Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 04 Apr 2019, 12:31
kether1 kether1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: Kether
Upgraded C-Panel from 65 to 78 and forum is no longer working

Hello,

We upgraded our C-panel software from 65 to 78 and now our VB forum running 4.2.3 Patch Level 1 does not work. (We get an "HTTP ERROR 500" when we try to access the site now.) I'm not sure what to do to get things working again. Please help.

Thank you,
Kether
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04 Apr 2019, 16:53
scottkoz20 scottkoz20 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Real name: Scott
what version of PHP? I would check to see that did not change either
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04 Apr 2019, 16:55
kether1 kether1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: Kether
Hi, thanks for the response. The php version is 5.6.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04 Apr 2019, 17:05
scottkoz20 scottkoz20 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Real name: Scott
sorry - I would need to defer to someone smarter.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04 Apr 2019, 18:41
iA1 iA1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Error 500 is very general and it is not easy to figure out what went wrong. Check your server logs and maybe you get a hint.
__________________
Make your forum mobile friendly and get app-like features:
App-like icon on your smartphone homescreen
Responsive style - for vBulletin 4.2.x as well as vB 3.8.x - Contact for custom work
Push notifications for new replies, likes and PM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04 Apr 2019, 19:02
kether1 kether1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: Kether
Originally Posted by scottkoz20 View Post
sorry - I would need to defer to someone smarter.

Thank you.

Originally Posted by iA1 View Post
Error 500 is very general and it is not easy to figure out what went wrong. Check your server logs and maybe you get a hint.
Will do; I'm not certain what happened. All was working well and then we updated C-panel and the site went down and we get the "Error 500" message.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04 Apr 2019, 20:41
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
It most likely wont show an error, but turn on display_errors in php.ini

/opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/etc/php.ini

sh*t your running LS, do a "locate php.ini" look for LS's php.ini as it uses a different one, dont have a LS server in front of me to chk where it is.

log_errors to syslog

Restart lightspeed

Refresh the site.

Run this cmd from ssh & see if it spits out an error when you refresh
tail -f /var/log/messages

tail -f /var/log/apache2/error_log

tail -f /var/log/apache2/domlogs/domain.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04 Apr 2019, 22:41
kether1 kether1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: Kether
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
It most likely wont show an error, but turn on display_errors in php.ini

/opt/cpanel/ea-php56/root/etc/php.ini

sh*t your running LS, do a "locate php.ini" look for LS's php.ini as it uses a different one, dont have a LS server in front of me to chk where it is.

log_errors to syslog

Restart lightspeed

Refresh the site.

Run this cmd from ssh & see if it spits out an error when you refresh
tail -f /var/log/messages

tail -f /var/log/apache2/error_log

tail -f /var/log/apache2/domlogs/domain.com
Thank you. I am on apache. I did what you suggested and found the error was caused because c-panel removed memcache and turned off ini_set. Once I commented memcache out in the config file and re-enabled ini_set, all is back on and working correctly. I sincerely appreciate your help.

Kind regards,
Kether
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05 Apr 2019, 08:13
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
welcome
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:48.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: