Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
KX - Rename Config File Details »
KX - Rename Config File
Mod Version: 1.0.0, by Ziki (Coder) Ziki is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 51
Released: 14 Dec 2008 Last Update: Never Downloads: 204
Not Supported Code Changes Translations  

This modification was brought to you by
KXDesign
http://www.kxdesign.com/


~Modification name
Rename Config File

~Modification description
This modification allows you to rename or move the config.php file.This is to protect your sensible information and increase the security of your vBulletin board.

The majority of boards get hacked because a hacker uploads a malicious script to get hold of the config.php content.But if you move or rename it,there is no chance that they find out the location of it.

Tips & Tricks:

vBSEO - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...1&postcount=24
Fool Hackers - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...8&postcount=23

~Modification options
None

~Modification info
File uploads: 0
File edits: 1
Templates: 0
Template edits: 0
Plugins: 0
SQL Queries: 0
Phrases: 0
Settings: 0
Hooks: 0

Install time: 1 minute
Install level: Light

~Modification installation

Step 1: Open includes/class_core.php and find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And replace it with:



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Where XXXXX is the relative path to your new config file.It can be, for instance:
admincp/mynewconfig.php or includes/configuration.php .

~Modification screenshots
None


~Modification changelog
  • 1.0.0 - First Release


~Modification copyright
This may not be distributed,released or claimed as your work without author's permission.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Move and or Rename config.php Protoman vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 19 15 Oct 2008 00:47
Move and or Rename config.php Zachery vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 10 25 Apr 2008 08:55

Comments
  #2  
Old 14 Dec 2008, 13:46
Ziki's Avatar
Ziki Ziki is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
~Reserved~
__________________
My free mods~click here
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14 Dec 2008, 23:34
Dr.LoVe Dr.LoVe is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
i don't understand :S
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15 Dec 2008, 00:30
rob01 rob01 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: robert
wow nice work!

this mod is simple -> it will let you change/rename your config file




but if they read this file.. they will find out...

so whats the point?

just asking

Last edited by rob01; 15 Dec 2008 at 01:02.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15 Dec 2008, 00:41
steven s's Avatar
steven s steven s is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Which means each time you upgrade you will need to edit includes/class_core.php before uploading.
__________________
...steven
www.318ti.org
forum.nccbmwcca.org
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15 Dec 2008, 01:47
linhhon2003 linhhon2003 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
If Hacker read files class_core will know the path of the new config files???
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15 Dec 2008, 08:11
Barakat's Avatar
Barakat Barakat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Real name: Barakat
very usefull . thanks
__________________
مسلمـ من أمة محمد ...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15 Dec 2008, 12:53
Ziki's Avatar
Ziki Ziki is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Originally Posted by rob01 View Post
wow nice work!

this mod is simple -> it will let you change/rename your config file




but if they read this file.. they will find out...

so whats the point?

just asking
You can select your own unique name and directory.And hackers usually ignore the class_core.php and it's harder to read that one,because it contains lots of functions and code,wheras the config.php has only comments and a couple of variables which can be called easily.
__________________
My free mods~click here
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17 Dec 2008, 13:20
Golzarion's Avatar
Golzarion Golzarion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Mohsen
I was thinking about encryption of "config.php" codes ... and suddenly I see this mode ...

When the Server has a weak security there is no solution !
but using this mode + encryption can protect your site more . And will make things too hard for hackers.

Thanks Ziki to share your idea . *
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17 Dec 2008, 14:07
mitch84 mitch84 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
nice, thank
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 17 Dec 2008, 16:22
R-D's Avatar
R-D R-D is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
You won't be able to upgrade your forum in future, unless you remember to rename the config.php file back to config.php and overwrite the modified class_core.php file BEFORE proceeding with the upgrade.

Edits to class_core.php should only then be re-applied AFTER the upgrade is complete.


Here's the code in upgradecore.php that would stop you from upgrading until the file exists as "config.php":

Note: You could also change the config.php reference in this file, but you'd have to remember to make that change every time the file is overwritten with the newer version when updating.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17 Dec 2008, 16:28
R-D's Avatar
R-D R-D is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Also, I recommend changing "config.php" to something as obscure as possible, as it's easy to read the contents of a folder in a php file.

Calling it "configuration.php" or "mynewconfig.php", even in another directory, doesn't make it particularly difficult for a hacker to figure out where your config.php has gone, if he wants to hack your site and already has the means to put a malicious file onto your server.

Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18 Dec 2008, 00:46
Bilderback's Avatar
Bilderback Bilderback is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I wonder if you can remove the current working directory and move it above root?
Like outside of public_html/ ?
include('/home/inc/XXXXX');
or
include('../../XXXXX');
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18 Dec 2008, 10:54
Ziki's Avatar
Ziki Ziki is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
No,it has to stay in vBulletin root.
__________________
My free mods~click here
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18 Dec 2008, 20:57
Fungsten Fungsten is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
It didn't work. What I did was made a folder in the root like this: blahblah/blahblah/newconfigfilename.

I came up with an error. Any ideas? TIA.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:34.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: