Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Quote Post in PM Details »
Quote Post in PM
Mod Version: 4.2.107, by Makc666 (Member) Makc666 is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (16 votes - 4.88 average) Installs: 123
Released: 02 Mar 2010 Last Update: 13 Dec 2012 Downloads: 507
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Translations  

Quote Post in PM

=================
Info:
=================


This product adds a new option in user's popup menu "Quote this post in PM" with the new URL having the title attribute "Quote this post in PM to *username*".
This option passes to new personal message (PM): post's text, username of the post, post id, as well as the post title (if there is one), or thread title (if there is no post title).
It can also add image-link to 'postbit' and 'postbit_legacy' templates.
And even replace in popup menu the URL and the phrase for option "Private Message" with its own URL and phrase.

Futures of this hack:
  • There is option to enable/disable hack.
  • The hack is fully translatable.
  • The hack can update popup menu automatically using hook $template_hook[memberaction_dropdown_items]. You can disable this one.
  • The hack can update 'postbit' and 'postbit_legacy' templates automatically using hook $template_hook[postbit_controls]. You can disable this one.
  • The hack can replace in popup menu the URL and/or the phrase for "Private Message" option with its own URL and/or phrase.
  • The hack uses its own template "qpipm_quote". You can change it as you like. The variables: "$originalposterandpostid", "$originalposter", "$originalpostid" and "$pagetext" can be used in that template.
  • There is option "Automatically Quote Post / Thread Title". Setting this to "Yes" will automatically fill the title of new PM with either the thread or the parent post title, prefixed by 'Re: '.
  • You can change 'Re: ' for both threads' and posts' PMs. Search for phrases 'qpipm_re_thread' and 'qpipm_re_post'.
  • You can insert the template of this hack manually anywhere you want in user's popup menu by using "{vb:raw qpipm}". Read "Notes:" below.
  • You can insert the template of this hack manually anywhere you want in postbit by using "{vb:raw qpipm_postbit}". Read "Notes:" below.
  • You can translate this hack into your native language. Search for Phrases Containing "qpipm_".
  • You can set your own PM's title for both threads' and posts' PMs. Search for phrases 'qpipm_own_title_thread' and 'qpipm_own_title_post'.
  • Option "Use Post's Number in PM's Title". Setting this to "Yes" will use post's number instead of thread's or post's title in PM's title field where available.
  • Option "Use Thread's Title even if there is Post's Title". Setting this to "Yes" will always fill the new PM's title field with thread's title, even if there is post's title.
  • Option "Trim Post's Text" allows you to trim the post's text been quoted to new PM.
  • And other great options.

Use this version only with vBulletin 4.2.0 or greater.

For vBulletin 4.0.* or 4.1.* use version 4.0.106 which have the same functionality.


Enjoy!

=================
Installation:
=================


Install the product

=================
Administration:
=================


To set up the products options go to: AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Quote Post in PM
Make translation of phrases containing "qpipm_"

=================
Greetings:
=================


A special thanks goes out to Dismounted for helping me with hook $template_hook[postbit_user_popup] problems. (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=150769)
Thanks go to Abe1 for his comments. (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=150769)
Thanks goes to amykhar for his original 'Quote Post in PM' hack idea.
Thanks goes to cellarius for his how to thread. (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=228078)

=================
Notes:
=================


Please, read Read_Me - About.txt file inside archive!

=================
History:
=================



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

=================
How to Update:
=================


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

=================
Mark as Installed:
=================


Click Mark as Installed to get an email when an update is released!

=================
Other versions of modification:
=================

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Quote_Post_in_PM_01.png
Views:	858
Size:	50.5 KB
ID:	113403   Click image for larger version

Name:	Quote_Post_in_PM_02.png
Views:	642
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	113404   Click image for larger version

Name:	Quote_Post_in_PM_03.png
Views:	627
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	113405   Click image for larger version

Name:	Quote_Post_in_PM_04-1.jpg
Views:	280
Size:	115.0 KB
ID:	113533  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Quote_Post_in_PM_04-2.png
Views:	268
Size:	75.7 KB
ID:	113534  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks TW7S - Remove "Reply with Quote" and Multi-Quote from first post in thread LifesGreatestGift vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications 36 28 Nov 2016 15:12
Private Messages Enhancements Quote Post in PM Makc666 vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 48 09 Mar 2009 11:40

  #46  
Old 19 Jan 2011, 18:08
LVGgebruiker LVGgebruiker is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Nice mod, thank you for it. Have installed it on 4.1.1
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 21 Mar 2011, 19:38
Eq4bits Eq4bits is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Is this working on 4.1.2?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 25 Mar 2011, 13:40
Makc666's Avatar
Makc666 Makc666 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Maxim
Originally Posted by Eq4bits View Post
Is this working on 4.1.2?
Yes, it does.

Why it doesn't have to work?
__________________
...... ...... "А стукачков мы не любим!"
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 21:24
Rofo Rofo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks, this is nice mod. I have done the template edits manually and also tried again with the auto template change with fresh upload. I have the "Quote post" under the username, but can't get the button. I saw there was a issue a page or two back, but Hippy said it was resolved. Anyone else having this issue again or do I need to go try again?

Thanks again, very nice mod! Marked Installed and rated
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 21:38
Hippy's Avatar
Hippy Hippy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
I would convert all templates you edited back ..
make sure all the templates for the mod are converted back..
re install the xml. allow overwrite..

(I scratch my head)

still working with the latest..

as far as I know..

Last edited by Hippy; 05 Apr 2011 at 21:43. Reason: edited,, didn't realize what mod this was LOL
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 21:55
Rofo Rofo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
LOL. I'll try that, Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 21:57
Hippy's Avatar
Hippy Hippy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
are you looking here
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attac...3&d=1267544298
or here ?

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attac...4&d=1267544298

becasue the last one I don't use ..
and never tested it..
but the first screen shot works..
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 22:06
Rofo Rofo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by Hippy View Post
are you looking here
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attac...3&d=1267544298
or here ?

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attac...4&d=1267544298

becasue the last one I don't use ..
and never tested it..
but the first screen shot works..
Yea, I have the first screen shot working great. I guess I thought the button was also suppose to appear. Thinking about it now, I suppose that would be redundant.

Thanks again, Mod working great on 4.1.1
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 07 Apr 2011, 23:23
Makc666's Avatar
Makc666 Makc666 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Maxim
Originally Posted by Rofo View Post
Yea, I have the first screen shot working great. I guess I thought the button was also suppose to appear. Thinking about it now, I suppose that would be redundant.

Thanks again, Mod working great on 4.1.1
Button will appear automatically if you will set it on in add-on's settings and if use default theme or your theme has template's hook 'postbit_controls' in place.
  • Admin CP -> Settings -> Options -> Quote Post in PM
  • Update Postbit Automatically -> Yes
__________________
...... ...... "А стукачков мы не любим!"
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 27 Jan 2012, 21:26
[email protected] ss@solidsignal is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
I'm sure I'm doing something wrong. This is a brand new vbulletin 4.1.10 install and the popup works but the button does not. I did set update postbit automatically to "Yes."
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 27 Jan 2012, 21:55
[email protected] ss@solidsignal is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Figured it out... the plugin was asking for an image called "sendtofriend.gif" and I hadn't added it to the images folder. Duh.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 13 Apr 2012, 08:08
mgurain's Avatar
mgurain mgurain is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Mohammed Al-Gurain
This works in 4.1.12, but is it fully compatible with latest version ?
Last Update: 28 Dec 2010,
it should be updated for latest version please,,

Thanks,,
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 15 Apr 2012, 00:40
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Just to explain something.

If it works, it works. Some mods can work for years to come. I'm using mods that were made for vB3.6, or maybe even earlier. Thing is, PHP (plugins) usually can work. Things that don't work are templates.

So, depending on how complicated php code is and what it does, it can work for years.

Only thing is if you need new features, in that case it needs to programed in.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 15 Apr 2012, 15:55
mgurain's Avatar
mgurain mgurain is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Mohammed Al-Gurain
Ok, coder can just update latest version it's compatible with then, so that every body know ,,
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 17 Apr 2012, 12:37
Makc666's Avatar
Makc666 Makc666 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Maxim
Originally Posted by mgurain View Post
Ok, coder can just update latest version it's compatible with then, so that every body know ,,
Why I have to update the version?
Not all people use latest 4.1.*

There is a note in the first post:
Use this version only with vBulletin 4.0.2 or greater.
__________________
...... ...... "А стукачков мы не любим!"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:38.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: