Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

View Poll Results: How many servers?
1 server 149 58.89%
2 servers 44 17.39%
3 servers 16 6.32%
4 servers 5 1.98%
5+ servers 39 15.42%
Voters: 253. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Mod Options
  #31  
Old 27 Jul 2006, 06:51
Farjad Farjad is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Farjad
I'm in the process of moving to 2 servers.. but really unsure how to do it.. Anyways currently on 1 server
Dual Xeon 3.2Ghz
2GB Ram
2x73GB SCSI HDD

If anyone can tell me how to seperate the apache & mysql to 2 different servers, i will be very thankful
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 27 Jul 2006, 12:01
Dark Zero's Avatar
Dark Zero Dark Zero is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
now i have a "simple" server for my forum
p4 2.8 ghz, 1gb ram, 120gb hd with 1.1 millon post, 8k users and average of 60 users online :P
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05 Aug 2006, 03:45
Troy Roberts Troy Roberts is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Over 5.

I have a cluster setup, an image server and a db server.

All of my sites are hosted on them. Serve up over 20GB per second in bandwidth. They seem to be holding up well for the most part. At least it's easy to plug in more power.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09 Aug 2006, 08:14
precharge precharge is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by BigSoccer Tech.
4x Web servers: Intel Dual Xeon 2.8 GHz, 2 GB Ram, 2 X 80 GB with Raid 1
3x DB servers: Intel Dual Xeon 2.8 GHz, 8 GB Ram, 3 X 73 GB SCSI U320 10K
1x db server: dual P4 for backups
RPM with Raid 5
2x Load balancers: Dual P4 3.0 ghz, 1gb Ram

Apache/Linux
PHP 4.4.1
MySQL 4.0.24
What do you use for load bancing the db server?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09 Aug 2006, 20:13
jason|xoxide jason|xoxide is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Jason Litka
At this point, we've got 1 server but I'm looking into moving to multiple or to one larger box because we're having real problems with table locking during searches.

The current hardware is Dual 2.8GHz Xeon CPUs, 4GB of RAM and (3) 73GB SCSI drives in RAID5. The biggest board on this box has 3M posts, 370K threads, and 53K members. There are generally 250-300 concurrent users during the day and ~400 in the evenings (default cookie timeout).

I'm considering moving to a Dual, dual-core Opteron 265 box w/ 6GB of RAM and (4) 73GB Drives in RAID5 but I don't know how much that's actually going to help the issues.

Last edited by jason|xoxide; 10 Aug 2006 at 23:27.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 10 Aug 2006, 09:21
scotty's Avatar
scotty scotty is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
5x webserver (athlon XP3200+, 1 GB Ram, 2x80 MB Raid0)
[one of these is working as stagingserver and as attachment server]
1x dbserver (dual opterin 265, 4 GB RAM, 2x160 MB Raid0)
1x seperate (premium) webspace for all images except attachments & avatars
Load balancing is simply made by DNS round robin.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 27 Dec 2007, 11:08
dnerty dnerty is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Our forum has: Threads: 204,011, Posts: 9,818,856, Members: 86,900, Currently Active Users: 2364 (310 members and 2054 guests)
Most users ever online was 3,750, 28.08.2007. at 12:15.
Currently Active Users: 2364 (310 members and 2054 guests) (aprox. 2000-3000)
post.MYD is 4294967244 big ..

All that has been running on one server since 11/2006:
SuperMicro H8DCR-3 AMD Opteron 270 with 12GB RAM, 2x73 GB SCSI 10k
Now we will setup second, MySQL server..
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 27 Dec 2007, 21:20
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
Originally Posted by kmike View Post
Everyone's concept of the "big board" is different.
Very good point. I see 89 votes for 1 server. Those are not big boards, IMO.
In my books, a big board has at least 4 servers.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 28 Dec 2007, 09:46
dnerty dnerty is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
? In my books, a big board has a lot of members, forums, posts.. You can have forum with 10 members on 10 servers. And you can't tell that is big board.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 28 Dec 2007, 13:07
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
You are missing completely my point.
We are not talking about storage facilities, but live boards with millions of posts and thousands of users online.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 28 Dec 2007, 17:54
dnerty dnerty is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I think my forum is quite big, and it wass running on one server till today. Now I have two servers online .
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 28 Dec 2007, 21:50
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
Ya, those are nice numbers.. how can you run almost 4,000 users only in one box?
You are a hero.

I'm used to spread the server load through workers. Just curious, how high is the server load when you have 3,500 users online? Thanks for the info. I noticed your semi-automatic guns (10k drives and 12GB of RAM). Try if you can the new SAS 15K drives.
__________________
Floren Munteanu
Axivo Inc.
Axivo Community - Visit the forums to find out more about us
Why Queued - My personal blog
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 28 Dec 2007, 22:21
dnerty dnerty is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Load is 10-15 with 3000+ users online.. Today I setup a new woodcrest with 2x73GB 15K HDD's , as MySQL server. Now I need some time for optimization and I beleive those servers could handle 5000 users online.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 29 Dec 2007, 01:41
EricGT EricGT is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
The thing that surprises me is the storage solutions I see some of you describing. I've always assumed that interaction with the hard drives would be the bottleneck. I spend a lot of money on really fast RAID systems. My current box has an Adaptec 3805 SATAII RAID card, with 8 Seagate 7,200RPM 750GB SATAII drives, in a RAID 10 configuration. The setup is fast as hell, with decent fault tolerance. This saved my butt a couple of days after I deployed this brand new box. A contractor at my data center arced something in the power box supplying my cabinet and spiked the box. One drive was taken out and the RAID card was damaged, but the system kept running after a restart (albeit with a fair amount of complaining) until I could get down and replace the damaged components. I have drives that big because they weren't much more than the smaller ones and because I am about to start offering image hosting.

What do you guys think is the bear minimum hard drive setup required to run a busy vB system, with both acceptable performance and fault tolerance? Also, what type of external storage is fast enough to use with a vB DB server? Eric
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 29 Dec 2007, 10:32
dnerty dnerty is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I would like to have HDD's and RAID like you, but have to take care about every dollar. My clients are crying for money .. and, if you are ready to spend some time with your server you really can save some money.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:49.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: