Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
CinVin vB Forum Feed Listing Details »
CinVin vB Forum Feed Listing
Mod Version: 2.3.0, by KW802 (Coder) KW802 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (22 votes - 4.59 average) Installs: 330
Released: 06 Dec 2006 Last Update: 07 Nov 2007 Downloads: 1774
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files  

[ BY REQUEST ]

This nifty little utility will present a list of all of your forums RSS feeds on one page! Your users can then easily pick & choose which forums they want to subscribe to via RSS, Google, Yahoo, or Bloglines.

Ever go to a big site like CNN and view their page of RSS feeds that you can subscribe to? This is the same thing but for your vBulletin forums!

In addition to your users, the search engine spiders will love this!

We went out of our way to make sure that this CinVin vBulletin add-on was quick & easy to both install and modify!
  • Automatically adds an RSS button to your footer template.
  • Correctly shows where your visitors are when viewing the Who's Online page.
  • Forums can be specifically excluded from being listed.
  • Ability to specify which usergroup to use for permissions when viewing the list of forums.
  • "Link" forums can be turned off from showing.
  • All options are configured through the vBulletin ACP.
  • All descriptions and names are completely phrased so you can quickly add alternate lanquages or change the existing wording.
  • All display output is handled through vBulletin templates so you can quickly change the output appearance.
  • All templates and phrase are installed as a vBulletin product through your ACP which means there are no file edits!
  • Compatible with vBSEO.
  • Easy integration with vBadvanced CMPS.
  • Debug mode to help you with any problems you may be having.
Installation only take a few moments...
  • Unzip the .zip file that you downloaded.
  • Upload the single PHP file and single folder in the upload_to_your_forum_folder folder from the download to your forums folder.
  • Go into your ACP and select Plugins & Products => Manage Products => Add/Import Product => {Select the CinVin_vB_Forum_Feed_Listing.xml file from the download} => Import
You're all done! Just point your browser to http://www.yoursite.com/forums/cv_rss_feeds.php to view your new RSS feed listings.

DEMO #1: CinVin RSS Feeds (this is the 'stock' version)

DEMO #2: Cool Sci-Fi RSS Feeds (this one has been integrated with vBa CMPS)


FAQ's
- What vB versions? This should work with all versions of vB 3.6.x and above. It should also work with vB 3.5.x but I have not tested it on that version.

- Can I remove the "CinVin" text at the very bottom? NO! Believe it or not that little text is what allows us to work on hacks like this for free and, more importantly, to continue to support them. You are free to move the notice to your footer template, for example, if you would like to keep your notices all together but for removing it entirely a Branding Free license is available through CinVin.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
CinVin Emotional -- Forum Style & ACP Style KW802 vBulletin 3.5 Styles 8 28 Aug 2006 06:50
CinVin Emotional (Forum Style & ACP Style) KW802 vBulletin 3.6 Styles 13 21 Aug 2006 14:06

  #91  
Old 09 Dec 2006, 17:52
iardon's Avatar
iardon iardon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Question

Originally Posted by KW802 View Post
There is a branding free option available through CinVin for those that wish to remove it entirely like you did. People are also free to move it into their footer template to keep all of their copyrights & various notices together in one place.
Sorry about that, I just found the phrase myself and edited it. Didn't think it would be an issue so that's why I edited my post here.

What's the branding free option?
__________________
DMCTalk.com - A DeLorean Community.

Last edited by iardon; 09 Dec 2006 at 18:53.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 09 Dec 2006, 19:37
JD45 JD45 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Originally Posted by JD45 View Post
done, its odd how some show and some dont. I know certain forums have activity and they're showing blank?

bump
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 09 Dec 2006, 20:28
Kihon Kata's Avatar
Kihon Kata Kihon Kata is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Ok, I did what you said, hit me on MSN. Thanks for your time again.
Originally Posted by KW802 View Post
I've only got a few minutes but in short... with version 1.0.2 I added a debug option to help figure out problems like this one. Completely uninstall the version you're running (delete the PHP file and then in the ACP choose Plugins & Products => Manage Products => CinVin Forum Feed Listing => Uninstall) and then install a fresh copy of the 1.0.2 package. After that modify the cv_rss_feeds.php and look for...
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

... and change it to:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

After that run it again to see if any message are displayed (would be at the top of your screen before your vB output). I'll try to catch you on IM again ASAP.
__________________
3MultiMedia.com - Simple, Effective CMS WebDesign
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 09 Dec 2006, 21:07
pedrambayat pedrambayat is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 09 Dec 2006, 22:16
abramelin's Avatar
abramelin abramelin is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Originally Posted by KW802 View Post
I've only got a few minutes but in short... with version 1.0.2 I added a debug option to help figure out problems like this one. Completely uninstall the version you're running (delete the PHP file and then in the ACP choose Plugins & Products => Manage Products => CinVin Forum Feed Listing => Uninstall) and then install a fresh copy of the 1.0.2 package. After that modify the cv_rss_feeds.php and look for...
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

... and change it to:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

After that run it again to see if any message are displayed (would be at the top of your screen before your vB output). I'll try to catch you on IM again ASAP.

It makes life easier and most sites just have a simple "RSS" link or button at the bottom. I am a bit disheartened, though, that you went ahead and removed the tiny little CinVin text at the bottom of the screen and replaced it with your own rather than waiting for my answer to your original question last night. There is a branding free option available through CinVin for those that wish to remove it entirely like you did. People are also free to move it into their footer template to keep all of their copyrights & various notices together in one place.

I'll have to check out your site a little bit later when I have more time. What version of the package are you using and did you import the XML into your Product Manager?
i am using the last version and yes, of course i imported the xml
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 10 Dec 2006, 18:02
meera meera is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
hello..


Is there way create to use rss.xml for each forum?
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 10 Dec 2006, 19:37
SaN-DeeP's Avatar
SaN-DeeP SaN-DeeP is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
wonderful stuff, I would however wish to rename the file to rss.php for ease.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 10 Dec 2006, 21:13
KW802's Avatar
KW802 KW802 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by abramelin View Post
i am using the last version and yes, of course i imported the xml
Please turn on the "debug" option and let me know what messages are shown.

Originally Posted by meera View Post
hello..

Is there way create to use rss.xml for each forum?
Sorry, but I'm not sure what you mean by "rss.xml" -- Do you want to use XML instead or RSS or offer feeds for both or... ?

Originally Posted by SaN-DeeP View Post
wonderful stuff, I would however wish to rename the file to rss.php for ease.
Sure, that'd be no problem. But if you do that you will also need to change the file name in the plugin ACP => Plugins & Products => Plugin Manager => CinVin Forum Feed Listing => Who's Online (Part 1) so that the Who's Online page doesn't break. I'll put it on the To Do list to make it easier to change the file name (most likely I'll create a new option in the ACP instead of having to modify the plugin directly).
__________________
Sci-Fi Forum / The Walking Dead & Horror Forum / CinVin

(Sorry, but I am no longer developing for vB; please do not PM. So long, and thanks for all the fish.)
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 10 Dec 2006, 21:25
abramelin's Avatar
abramelin abramelin is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
before using this mod. do we have to set rss or xml feed for each forum? if yes, how?
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 10 Dec 2006, 23:52
chorton chorton is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
I installed this latest version on my site http://www.versionist.com/cv_rss_feeds.php

debug mode set to "1" and this is the error i get DEBUG MODE IS TURNED ON! Not much help there

I do not have this installed in a http://www.versionist.com/forums directory.

The urls for the links are a bit messed up. I am running vbseo.
External php does appear to work
http://www.versionist.com/external.php

http://www.versionist.com/<!--%20BEGIN%20TEMPLATE:%20cv_ffl_forum_feed_link%20-->%20http://www.versionist.com/external.php
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 11 Dec 2006, 00:34
KW802's Avatar
KW802 KW802 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by abramelin View Post
before using this mod. do we have to set rss or xml feed for each forum? if yes, how?
ACP => vBulletin Options => External Data Provider => Enable RSS Syndication

Originally Posted by chorton View Post
... debug mode set to "1" and this is the error i get DEBUG MODE IS TURNED ON! Not much help there ...
The debug mode is really meant for helping to see why a forum is not being listed, not for a forum being listed but with a bad URL.
Originally Posted by chorton View Post
The urls for the links are a bit messed up. I am running vbseo.
I have to get my test site with vBSEO on it up updated to test it on. I haven't played with vBSEO for some time so off the top of my head I'm not sure why you'd be seeing the template names like that instead of the link.
__________________
Sci-Fi Forum / The Walking Dead & Horror Forum / CinVin

(Sorry, but I am no longer developing for vB; please do not PM. So long, and thanks for all the fish.)
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 11 Dec 2006, 16:14
JD45 JD45 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Some forums have activity and they're still showing blank?
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 11 Dec 2006, 16:19
KW802's Avatar
KW802 KW802 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by JD45 View Post
Some forums have activity and they're still showing blank?
Give an explicit example.

(Also, remember, the blank screen is related to what the stock "external.php" script is doing, not this hack. )
__________________
Sci-Fi Forum / The Walking Dead & Horror Forum / CinVin

(Sorry, but I am no longer developing for vB; please do not PM. So long, and thanks for all the fish.)
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 11 Dec 2006, 17:05
Kihon Kata's Avatar
Kihon Kata Kihon Kata is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Didja forget me?
__________________
3MultiMedia.com - Simple, Effective CMS WebDesign
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 11 Dec 2006, 21:59
JD45 JD45 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Originally Posted by KW802 View Post
Give an explicit example.

(Also, remember, the blank screen is related to what the stock "external.php" script is doing, not this hack. )

Like my admin area. I KNOW there are posts there, but the page is showing up blank still.

But General Chat is showing up just fine....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: