Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 18 Sep 2012, 16:59
ChiNa ChiNa is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Real name: CM
Lightbulb vB Optimise - Does it really Helps?

about: [DBTech] vB Optimise v2 (vB3)
Thread URL: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=284817

Hi everyone, well I was reading about this product called [DBTech] vB Optimise v2. Befor I install it, I wanted to ask for some extra info and maybe some professional advice! I really dont wanna ruin my database by moving my avatars to a folder instead, because I have plans to move from vB3.8 to vB4 very soon,,

But if some of you have experience with this product, please let me know! I would def need some advice about it
And I am just thinking, will this really help my forums performance..

By the way I do have lots of images and costum css on my forum!

Thank you very much in advance!
__________________
I am having a little break from vB Developing. I am trying to finish my PHP and MYSQL courses for now. I will answer all my PM's if anyone needed help for my products, but only when I can be online on vB.org. Its great to see new and old developers keeping vB.org alive! Thank you all for your support!CM

Last edited by ChiNa; 18 Sep 2012 at 19:25.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18 Sep 2012, 19:07
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
You will NOT ruin images by storing them in the file system.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18 Sep 2012, 19:20
ChiNa ChiNa is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Real name: CM
Well Ofcourse I know that wont be ruined like that.. But my bad, I think I explained it kinda wrong. I have now edited it again..

Its about ruining my Database Structure.. The Product asks to move the Images from my Database Structure to a folder for be able to cache them, instead of having it in Database,,

And now I have to move to vb4 very soon! To be able to upgrade to vB4 I have to remove all the products because they wont work on vB4, and there goes vBOPTIMISE,,, and here is the problem now.. When I move to vB4, then my images from the vBoptimise product are in the folder now.. And a VB4 upgrade will only read the images stored in the database and not from the folder... and thats what I mean by ruining my images... (IMAGES STORED IN DATABASE )

Thanks for your response anyways
__________________
I am having a little break from vB Developing. I am trying to finish my PHP and MYSQL courses for now. I will answer all my PM's if anyone needed help for my products, but only when I can be online on vB.org. Its great to see new and old developers keeping vB.org alive! Thank you all for your support!CM

Last edited by ChiNa; 18 Sep 2012 at 19:25.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18 Sep 2012, 22:34
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
You do NOT have to uninstall your hacks, you simply need to disable the product system via config.php

The images are NOT stored in vboptimise, i think you should read what vboptimise is saying, its not what your interpreting it to be.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19 Sep 2012, 07:41
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
As an added note vbOptimise exists for vb4!!!!
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=284816
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20 Sep 2012, 01:00
BSMedia BSMedia is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by ChiNa-Man View Post
Well Ofcourse I know that wont be ruined like that.. But my bad, I think I explained it kinda wrong. I have now edited it again..

Its about ruining my Database Structure.. The Product asks to move the Images from my Database Structure to a folder for be able to cache them, instead of having it in Database,,

And now I have to move to vb4 very soon! To be able to upgrade to vB4 I have to remove all the products because they wont work on vB4, and there goes vBOPTIMISE,,, and here is the problem now.. When I move to vB4, then my images from the vBoptimise product are in the folder now.. And a VB4 upgrade will only read the images stored in the database and not from the folder... and thats what I mean by ruining my images... (IMAGES STORED IN DATABASE )

Thanks for your response anyways
Is there any reason you're storing images in your database to begin with?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20 Sep 2012, 18:37
ChiNa ChiNa is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Real name: CM
It is fixed, It was not working on my version very well when I Installed it, And later found out that it was because I was running another Optmise system!

So I had to uninstall the other one, to Install this vBOptimise..

Thanks for your answeres ! Appreciate it
__________________
I am having a little break from vB Developing. I am trying to finish my PHP and MYSQL courses for now. I will answer all my PM's if anyone needed help for my products, but only when I can be online on vB.org. Its great to see new and old developers keeping vB.org alive! Thank you all for your support!CM
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22 Sep 2012, 15:19
eva2000's Avatar
eva2000 eva2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
yes it helps ALOT http://vbtechsupport.com/1526/
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23 Sep 2012, 00:19
ChiNa ChiNa is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Real name: CM
Thank you so much, I was kinda lost about it! But does the LITE also work good too, befor I will try the pro! I am using a vB3.8, so Will I have good chances to run this on my board!

2 Simple Questions:

1: If I decided to uninstall it. Is there anything I should be noticed about? Should I do any other changes on my board?

2: And for us normal vBulletin users with no XCACHE, what should we then use from the options in VBOPTIMISE?

And BTW, No one of the other comments could actually give me an exact answer, beside yours!

Thanks a lot and I really appreciate your link with good info!
__________________
I am having a little break from vB Developing. I am trying to finish my PHP and MYSQL courses for now. I will answer all my PM's if anyone needed help for my products, but only when I can be online on vB.org. Its great to see new and old developers keeping vB.org alive! Thank you all for your support!CM

Last edited by ChiNa; 23 Sep 2012 at 00:27.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23 Sep 2012, 04:59
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
Use the LITE and set it to filecache!
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23 Sep 2012, 18:14
ChiNa ChiNa is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Real name: CM
Thank you very much Simon.... Did help actually on my querie counts...

Appreciate it Simon and George/Eva2000
__________________
I am having a little break from vB Developing. I am trying to finish my PHP and MYSQL courses for now. I will answer all my PM's if anyone needed help for my products, but only when I can be online on vB.org. Its great to see new and old developers keeping vB.org alive! Thank you all for your support!CM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Board Optimization [DBTech] vB Optimise v2 (vB4) DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 276 27 Jan 2019 09:19
Board Optimization [DBTech] vB Optimise v2 (vB3) DragonByte Tech vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 86 11 Jan 2018 15:19



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:23.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: