Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Rotating Banner System Details »
Rotating Banner System
Mod Version: 2.4.2, by y2ksw (Coder) y2ksw is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (142 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 1237
Released: 16 Aug 2008 Last Update: 09 Sep 2013 Downloads: 11138
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

With the Rotating Banner System software, you may publish literally anywhere standard banners and advertising, with no restriction but your imagination. Unlike many other products, it allows to show an unlimited amount of banners and advertising, which are randomly shown at the places you choose, and you may refer generically to an Ad by using specific placeholders.

Also the management is straight-forward and simple to use. Forum administrators with maintenance rights may add, edit and delete records from the Administration Control Panel (ACP), one of each representing a banner. After saving the new banner settings, they are immediately visible at your board.

Compatibility: from vBulletin 3.6.5 onwards

By the way, I do also install the hack on your boards, but since I am very, very busy, it may take some time (weeks) until it gets done.


Tutorials:Updates:
  • 2.0.1: Simple click tracker added, HTML help included.
  • 2.0.3: Small bug fixes; additional banner list, navigation bar, E-Mail field for banner event notifications and automatic save on scroll setting; absolute URL to rbs_banner.php in order to allow click tracking on non-standard pages; supported languages: English, Italian; Help file clean-up.
  • 2.0.5: Small bug fixes; additional details in banner list; email notification for epired banners.
  • 2.0.6: vbCMS compatibility bug fix; additional banner lists.
  • 2.0.7: Usergroups filter: now it is possible to define a list of usergroups which may show a banner; additional vbCMS compatibility bug fix.
  • 2.0.8: Various fixes and most of all, inclusion of the right files: admin_rbs.php, cpnav_rbs.xml
  • 2.0.9: Extra comma fix in new record creation.
  • 2.1.0: Fix for an occasional banner type selection bug, when the sample banners have been deleted or disabled.
  • 2.2.0 (Major upgrade): Up to 10 different banner locations. Requires changes to your existing placeholders in your templates, since a more generic format has been chosen. If you don't need more than 2 different locations, you don't need to upgrade. Changed files: rbs_banner.php, admin_rbs.php
  • 2.2.1: Minor bug fix in files: admin_rbs_h_banner_list.php, admin_rbs_v_banner_list.php
  • 2.2.1: Hotfix for Max Clicks saving bug.
  • 2.2.2: More listings and less files. PDF Help. Separate Italian add-ons and help. Duplicate button.
  • 2.2.3: Minor bug fixes. Changed files: product-rbs.xml
  • 2.2.4: Flash Banner support (beta). Changed files: product-rbs.xml, rbs_wrapper.swf, admin_rbs.php, English Help.
  • 2.2.5: Hotfix for vBulletin 4.0.2 compatibility bug.
  • 2.2.6: Checking for installed Flash Wrapper rbs_wrapper.swf; A few English FAQ; Help files. Changed files: product-rbs.xml
  • 2.3.0 (Major upgrade): New modules: Delete Expired Banners, Disable Expired Banners; Detail Banner Statistics with unique access key for your customers; Updated help; Changed files: all.
  • 2.3.1: Hotfix for missing field in rbs_hist table. Changed files: none, just update product.
  • 2.3.2: Added: Unsupported option for setting any number of available positions between 1 and big bang. Fixed: Small bug and speed issues. Removed: Italian translation. Italians may now request support at www.vbulletin.it. Changed files: admin_rbs.php.
  • 2.3.3: Fix: Copy selected forum ID's during banner duplication. Changed: start and end hours for new banners are set to 0:00 and 23:59 respectively. Changed files: admin_rbs.php.
  • 2.3.4: Option: Send Mail Before. This option allows to schedule expiring banners differently. New variables for emails: $rbs_enddate: This variable holds the formatted banner ending date and time based on the standard formats for date and time in vBulletin settings; $rbs_name: This variable holds the banner name. EMail Notifications option description: Added direct links to the email phrases for quick changes. Changed files: rbs_mail_cron.php.
  • 2.4.0 (Major upgrade): Removed: Option to enable or disable mailing. Banners with email addresses to notify are handled. Setting to reset mailing in single banners. Now, if mailing should be repeated, you will have to edit the banner from phpMyAdmin. Added: Order links in lists. The initial state is ordered by ID, as before. By clicking the titles, the other voices can be ordered. Clicking twice inverts the order. This works in all lists. Options to prevent counting and reducing thus a tiny bit of load. A new bunch of demo banners for new installations. Demo banners are locked into database in order to avoid 30% of the questions because of the 'experts' deleting them before trying the product. They can be disabled and modified though. The true experts can delete them after all testing from the database by using phpMyAdmin without side effects. Changes: Phrase for emailing about expiring banners, now also with direct links to the phrases. Demo banners. Our old publisher ID is replaced with the new ones, and old demo banners are updated with the new ones, if found. The functions have been exported to includes/functions_rbs.php. This makes the product code smaller and easier to maintain, and runs faster on sites where caching/acceleration is enabled. Changed Files: all *.php
  • 2.4.1: Option Likelihood. This new option adds a weight to banners and allows thus to show one banner more often than another. The default weight is 100%. We also make sure that the final date of the default banners falls into a valid range. Changed files: includes/functions_rbs.php and rbs_stats.php.
  • 2.4.2: Workaround for update sequence problems.
Hacks and unsupported add-ons:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	banner.png
Views:	13353
Size:	27.7 KB
ID:	123711   Click image for larger version

Name:	style.jpg
Views:	7711
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	123714   Click image for larger version

Name:	navigation.png
Views:	8315
Size:	4.9 KB
ID:	123715   Click image for larger version

Name:	estatistics.png
Views:	10940
Size:	14.7 KB
ID:	123716  

Click image for larger version

Name:	options.jpg
Views:	3804
Size:	123.7 KB
ID:	137954  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #976  
Old 23 Nov 2010, 00:31
jaribas jaribas is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Real name: Jose Angel Ribas Espiņeir
Hello.
First Sorry for my english, i am spanish and i not learning english in the school.

My question is.. i need to put more than 2 banners in the header of the forum. Now i have 2 banners when i install the plug, and i like minimun 3 banners in the header. Is posible this?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #977  
Old 23 Nov 2010, 00:52
pitzerwm pitzerwm is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I don't think that would be a problem.

You would either do <[email protected]:[email protected]><[email protected]:[email protected]><[email protected]:[email protected]>

or <[email protected]:[email protected]><br>
<[email protected]:[email protected]><br>
<[email protected]:[email protected]><br>

You might need the surrounding tags, as a <div> or a <table>
Reply With Quote
  #978  
Old 23 Nov 2010, 01:50
jaribas jaribas is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Real name: Jose Angel Ribas Espiņeir
ok.. very thanks...
Reply With Quote
  #979  
Old 23 Nov 2010, 19:07
Cutsizzle Cutsizzle is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I want to have two different styles that use different sets of rotating banners. Is this possible?
Reply With Quote
  #980  
Old 24 Nov 2010, 08:47
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by thieu.bocap View Post
Yes, if manual ads i can add <param name="WMode" value="transparent"/> but with hack mod this ex: <div align="center"><[email protected]:[email protected]></div> how to use?

sorry because my english
This HTML is only an example. You may use any kind of HTML in your templates.

However, for Flash Banners you must choose between two possibilities:
1. You use the "Text" field and paste there the complete banner code, thus including all the <object> and <embed> code, which is then inserted at the <div align="center"><[email protected]:[email protected]></div>, such as <div align="center"><object ...></div>.
2. You use the Flash wrapper which takes care of inserting the correct code, and as far as I know, handles also correctly the menu issue.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #981  
Old 24 Nov 2010, 08:49
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by pitzerwm View Post
Y2, if I do the update, will your sample banners, over-write my present banner positions?

If so, how would I delete them before update.

Thanks again for a great mod.
The sample banners are installed only at the moment you install this product first. No banners are touched when updating. However, it is always a good idea to keep a backup somewhere
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #982  
Old 24 Nov 2010, 08:54
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by jaribas View Post
Hello.
First Sorry for my english, i am spanish and i not learning english in the school.

My question is.. i need to put more than 2 banners in the header of the forum. Now i have 2 banners when i install the plug, and i like minimun 3 banners in the header. Is posible this?

Thanks
Originally Posted by pitzerwm View Post
I don't think that would be a problem.

You would either do <[email protected]:[email protected]><[email protected]:[email protected]><[email protected]:[email protected]>

or <[email protected]:[email protected]><br>
<[email protected]:[email protected]><br>
<[email protected]:[email protected]><br>

You might need the surrounding tags, as a <div> or a <table>
It's even easier:

<[email protected]:[email protected]><[email protected]:[email protected]><[email protected]:[email protected]>

This way, you have 3 or more banners in position 0, they rotate along with other banners in a single page.

You would use the different positions only where you have different banner types and must have a distinct placement.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #983  
Old 24 Nov 2010, 08:57
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Cutsizzle View Post
I want to have two different styles that use different sets of rotating banners. Is this possible?
Yes. In this case you make use of banner positions, where for example in Style 1 you store banners in position 0 and in Style 2 position 1.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #984  
Old 24 Nov 2010, 20:00
SteveV SteveV is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Steve
Question

Is it possible to have a few banners in the place on the picture i attached ?

And i couldn't find where to set the time for the different banners.
Is that even possible ?

I don't have it installed yet but am reading up on it before i uninstall the other mod i am using.
This mod looks more powerful.
Attached Images
File Type: png Rotating-Banner.png (9.3 KB, 24 views)
Reply With Quote
  #985  
Old 24 Nov 2010, 22:33
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by SteveV View Post
Is it possible to have a few banners in the place on the picture i attached ?

And i couldn't find where to set the time for the different banners.
Is that even possible ?

I don't have it installed yet but am reading up on it before i uninstall the other mod i am using.
This mod looks more powerful.
1. Yes, but it needs a style modification, because the original header contains room for two small banners side by side, as far as I recall.
2. Each banner can be setup with a starting and ending date, as a matter of facts, they must. By default, a new banner is shown for one year.
3. I believe it is pretty powerful, but it is not up to me to proof this statement
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #986  
Old 25 Nov 2010, 07:15
SteveV SteveV is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Steve
Hi Y2 thanks for the answers.

What i ment with the time for each banners is the amount of seconds.
I only have animated gif files and some are 10 seconds and others are longer.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #987  
Old 25 Nov 2010, 08:25
thieu.bocap thieu.bocap is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
This HTML is only an example. You may use any kind of HTML in your templates.

However, for Flash Banners you must choose between two possibilities:
1. You use the "Text" field and paste there the complete banner code, thus including all the <object> and <embed> code, which is then inserted at the <div align="center"><[email protected]:[email protected]></div>, such as <div align="center"><object ...></div>.
2. You use the Flash wrapper which takes care of inserting the correct code, and as far as I know, handles also correctly the menu issue.
Thanks very much for your reply i will test in my site

Last edited by thieu.bocap; 25 Nov 2010 at 10:02.
Reply With Quote
  #988  
Old 25 Nov 2010, 09:53
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by SteveV View Post
Hi Y2 thanks for the answers.

What i ment with the time for each banners is the amount of seconds.
I only have animated gif files and some are 10 seconds and others are longer.

Thanks again.
Ah right ... I got it. There is no such field, a banner is shown for the life time of the page. I have been asked several times to add the feature of rotating banners in place while the page is loaded.

Workaround: Eventually you may create a HTML page, which you insert as an IFRAME in your banner space. That HTML may refresh every so time, and would then load a new banner (if there is any). This HTML is already available and has been mentioned a few posts ago. All it needs is to make it work for your specific use, adding e meta tag with the desired refresh period

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=951
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #989  
Old 25 Nov 2010, 13:28
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
Ah right ... I got it. There is no such field, a banner is shown for the life time of the page. I have been asked several times to add the feature of rotating banners in place while the page is loaded.

Workaround: Eventually you may create a HTML page, which you insert as an IFRAME in your banner space. That HTML may refresh every so time, and would then load a new banner (if there is any). This HTML is already available and has been mentioned a few posts ago. All it needs is to make it work for your specific use, adding e meta tag with the desired refresh period

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=951
Here, as an unofficial addon, you get the autorefreshing page (tested). It needs:

- a text editor;
- a refresh time of your choice (see metatag refresh in file, now at 10 seconds);
- a banner location (see placeholder in file, now at position 0);
- at least a banner for that location;
- a global target of a new page aka _blank (RBS options), else you jump into the iframe;
- a template modification for a 468x60 banner:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Please note: with smaller banners you get white borders, with larger than the iframe area, they are clipped.
Attached Files
File Type: php rbs_iframe.php (1.4 KB, 129 views)
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #990  
Old 25 Nov 2010, 14:30
SteveV SteveV is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: Steve
Thank you.

I will install the mod tonight together with the unofficial addon.
I hope i get it working the first time
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:04.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: