Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #16  
Old 30 Jul 2011, 19:41
Crotan's Avatar
Crotan Crotan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Originally Posted by extreme-gaming View Post
ok. At least now we know that caching isn't the issue here. Actually... first... I want you to clear your browser cache and try again with those lines removed.
Clearing the cache on IE9 (CTRL-R) and on Firefox 4 had no affect.

So something else is interfering?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 30 Jul 2011, 19:42
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Hi, I managed to login as avalanch on firefox 6 over there and didn't experience those issues.

Just tested with IE9, no problems.

Tested with my vb 4.1.3 boards with no htaccess rules removed. Managed to login fine with IE9 & Firefox. (use firefox all the time anyways lol)

Last edited by final kaoss; 30 Jul 2011 at 19:48.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 30 Jul 2011, 19:51
Crotan's Avatar
Crotan Crotan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Originally Posted by extreme-gaming View Post
Hi, I managed to login as avalanch on firefox 6 over there and didn't experience those issues.
firefox 5? 4?

Hmmm when you login does the login at the top of the page say Welcome Avalanch, and give you the notification, My profile, settings, Logout?

or stay on the Login, username and password box?

After I login with firefox, I get redirected to the page and won't be logged in but If I refresh I will be.

It's a little wonky.

For instance, If I logout on the forums, but then go to the CMS tab, it will display as If I were still logged in
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 30 Jul 2011, 19:56
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Hi, go to http://tinychat.com/avalanch07 and I'll setup a cam so you can check out whats going on with the login on my side using firefox 6 & ie9


------------------------------------

It's been verified on my end (via tinychat) that this is not an issue with any tips that I provided.

Last edited by final kaoss; 30 Jul 2011 at 20:28.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 30 Jul 2011, 20:54
Crotan's Avatar
Crotan Crotan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I had to remove the caching of several elements to get mine to work without causing a wonky logout and login for IE, and Firefox, I'll have to do more extensive troubleshooting to see exactly what it was, and will report later after I narrow it down.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 30 Jul 2011, 20:56
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
It's pretty interesting that it didn't happen on my end, only on yours.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 30 Jul 2011, 21:46
8thos's Avatar
8thos 8thos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Real name: DRE
I've done Step 2 with Cloudflare CDN instead of using supercharged. Supercharged just causes problems.

Do not activate Rocket Load on Cloudflare though.

Step 4 United Forum Sprites actually slowed my site down.

I'll try Step 3 later.


--------------- Added 30 Jul 2011 at 21:51 ---------------

Step 3, you have to create a new domain and cname entry right? That's what page speed and webpagetest.org is telling me. It's telling me to put my whole images folder there.
__________________
www.8thos.com
www.qapla.com
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 30 Jul 2011, 23:43
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Step 3 deals with reducing the total KB of images & what kind of problems did supercharged cause?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 31 Jul 2011, 09:20
eva2000's Avatar
eva2000 eva2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Thought I'd chime in with a note/tip - just be careful when implementing all this solely via .htaccess. If you have VPS or dedicated server you may already have some of the optimisations configured and setup directly via httpd.conf or httpd.conf include files (i.e. in whm/cpanel) which is the more optimal way of implementing these optimisations.

More online tools and tests for you to check your progress posted on my personal blog at http://vbtechsupport.com/388/

HTH

George
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 31 Jul 2011, 16:17
Buray Savas ANI Buray Savas ANI is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Hi, how to use with vbseo?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 31 Jul 2011, 17:36
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I don't have vbseo so I can't inform you much about that.

You will want to use vbseo's friendly url rewriting code in the htaccess instead of the one posted here though. So in your case, copy the contents of the htaccess file into the htaccess that vbseo creates. Remove the following code from it and save. I don't believe vb supercharged plays well with vbseo but I'm not sure.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by final kaoss; 02 Sep 2011 at 02:15.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 31 Jul 2011, 17:45
8thos's Avatar
8thos 8thos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Real name: DRE
How do you prevent static images from using cookies? I keep failing this in webpagetest.org.

Proper cookie usage: 40/100
__________________
www.8thos.com
www.qapla.com

Last edited by 8thos; 01 Aug 2011 at 15:53.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 31 Jul 2011, 17:59
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I believe for that step domain sharding removes the cookies. I'll have to post back after I look it up a bit more.


YSlow recommends:

To work around this problem, make sure that static components are requested with cookie-free requests by creating a subdomain and hosting them there.

If your domain is www.example.org, you can host your static components on static.example.org. However, if you've already set cookies on the top-level domain example.org as opposed to www.example.org, then all the requests to static.example.org will include those cookies.

In this case, you can buy a whole new domain, host your static components there, and keep this domain cookie-free.

Yahoo! uses yimg.com, YouTube uses ytimg.com, Amazon uses images-amazon.com and so on.
http://developer.yahoo.com/performan...ml#cookie_free
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 31 Jul 2011, 21:10
8thos's Avatar
8thos 8thos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Real name: DRE
Originally Posted by extreme-gaming View Post
I believe for that step domain sharding removes the cookies. I'll have to post back after I look it up a bit more.


YSlow recommends:

To work around this problem, make sure that static components are requested with cookie-free requests by creating a subdomain and hosting them there.

If your domain is www.example.org, you can host your static components on static.example.org. However, if you've already set cookies on the top-level domain example.org as opposed to www.example.org, then all the requests to static.example.org will include those cookies.

In this case, you can buy a whole new domain, host your static components there, and keep this domain cookie-free.

Yahoo! uses yimg.com, YouTube uses ytimg.com, Amazon uses images-amazon.com and so on.
http://developer.yahoo.com/performan...ml#cookie_free
Would this work?

Admin CP/Cookies and HTTP Header Options

Path to save cookies / (leave blank)
Cookie Domain (use custom setting) www.the8thlegion.com

Then create CNAME entry A

subdomain: images.the8thlegion.com

Move images folder to images.the8thlegion.com or have the folder redirected to it?
__________________
www.8thos.com
www.qapla.com
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 31 Jul 2011, 23:13
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I believe from what I've been reading is that if your forum is in the root, then it sharding won't work (because the cookies affect any subfolders within, just like a htaccess does to folders if it's set at the root). Cookies will still be delivered. If you make a folder for your forum and move it there to like /forum, then the subdomain sharding would work to prevent cookies.

Last edited by final kaoss; 01 Aug 2011 at 00:30.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Article
Article Author Type Replies Last Post
Mini Mods Use Google Custom Search In Navbar - Step By Step rajubd vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications 104 29 Jul 2017 14:43



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: