Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 14 Jun 2012, 10:31
vithorius's Avatar
vithorius vithorius is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Question How to allow only ONE MEMBER to START THREADS on ONE of my sub forums?

Hi! (sorry for my poor english as it is not my main language...)


How do I set only ONE MEMBER (coule change in the future) to be able to START THREADS on a forum?


I have THREE Sub-forums on one of my many categories and I want to set only ONE MEMBER per EACH of the three sub-forums to be able to start threads...


How do I do it?


Thank you so very much.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14 Jun 2012, 11:04
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
I haven't tried it, but I think this will work:

1) In the Usergroup Manager, create 3 new groups "based off of Registered Users", one for each of the forums. You don't need to change any of the permissions.

2) In Usergroups > Forum Permissions, for each forum where you want to control thread creation, click edit next to "Registered Users" and set "Can Post Threads" to No. Also do this for any other usergroups that shoudn't be able to create threads there.

3) Also in Usergroups > Forum Permissions, for each of your 3 forums, click the "Edit" link next to the usergroup you created for that forum, and set "Can Post Threads" to Yes.

4) In Users > Search for Users, find the "thread creating" user for each forum, and add the new usergroup for that forum to the user by clicking the check box in the "Additional Usergroups" section.

The result will be that 3 users will each have 1 secondary usergroup that allows them to create threads in one forum.

There may be a way to do this using access masks so that you wouldn't need the new usergroups, but I'd have to test that to know if it would work.

Last edited by kh99; 14 Jun 2012 at 11:10. Reason: modified because I realized you have other forums...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14 Jun 2012, 15:08
vithorius's Avatar
vithorius vithorius is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Unhappy

Thank you so very much for your help kh99!

Unfortunately, I forgot to say that I would not want to create a new usergroup for each user, just as you said:

Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
There may be a way to do this using access masks so that you wouldn't need the new usergroups, but I'd have to test that to know if it would work.



There might be a way to do it without creating new user groups?

Who has a clue?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14 Jun 2012, 16:44
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
I don't have time to try it right now, but what I was thinking was just to set "Can Post Threads" to No like i mentioned, then find (in the user manager) the user you want to grant permission to and choose "Edit Forum Permissions (Access Mask)" from the Quick User Links dropdown, and select "Yes" next to the forum where you want that user to be able to create threads. I really don't know if it will work or not. If it doesn't, then you may be stuck with usergroups or else writing a custom plugin.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14 Jun 2012, 21:36
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
How many users? if it's only one or two then wrap the "New Thread" code in conditionals like this
find in forumdisplay
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and replace with

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I assume this is vb4?
EDIT: Never mind, i should learn to read, code now adjusted for vb3
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!

Last edited by Simon Lloyd; 14 Jun 2012 at 21:43.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15 Jun 2012, 11:57
vithorius's Avatar
vithorius vithorius is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Talking

Wow dear Simon Lloyd! Thank you so very much. Will try it as soon as I get home...

I I want to allow "USER A" inside ONLY "FORUM 1", and then "USER B" ONLY inside "FORUM 2", I must use 2 (two) conditionals (one for each forum?) and probably should not use the array?


Hummm... Sorry, (I'm not a good programmer) bu the array will do it for me, in the next 'IF', right?

Or should I use another 'IF' to try to make a third conditional (for "USER C")?


Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26 Jul 2012, 09:12
vithorius's Avatar
vithorius vithorius is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Any programmer out there to give a little help, please?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26 Jul 2012, 13:52
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
Just repeat the IF statements for each forumid!
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26 Jul 2012, 15:03
vithorius's Avatar
vithorius vithorius is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Thank You!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: