Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Rank Ordering Details »
Rank Ordering
Mod Version: 1.2, by MarkFL (Coder) MarkFL is online now
Developer Last Online: Nov 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 46
Released: 29 Jul 2015 Last Update: 25 May 2017 Downloads: 239
Not Supported DB Changes Code Changes Translations  

This product will, upon installation, add a column to your "ranks" table labeled "rankorder" and will edit your "/admincp/ranks.php" and "/includes/functions_ranks.php" files so that you may assign display ordering for your defined ranks. The original code is stored as "/admincp/ranks_orig.php" and "/includes/functions_ranks_orig.php" respectively. When uninstalled, your database and files are restored to their original condition.

This add-on utilizes code written by DragonBlade and n8td as posted here:

where do I change the order of rank images?

This add-on simply automates all of the file edits and the database change into one easy step.

When you go to your "User Rank Manager" you will see a new field titled "Rank Order" associated with each defined rank:



And when you edit a rank, you will find a new field on the form into which you can set the rank order:



Rank ordering can be used to control the order in which your various ranks are displayed in user postbits and profile pages. The smaller the number, the higher in the stack a rank will be displayed.

For example, suppose you have a rank for the forum owner(s) and you want this to be on top regardless of the other ranks the owners might have. You could assign this rank a rank order of 0. Then you may have several ranks which indicate a user's position in your staff, such as administrators, global moderators, forum moderators, etc. No one user would have more than 1 of these ranks, and so you could assign these a rank order of 1. This way any of the owners who are also an admin/global mod/mod would have the site owner rank on top and then their staff position rank next.

In this manner, you can assign rank orders to completely control the order in which all of your ranks are displayed:



Note: Once you edit your ranks to assign the rank order, you must run "update user titles and ranks" in order for the ordering to take effect.

Update: version 1.1
  • Added missed file edit which allows for new ranks to be successfully added after installing this add-on.

Update: version 1.2
  • Reads path to admin control panel folder from config.php.

Note: If you have not renamed your "admincp" folder, then you don't need to update to v. 1.2. If you edited the v. 1.1 .XML file to use your renamed "admincp" folder, then you also don't need to upgrade to v. 1.2. If you do decide to upgrade to v. 1.2 anyway, then you need to uninstall v. 1.1 first. If you wish to keep the rank ordering you've already defined, then you need to edit the product's uninstall code to remove the following db query:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To Install:

In AdminCP go to Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product.

Click on "Choose File" and browse to the product .xml file that was packaged in the .zip file.

Click "Import"

There are no settings to set, once installed, the product is active.

Note: When updating your vB, please follow these steps after completing the upgrade:

First, delete the files "/includes/functions_ranks_orig.php" and "admincp/ranks_orig.php".

Next, edit the "Rank Ordering" product to remove the uninstall code completely and save it.

Then, uninstall the product.

Lastly, reinstall the product, and the new PHP files will be backed up and then edited, and you'll be back in business.

Support for this product can be found here:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	rankorderlist.png
Views:	1257
Size:	74.2 KB
ID:	153032   Click image for larger version

Name:	rankorderedit.jpg
Views:	1241
Size:	46.3 KB
ID:	153033   Click image for larger version

Name:	rankorderpost.png
Views:	1241
Size:	65.3 KB
ID:	153036  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 29 Jul 2015, 14:57
SpikeyWelsh SpikeyWelsh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
thank you so much for the mod works so well
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31 Jul 2015, 03:52
fatal rseort's Avatar
fatal rseort fatal rseort is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Works flawlessly, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31 Jul 2015, 04:43
fatal rseort's Avatar
fatal rseort fatal rseort is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Possible bug, but it seems when you try to add a new user rank with the mod installed you get a Database error. Assuming this was the problem as when I uninstalled it I was able to add the rank without a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31 Jul 2015, 04:50
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by fatal rseort View Post
Possible bug, but it seems when you try to add a new user rank with the mod installed you get a Database error. Assuming this was the problem as when I uninstalled it I was able to add the rank without a problem.
Okay, yes I am getting the same issue...thank you for letting me know and I will get it resolved ASAP.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31 Jul 2015, 05:14
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Update: version 1.1
  • Added missed file edit which allows for new ranks to be successfully added after installing this add-on.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02 Aug 2015, 09:56
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
At installation, getting:

PHP Warning: file_get_contents(./admincp/ranks.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in ..../includes/adminfunctions_plugin.php(1201) : eval()'d code on line 11

PHP Warning: file_put_contents(./admincp/ranks_orig.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in ..../includes/adminfunctions_plugin.php(1201) : eval()'d code on line 13

PHP Warning: file_put_contents(./admincp/ranks.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in ..../includes/adminfunctions_plugin.php(1201) : eval()'d code on line 35

PHP Warning: file_get_contents(./admincp/ranks.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in ..../includes/adminfunctions_plugin.php(1201) : eval()'d code on line 1

PHP Warning: file_put_contents(./admincp/ranks.php): failed to open stream: Permission denied in ..../includes/adminfunctions_plugin.php(1201) : eval()'d code on line 5
on vB 4.2.3. That's because our admincp directory has a different name. Maybe handy to include in the code to use the config.php admincp directory path instead.

After altering the paths, I've changed the ranking order for 2 ranks, one being 0 and the other being 1. (also tried one being 1, and the second being 2). But the rank order doesn't seem to change.

Last edited by Skyrider; 02 Aug 2015 at 10:04.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02 Aug 2015, 10:25
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
I will look into parsing the config.php file.

Do you mean the value shown in the rank manager doesn't change, or the order in which the ranks are displayed in the postbits doesn't change?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02 Aug 2015, 10:27
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Sorry for not being clear about that! The ranks in the postbit doesn't change.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02 Aug 2015, 10:32
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Did you run "update user titles and ranks?"
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02 Aug 2015, 11:11
Skyrider Skyrider is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Missed that note , Will try later on, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02 Aug 2015, 11:49
crower55 crower55 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
MarkFL YOU ARE AMAZING !!!!!!!!!!

Thanks a lot...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02 Aug 2015, 21:50
SpikeyWelsh SpikeyWelsh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
ya i getting the same error when adding a new rank
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02 Aug 2015, 22:26
akz645 akz645 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Originally Posted by SpikeyWelsh View Post
ya i getting the same error when adding a new rank
He updated the version.
Download the new one and re-upload the XML.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03 Aug 2015, 07:28
friendlymela's Avatar
friendlymela friendlymela is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Real name: Zeeshan Shams
This mod is really nice and useful
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:42.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: