Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Subforums on Forumhome (no extra queries Version) Details »
Subforums on Forumhome (no extra queries Version)
Mod Version: 1.00, by Xenon (Member) Xenon is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 2.2.x Rating: (1 vote - 4.00 average) Installs: 53
Released: 17 Feb 2003 Last Update: Never Downloads: 10
Not Supported  

Well, i think most of you know the hack already but with a great ammount of additional queries.

This hack shows on every forum on forumhome (also on categories if you want it so) all it's Subforums.
It works dynamically so whenever you add a forum, it will be added to the list

One disadvantage on having it queryless is, that if you have private subforums below nonprivate mainforums that these will be seen so (not accesable but seen)

Hope it fits in what some of you need

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 13 Mar 2003, 06:09
smartwork smartwork is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Xenon -

Please excuse my ignorance - where do we run the initial query before going ahead with the code replacement?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 13 Mar 2003, 11:55
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
phpmyadmin for example
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 13 Mar 2003, 18:45
lifesourcerec's Avatar
lifesourcerec lifesourcerec is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
I'm just having bad luck. Installed it and nothing happened.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 13 Mar 2003, 18:51
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
have you done the last step and edited a forum and saved?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 13 Mar 2003, 19:40
lifesourcerec's Avatar
lifesourcerec lifesourcerec is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Yep. Did that also. Still nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 13 Mar 2003, 19:48
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
hmm, have you editet the right templates?

as noone else has any problems, you must have made an mistake, so read the instructions carefully to be sure you haven't forgotten a single instruction...
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 13 Mar 2003, 20:06
lifesourcerec's Avatar
lifesourcerec lifesourcerec is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
In forumhome_forumbit_level2_nopost, I added:

<br><smallfont>$forum[subforums]</smallfont>
after:

<smallfont color="{categoryfontcolor}">$forum[description]</smallfont>
and I'll triple check the code, but everything was done as instructed, but nothing happens.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 13 Mar 2003, 20:11
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
as said, the code is correct, you must have done something wrong....

the thing in forum.php sometimes make problems, if you haven't added it to the right positions.

if everything doesn't help, you may have an interfering hack in index.php which changes the get forum part to strong...
then i can't help
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 20 Apr 2003, 22:37
N.B. N.B. is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Thanks Xenon !
Nice hack ! Installed it, and works like a charm !
www.cdrbase.com if anybody wants to take a look :>
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02 May 2003, 12:15
vB-Host.com's Avatar
vB-Host.com vB-Host.com is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Stefan,

Works great! But I went one step further, trying to add an image in front of "subforums: but I get errors... ideas?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 02 May 2003, 12:17
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
which error did you get?

that would help enourmously ^^
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 02 May 2003, 22:24
vB-Host.com's Avatar
vB-Host.com vB-Host.com is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
different ones about char undfined or not expected.. different ones as i tried to move the coding around to make it work. I don't know custom php coding well yet so I put something in wrong somewhere... what i am trying to do is put an image before the word "subforums" of course doing so in the forum home template places the image even if there isn't sub forums.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03 May 2003, 15:36
Xenon's Avatar
Xenon Xenon is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Stefan Kaeser
hmm you have this code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

just change it into that:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

be carefull not to have an unslashed " in your text
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03 May 2003, 23:20
vB-Host.com's Avatar
vB-Host.com vB-Host.com is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
when I go to update now.. I get Database error in vBulletin Control Panel 2.2.9:

Invalid SQL: UPDATE forum

SET subforums=CONCAT(subforums,IF(subforums='', '<br><img src="images/arrow.gif">Subforums: ', ', ') '<a href="forumdisplay.php?forumid=17"></A><A HREF=\"http://www.vb-host.com/hangman.php\">Play A Game Of Hangman</a>') WHERE forumid != 17 AND forumid IN (17,7,-1)
mysql error: You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near ''<a href="forumdisplay.php?forumid=17"></A><A HREF=\"http://www

mysql error number: 1064

Date: Saturday 03rd of May 2003 03:19:18 PM
Script: http://www.vb-host.com/admin/forum.php
Referer: http://www.vb-host.com/admin/forum.p...dit&forumid=47
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 04 May 2003, 18:20
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
I just did it and it works fine here. This is what I used:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Take the space out of the imagesfolder variable, though.

Last edited by Boofo; 04 May 2003 at 18:22.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: