Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Innovative Google Analytics - Asynchronous Version Details »
Innovative Google Analytics - Asynchronous Version
Mod Version: 1.00, by TheLastSuperman (Senior Moderator) TheLastSuperman is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (37 votes - 4.97 average) Installs: 357
Released: 23 Feb 2011 Last Update: 30 Aug 2013 Downloads: 1526
Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Translations  

This modification automatically adds in your Google Analytics Code (Asynch version) to your forum just before the </head> tag. You enable the modification and set the UA-######-# and that's it!

Please Note: This is the asynchronous version of the google analytics code. It can still be used HOWEVER there is a newer "Universal Analytics" code - this mod does not utilize the new code only the asynch code. Our newer Anayltics mod utilizes the i,s,o,g,r,a,m universal code and can be found here.

What is Google Analytics?
Google Analytics Home

Originally Posted by Google.com
Analytics provides easy to use APIs and SDKs to send data to Google Analytics.

With the collection APIs and SDKs, you can measure how users interact with your content and marketing initiatives. Once implemented, you will be able to view user-interaction data within Google Analytics or through the Reporting APIs.
*This modification is auto-template therefor if enabled the asynch google code will always be there, no need for manual template edits in one or multiple styles as it's handled automatically via a plugin and rendered in all styles!

This modification is similar to BBR's recently retired Google Analytics Modification however it's based on the new asynchronous version of the tracking code and the modification was not too complex so it was easy enough to replicate from scratch using the documentation provided by Google for the new asynchronous version.

Installation:
  • Import the product.
  • AdminCP > Settings > Options > Google Analytics
  • Enable the modification and enter in your UA-######-# account ID number and select other options.
  • Enjoy!

Why are there three versions of this available for download?
  1. product-innovative_google_analytics.xml is the default google analytics code without additional _gaq.push settings. This is perfect for newcomers associating themselves with Google Analytics for the first time.
  2. product-innovative_google_analytics_v2.xml is the default code with option to enable multiple domain tracking. This is perfect for those using multiple domains.
  3. product-innovative_google_analytics_v3.xml is the default code with options to enable multiple domain tracking, disable campaign tracking, and split snippets regarding the code placement. This is the most robust version of the mod available, all additional options can be enabled/disabled in admincp options.

*Version 3 is the most up to date, features cleaned up code using one push instance instead of multiple and contains all features of its two predecessors.

AdminCP > Settings > Options > Google Analytics

You can reference the new code here:
Async Tracking

The Async guide:
Async Guide

Please remove ALL older Google Analytic code and/or modifications before using (if you're installing the new version of this mod _v2 listed below simply choose to overwrite the modification). You can view Google's instructions here with information as to why you should not use two codes as well:
Async Migration Examples

More information for reference:
Async Split Snippets

______________________________________

Multiple Domain Tracking

Tracking Multiple Domains or using subdomains? Install the version product-innovative_google_analytics_v2.xml instead .
Reference:
Tracking Multiple Domains

AdminCP > Settings > Options > Google Analytics > Subdomain Name
Example: .vbulletin.org

*Don't forget to setup filters either pre-defined or custom to differentiate between the different subdomains!
Reference: Eric Mobley Explains Filters

Why is this important?
Hufted explains it here: Why this change is important

Please note: When updating from the normal version to the new _subdomains version it may take upwards of 24hrs before new information is displayed. Please view this page for additional information: Troubleshooting Tracking Issues

You can change the date range in "reports" to "today" to see if it displays new information after updating the modification before it has been 24hrs.
______________________________________

If you like the modification please MARK AS INSTALLED.
*You can note on the top right of the mod description in the side menu, your "Installed" or "Uninstalled" status indicator.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #46  
Old 22 May 2012, 12:18
ibiz ibiz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Originally Posted by Toorak Times View Post
Does this work on every page on my site or just the landing page?
The code is inserted into the header so yes, every page will be tracked unless you filter otherwise in your Google analytics admin area.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 22 May 2012, 16:20
JabirA JabirA is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Should be default in vBulletin. Installed and voted!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 29 May 2012, 09:06
Thierry Martin Thierry Martin is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
What about Quantcast

Great product! One disappointment though is that I don't see the code in the archives. Would really like to track visitors to that section also.

How about the same kind of plugin for Quantcast? There are plugins for Wordpress that do Quantcast, and it would be great to have that automated.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 29 May 2012, 20:51
The Rocketeer's Avatar
The Rocketeer The Rocketeer is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
wanted to ask, does google analytic's slows down your website or its loading time? currently have it disabled.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 30 May 2012, 20:24
MSALEH's Avatar
MSALEH MSALEH is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Real name: saleh
Lightbulb

Originally Posted by Thierry Martin View Post
Great product! One disappointment though is that I don't see the code in the archives. Would really like to track visitors to that section also.

How about the same kind of plugin for Quantcast? There are plugins for Wordpress that do Quantcast, and it would be great to have that automated.
The same request
Does not work on Archive
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 21 Jun 2012, 04:59
sureshbale sureshbale is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Does it works with 4.2?
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 21 Jun 2012, 07:36
Crotan's Avatar
Crotan Crotan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Originally Posted by sureshbale View Post
Does it works with 4.2?
apart from the noted not inserting the google analysics code in the achieves, yes it does
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 05 Aug 2012, 00:51
GONUMBER6's Avatar
GONUMBER6 GONUMBER6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Real name: Lisa
Thanks, awesome mod
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 07 Aug 2012, 19:02
EliasAlucard's Avatar
EliasAlucard EliasAlucard is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Excellent plugin, installed. Would be great if you could expand this plugin and include other similar webstat sites, like Statcounter and so on.
__________________
“Human beings are animals: very unusual animals, to be sure, but nevertheless animals. In origin, we are not fallen angels, but apes arisen.” — Michael H. Hart

UADisplay for the nerds among us who care about browser wars!
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 07 Aug 2012, 19:10
bzcomputers's Avatar
bzcomputers bzcomputers is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Is there any benefit to this product versus this one:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=270312
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 07 Aug 2012, 20:27
Crotan's Avatar
Crotan Crotan is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Originally Posted by bzcomputers View Post
Is there any benefit to this product versus this one:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=270312
No, but they have the additional instruction telling you how to help google pickup on your internal vbulletin searches which this mod doesn't layout

Important - In order for site search tracking to work, log into your Google Analytics account and edit your site profile. On the Profile Settings tab, set the Site Search Settings to track, with the query parameter set to "keywords" (without quotes).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 20 Dec 2012, 19:59
Big Terry Big Terry is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
OK so I installed as instructed, and wind up with this site-wide error-

"Parse error: syntax error, unexpected ']' in /home/combomtb/public_html/includes/functions.php(7764) : eval()'d code on line 5"

Im no guru but I have perused the xml as best I can, and cannot find an extra ] anywhere. Ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 15 Mar 2013, 08:14
penguinboy888 penguinboy888 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I created a new account but the Google code is 8 characters in stead of 6. ( XXXXXXXX-1 ) Will this take a few days to show up in my Analytics account? It been around 6 hours now and I don't see anything.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 15 Mar 2013, 19:00
fxdigi-cash fxdigi-cash is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
usually it takes 24hs at max, but google rep stated that it may work and completely verified after 48 hrs at max.... so just wait 2 days and see how things work with you. Make sure that you get your sites verified because that is the most important step.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 18 Mar 2013, 04:28
penguinboy888 penguinboy888 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Working

Yes it's working just too a few days to show up. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:02.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: