Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Innovative Google Analytics - Asynchronous Version Details »
Innovative Google Analytics - Asynchronous Version
Mod Version: 1.00, by TheLastSuperman (Senior Moderator) TheLastSuperman is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (37 votes - 4.97 average) Installs: 357
Released: 23 Feb 2011 Last Update: 30 Aug 2013 Downloads: 1526
Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Translations  

This modification automatically adds in your Google Analytics Code (Asynch version) to your forum just before the </head> tag. You enable the modification and set the UA-######-# and that's it!

Please Note: This is the asynchronous version of the google analytics code. It can still be used HOWEVER there is a newer "Universal Analytics" code - this mod does not utilize the new code only the asynch code. Our newer Anayltics mod utilizes the i,s,o,g,r,a,m universal code and can be found here.

What is Google Analytics?
Google Analytics Home

Originally Posted by Google.com
Analytics provides easy to use APIs and SDKs to send data to Google Analytics.

With the collection APIs and SDKs, you can measure how users interact with your content and marketing initiatives. Once implemented, you will be able to view user-interaction data within Google Analytics or through the Reporting APIs.
*This modification is auto-template therefor if enabled the asynch google code will always be there, no need for manual template edits in one or multiple styles as it's handled automatically via a plugin and rendered in all styles!

This modification is similar to BBR's recently retired Google Analytics Modification however it's based on the new asynchronous version of the tracking code and the modification was not too complex so it was easy enough to replicate from scratch using the documentation provided by Google for the new asynchronous version.

Installation:
  • Import the product.
  • AdminCP > Settings > Options > Google Analytics
  • Enable the modification and enter in your UA-######-# account ID number and select other options.
  • Enjoy!

Why are there three versions of this available for download?
  1. product-innovative_google_analytics.xml is the default google analytics code without additional _gaq.push settings. This is perfect for newcomers associating themselves with Google Analytics for the first time.
  2. product-innovative_google_analytics_v2.xml is the default code with option to enable multiple domain tracking. This is perfect for those using multiple domains.
  3. product-innovative_google_analytics_v3.xml is the default code with options to enable multiple domain tracking, disable campaign tracking, and split snippets regarding the code placement. This is the most robust version of the mod available, all additional options can be enabled/disabled in admincp options.

*Version 3 is the most up to date, features cleaned up code using one push instance instead of multiple and contains all features of its two predecessors.

AdminCP > Settings > Options > Google Analytics

You can reference the new code here:
Async Tracking

The Async guide:
Async Guide

Please remove ALL older Google Analytic code and/or modifications before using (if you're installing the new version of this mod _v2 listed below simply choose to overwrite the modification). You can view Google's instructions here with information as to why you should not use two codes as well:
Async Migration Examples

More information for reference:
Async Split Snippets

______________________________________

Multiple Domain Tracking

Tracking Multiple Domains or using subdomains? Install the version product-innovative_google_analytics_v2.xml instead .
Reference:
Tracking Multiple Domains

AdminCP > Settings > Options > Google Analytics > Subdomain Name
Example: .vbulletin.org

*Don't forget to setup filters either pre-defined or custom to differentiate between the different subdomains!
Reference: Eric Mobley Explains Filters

Why is this important?
Hufted explains it here: Why this change is important

Please note: When updating from the normal version to the new _subdomains version it may take upwards of 24hrs before new information is displayed. Please view this page for additional information: Troubleshooting Tracking Issues

You can change the date range in "reports" to "today" to see if it displays new information after updating the modification before it has been 24hrs.
______________________________________

If you like the modification please MARK AS INSTALLED.
*You can note on the top right of the mod description in the side menu, your "Installed" or "Uninstalled" status indicator.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 12 Mar 2011, 00:31
Dr.osamA's Avatar
Dr.osamA Dr.osamA is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Syrie
Real name: Dr.osama
Mr. Michael Miller

forget man
dont need to understand where you coming from

dont know what you looking for, but i care only about the exchange of public benefit that is all

thank you

Dr.Osama Al Saleh
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 16 Mar 2011, 17:34
kpuls kpuls is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Sorry for the total newbie question here, but your instructions mark to "import" the mod. Can you tell me where in vBulleting 4.1.x to do this? Do I just upload the xml file to a specific directory, or...?

Thanks a ton!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 16 Mar 2011, 17:53
Delphiprogrammi Delphiprogrammi is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Erik
Originally Posted by Dr.osamA View Post
Mr. Michael Miller

forget man
dont need to understand where you coming from

dont know what you looking for, but i care only about the exchange of public benefit that is all

thank you

Dr.Osama Al Saleh
allright i'll give it a go.I'm sure the author appriciates translation(s) of his work but as i understand you should not add(or modify existing) code he would credit you for the translation you did however if you add (or modify) the product code i see 2 problems

1) you need permission and it's obvious you didn't ask
2) by modifying the original code you make it harder for the author to provide support

that's all... no need to argue
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 17 Mar 2011, 01:06
Dr.osamA's Avatar
Dr.osamA Dr.osamA is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Syrie
Real name: Dr.osama
Delphiprogrammi

thank you fpr your reply
no argue here
i forget that aswell
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 17 Mar 2011, 05:16
kpuls kpuls is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Originally Posted by kpuls View Post
Sorry for the total newbie question here, but your instructions mark to "import" the mod. Can you tell me where in vBulletin 4.1.x to do this?
Nevermind, guys. I figured out it was under Plugins & Products-->Manage Products-->Add/Import Product
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 26 Apr 2011, 10:56
The Rocketeer's Avatar
The Rocketeer The Rocketeer is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
This was a very easy modification, I have just installed it and placed my UA code, hopefully it'd work just fine thanks
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 23 May 2011, 06:54
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by The Rocketeer View Post
This was a very easy modification, I have just installed it and placed my UA code, hopefully it'd work just fine thanks
Anyone, you can easily verify if installed and enabled by viewing the "source code" of your site .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 31 May 2011, 16:45
Pionex Pionex is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Installed, Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02 Jun 2011, 11:39
Pionex Pionex is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Ive installed this, and ive waited a couple days, not getting any data sent to google....
any ideas on why this is not working for me? my site URL is: www.pvpbay.com
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02 Jun 2011, 11:59
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Could you please explain why it is valuable to install this instead of just having the analytics code in add_footer_end ?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08 Jun 2011, 07:24
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by Pionex View Post
Ive installed this, and ive waited a couple days, not getting any data sent to google....
any ideas on why this is not working for me? my site URL is: www.pvpbay.com
Ensure you have the correct UA# set, I see it in the source code but make sure it matches.

Originally Posted by Alfa1 View Post
Could you please explain why it is valuable to install this instead of just having the analytics code in add_footer_end ?
Recommended from what I read is before </head> and I suppose add_footer_end would work fine as well however...

- One install and updating the UA# once or editing the same template in multiple styles or messing w/ the Ad Manager that seems to have issues on every other site I encounter?
- You can simply disable the mod and no more tracking if you desire and without more edits or removal, then you can easily re-enable at any time.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08 Jun 2011, 07:29
Pionex Pionex is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
there was just a delay of like 48 hours before it started tracking, everything works very well. thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08 Jun 2011, 08:40
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by Pionex View Post
there was just a delay of like 48 hours before it started tracking, everything works very well. thank you.
Ok good to hear and your welcome, enjoy!
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 12 Jul 2011, 19:21
Delfi_r Delfi_r is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I use another tracking provider. They have a code not so different that of Google Analytics. As we are searching the right style, but we need to track access, I would use your mod to manage the data.

It's possible? It's against anything you intended?

I'ts important to use the asyncronous version?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 12 Jul 2011, 19:26
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by Delfi_r View Post
I use another tracking provider. They have a code not so different that of Google Analytics. As we are searching the right style, but we need to track access, I would use your mod to manage the data.

It's possible? It's against anything you intended?

I'ts important to use the asyncronous version?
Who's the provider? Can you link to the info for it? If so I might whip up a new mod as I did here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=265095

That way you could simply install once completed. Let me know and we'll see if it's possible .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:31.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: