Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 25 Jan 2015, 02:21
JohnScag JohnScag is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Slashes automatically appearing before apostrophes

I don't know what this started, but on my forum www.grindfactor.com all the sudden now whenever you type a word with an apostrophe, it comes out with like 3 back slashes before it.

Can someone please help?


Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25 Jan 2015, 02:44
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
Ok lets do this, disable plugins via the includes/config.php file.

To do that open your includes/config.php file and below <?php add the following.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So it looks like this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Use a editor like notepad++ to edit any files, don't use Notepad or Wordpad.

If that fixes the issue enable plugins again by adding // before the line you added, then navigate to ACP --> Plugins & Products --> Manage Products and disable one mod at a time until you find the one causing the issue.

Once you find the culprit, post in that mods thread what the issue is, and maybe someone in that thread can help.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25 Jan 2015, 07:53
JohnScag JohnScag is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
I'm not comfortable messing around with any of the config files and stuff I don't really know what Im doing. But I just straight tried disabling one plugin at a time to see if any were causing the problem and it didn't matter. So if it's not a plugin causing the problem what else could it be?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25 Jan 2015, 09:14
HM666's Avatar
HM666 HM666 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Real name: Len Kaiser
Originally Posted by JohnScag View Post
I'm not comfortable messing around with any of the config files and stuff I don't really know what Im doing. But I just straight tried disabling one plugin at a time to see if any were causing the problem and it didn't matter. So if it's not a plugin causing the problem what else could it be?
It is more and likely a mod that is installed on your forum. Globally disabling the plugins sometimes works better than doing it one by one for some reason. If you are not comfy with that then perhaps you might want to hire someone to help you fix it in the Paid Requests section.

A couple of questions...

1. Has your host made any changes recently to your server or hosting package?
2. What was the last thing you did before this started happening on your forum? Did you install something or make a change etc?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25 Jan 2015, 10:46
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Chris
What vB version and PHP version are you running?
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25 Jan 2015, 11:33
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
I'm not sure how vBulletin handles it, but seems like magicquotes are enabled on your PHP installation.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25 Jan 2015, 13:15
nerbert nerbert is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
^ function vB_Input_Cleaner(), includes/class-core.php, line 1921 seems to deal with that, at least for user inputs ($_REQUEST, etc)

That this is triple escaped suggests preg_quote() is used somewhere. Do you have any complicated custom bbcodes installed?

Last edited by nerbert; 25 Jan 2015 at 13:23.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25 Jan 2015, 18:17
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I just picked a random thread which was started a couple of days ago and I am not seeing this problem with apostophes until January 24. http://www.grindfactor.com/Forum/sho...3400#post23400 So, I would suggest you ask your host what they changed on the site around then. then show them the problem they have caused and they should be able to fix it.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25 Jan 2015, 22:07
JohnScag JohnScag is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
What vB version and PHP version are you running?
VB version 4.2.2 and PHP 5.4.35


And I've had people trying to integrate the site with wordpress maybe that had something to do with it. I don't know. The guy who I hired to do something ended up being horrible so I let him go but he claims he didn't' do anything to the code but it does match up to the 24th when he started.

I have another guy who usually helps but he's busy with a new kid.

Then one of my mods said he started using the site from his laptop and it wasn't doing it anymore for him specifically. But it's still doing it now for everyone else. I just tested it again and same thing.

Can any of you take a look under the hood for me? How much would be an acceptable price to charge to have somebody from here look into this for me?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26 Jan 2015, 00:25
HM666's Avatar
HM666 HM666 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Real name: Len Kaiser
Originally Posted by JohnScag View Post
VB version 4.2.2 and PHP 5.4.35


And I've had people trying to integrate the site with wordpress maybe that had something to do with it. I don't know. The guy who I hired to do something ended up being horrible so I let him go but he claims he didn't' do anything to the code but it does match up to the 24th when he started.

I have another guy who usually helps but he's busy with a new kid.

Then one of my mods said he started using the site from his laptop and it wasn't doing it anymore for him specifically. But it's still doing it now for everyone else. I just tested it again and same thing.

Can any of you take a look under the hood for me? How much would be an acceptable price to charge to have somebody from here look into this for me?
Price depends on the person you hire for obvious reasons you get what you pay for. If you pay someone a low hourly fee be prepared to get ripped off or get someone who does not know what the heck they are doing.

How exactly were they trying to integrate Wordpress into the site? Were they trying to code it themselves? Or were they trying to install an add-on for it? There are actually a couple of add-ons that can be installed to work for Wordpress.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26 Jan 2015, 00:51
nerbert nerbert is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Have you tried

Maintenance > Diagnostics > Suspect File Versions

to test for edited files?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26 Jan 2015, 18:31
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Or look at Maintenance > View PHP Info > what is the Build Date?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PHP Tag Slashes String Parsing Fix Boofo vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 14 16 Jun 2004 07:48



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:24.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: