Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Pick A Random User In A Specified Thread ID Details »
Pick A Random User In A Specified Thread ID
Mod Version: 1.00, by Logikos (Member) Logikos is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.0.3 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 9
Released: 03 Oct 2004 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Not Supported  

Random User In Specified Thread


====================
Author: Ken 'LiveWire' Iovino
Site: www.vbhacks.us
Version: 1.0.0
====================

Updates
  • Fixed SQL error when no thread id is entered. (10-02-2004)



What this does
This will allow you to generate a random username for any thread id you specify. This could be good for picking a random winner in a certain thread.

I got the idea from This thread here

Anyway, it only took me a few mins to write up so i thought i would share it with everyone.

To do list...
  • Time to install: 2 minutes
  • Queries to run: 0
  • File Mods: 1
    • /admincp/index.php
  • Templates to edit: 0
  • Templates to add: 0
  • New Phrases: 1

Please read carefully and make all the necessary changes as stated. This is will work if installed properly.
PLEASE REMEMBER TO BACKUP BEFORE YOU BEGIN! If you like this hack

Click It

Help & Support
Before asking for support Please make sure you have done all necessary changes! If you still need support please post a reply here.

Please post bugs and errors here. Hope you like, feedback welcomed.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ss.gif
Views:	206
Size:	6.9 KB
ID:	20963  

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Pick Random User filburt1 vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 26 06 Jun 2004 17:08

Comments
  #2  
Old 03 Oct 2004, 04:10
wrongful wrongful is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Real name: Terri Norris
Works great, thanks I can make good use of this.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03 Oct 2004, 04:14
wrongful wrongful is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Real name: Terri Norris
The only small nitpick suggestion I have is to provide an error message if submit is pushed and no thread id is entered otherwise you get a database error.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03 Oct 2004, 04:32
Logikos Logikos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Ahhhh! thanks! will add that now. Thats only a simple if empty command. brb
__________________
Full Time PHP Developer
Please feel free to contact me if you have any paid work to be done.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03 Oct 2004, 04:53
Logikos Logikos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Okay i fixed that little problem, to update just reupload the new random.php file i added and it should work fine.
__________________
Full Time PHP Developer
Please feel free to contact me if you have any paid work to be done.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03 Oct 2004, 12:54
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Dean Clatworthy
Could be useful for competitions - thanks for sharing your work
__________________
Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03 Oct 2004, 19:13
Logikos Logikos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by Dean C
Could be useful for competitions - thanks for sharing your work
Thanks, and anyone who uses this hack, got many more to come.
__________________
Full Time PHP Developer
Please feel free to contact me if you have any paid work to be done.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04 Nov 2004, 04:19
biggazillakilla biggazillakilla is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Worked great!

Just in case anybody is as daft as I was and didn't know where to find this option in the admincp after making the changes: it's under the Users category.

I'm not terribly familiar with vB, but fortunately, looking at the code, I was able to find it pretty easily.

Now, onto seeing how it works...

Edit: Did what it said on the box, no problems.

Any chance of adding options? For me, for example, I had a rule about having to have a minimum of 50 posts. It'd be great to have some extra options like that. Oh, I also have a rule about posting more than once in the thread. Is there any way to eliminate doubleposters?

Anyway, thanks a million for your contribution!

Last edited by biggazillakilla; 04 Nov 2004 at 04:37. Reason: Uddate added.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10 Dec 2004, 20:50
zigx zigx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
This hack is EXACTLY what im looking for! thanks so much for putting it together man.

I have 2 questions:

1) How does it pick a member?
2) Does it consider how many posts the person has in the thread? ie if you have 5 posts in a thread and another guy has 1 do you have 5x better chance of being picked?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10 Dec 2004, 22:51
ChrisBaktis ChrisBaktis is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
I would love to use this - I have two Mods that run our contests - by the looks of this you would need access to the Admin Control Panel to do this - is there a way so I can add this to the Mod CP instead?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15 Dec 2004, 20:43
ChrisBaktis ChrisBaktis is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17 Dec 2004, 15:45
Logikos Logikos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by zigx
This hack is EXACTLY what im looking for! thanks so much for putting it together man.

I have 2 questions:

1) How does it pick a member?
2) Does it consider how many posts the person has in the thread? ie if you have 5 posts in a thread and another guy has 1 do you have 5x better chance of being picked?
Its random when it picks a member.

ChrisBaktis - if you have any PHP experiance then you should be able to, but i won't beable to do this yet as i no longer have my computer setup. It will be a couple of months before i can get back online.
__________________
Full Time PHP Developer
Please feel free to contact me if you have any paid work to be done.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22 Dec 2004, 20:25
zigx zigx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by Live Wire
Its random when it picks a member.

ChrisBaktis - if you have any PHP experiance then you should be able to, but i won't beable to do this yet as i no longer have my computer setup. It will be a couple of months before i can get back online.

2) Does it consider how many posts the person has in the thread? ie if you have 5 posts in a thread and another guy has 1 do you have 5x better chance of being picked?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:32.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: