 13:02.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06 Oct 2008, 01:24
djrapid.com djrapid.com is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Hi, this is a great mod, but i had to change a few things to suit my website needs.
This is what i changed within the xml file (highlighted in red):


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

What do you think?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: