Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
  #1  
Old 27 Mar 2008, 05:39
nyunyu nyunyu is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
xcache or eaccelerator?

Hello, I have a server and I have several proxies on it together with some of my websites.
The thing is sometime it will overload.

I was thinking to install xcache or eaccelerator.

Can you suggest me which should I install? Which is better?

Need expert to help me on this.


Thanks.

Last edited by nyunyu; 27 Mar 2008 at 05:45.
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 27 Mar 2008, 08:50
Lizard King's Avatar
Lizard King Lizard King is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Real name: Mert
I will strongly advise xcache
__________________
Mert G÷kšeimam / Crawlability Inc.

DepKaš | vBSEO 3.3.0 - vBulletin Search Engine Optimisation
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27 Mar 2008, 09:26
nyunyu nyunyu is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Any reason why?

Appreciate if you could be more details of pros and cons.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27 Mar 2008, 12:10
punchbowl punchbowl is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
I use eaccelerator due to an incompatibility between xcache and my php version and it's worth doing but xcache is accepted as faster in general.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27 Mar 2008, 12:33
nyunyu nyunyu is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
I google around and found out that xcache is somewhat faster and works great with ioncube and zend.

I'll try xcache to see how.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27 Mar 2008, 17:10
alphadeity alphadeity is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
xcache, in my opinion, is the better of the two.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27 Mar 2008, 18:22
ssslippy's Avatar
ssslippy ssslippy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
With vb 3.7 or a simple mod here from vb.org you can move vbulletins datastore into xcache. Right there it makes it superior.
__________________
Immortal Guild - My Guilds Website
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29 Mar 2008, 21:52
unitedpunjab's Avatar
unitedpunjab unitedpunjab is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Real name: Dhillon
eAccelerator is better as you can enable/disable it for directories (sites).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29 Mar 2008, 21:58
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I would recommend xCache.

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29 Mar 2008, 22:28
unitedpunjab's Avatar
unitedpunjab unitedpunjab is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Real name: Dhillon
In my case I have a test forum, a blog and few others sites on the same server.
with APC & xCache those scripts ends up taking more memory than the main forums.
I guess the thread starter will have the same problem
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30 Mar 2008, 00:26
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
You are probably better using APC, since that is what PHP 6 will you use.

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30 Mar 2008, 02:02
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
Originally Posted by unitedpunjab View Post
In my case I have a test forum, a blog and few others sites on the same server.
with APC & xCache those scripts ends up taking more memory than the main forums.
I guess the thread starter will have the same problem
Sorry but that is incorrect, you can assign either of those programs the amount of ram you want them to use, they will never use more ram than vbulletin & mysql.

--------------- Added 30 Mar 2008 at 02:04 ---------------

Originally Posted by Jase2 View Post
You are probably better using APC, since that is what PHP 6 will you use.

Regards Jason
How exactly would you know that using apc with php6 is better than using xcache & php 6?

Have you done a performance test on this?

Last edited by snakes1100; 30 Mar 2008 at 02:04. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30 Mar 2008, 02:39
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
No, but it will be used. I'm going off Phillip (creator of storyteller & ContentTeller).

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30 Mar 2008, 05:48
unitedpunjab's Avatar
unitedpunjab unitedpunjab is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Real name: Dhillon
Originally Posted by snakes1100 View Post
Sorry but that is incorrect, you can assign either of those programs the amount of ram you want them to use, they will never use more ram than vbulletin & mysql.
You did,nt get my point.
like How would you prevent compiled files from the 'test forums' to take up 'allocated memory' in APC and EA ?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30 Mar 2008, 15:24
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
The way your previous post is written makes people think that you was talking about xcache & apc, not your other scripts.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:14.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: