Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Widget: display random image thumbnail from public albums Details »
Widget: display random image thumbnail from public albums
Mod Version: 1.2, by XManuX (Member) XManuX is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.2 Rating: (26 votes - 4.62 average) Installs: 202
Released: 09 Mar 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations Is in Beta Stage  

What it does ?
This widget displays a thumbnail image, taken randomly from any public albums and adds a "More..." link redirecting to albums.
Clicking on the thumbnail opens full sized picture in its current album.

Version history :
1.0: Initial release
1.1: Style can now be independant of template modification / Added option to display more than one thumbnail / Added option to define a custom size for the thumbnails.
1.2: You can now restrict picture fetching to a list of albums / Added fixes to the request.

Install instructions :
1- Go in to your AdminCP > vBulletin CMS > Widgets > Create new widget
2- Choose type 'PHP direct execution'
3- Give it a name (i.e: Random Picture)
4- Give it a description (i.e Random picture from public albums)
5- Save it
6- Configure it with the following code (copy/paste)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

7- There are 5 variables you can edit in this code, to configure the widget behavior :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

$albums_list :
define a list of albums IDs (coma-separated list) to use, when taking a picture randomly.
You can also specify only one ID.
note: if you leave this variable empty, ALL public albums will be used.

$use_vB_thumbnail_size :
false = the widget will use $twidth to set up the width of the thumbnail.
true = default vBulletin thumbnail size will be used.

$twidth:
Width of a thumbnail (in pixel.)
will only be used if $use_vB_thumbnail_size is set to false.

$limit:
# of thumbnails you want to display in the widget.

$use_custom_css
false = the styling of widget elements will be performed inside the widget itself (using style="" html tag.)
true = the styling will be performed by CSS, thus a template needs to be manually edited : vbcms.css

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

8- Your widget is ready to be added to your CMS with AdminCP > vBulletin CMS > Widgets > Layout Manager

Screenshot : see below.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	widgetdemo.jpg
Views:	3640
Size:	100.2 KB
ID:	113786  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vBulletin CMS Widgets Photopost Pro Random Image Widget ZippySLC vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 78 26 Jan 2014 00:28

  #31  
Old 23 Apr 2010, 23:57
Bergler Bergler is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Great mod, installed thanks! How would one go about deleting the more.. link? What code do I need to remove? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 25 Apr 2010, 04:56
Verionia Verionia is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Can you make it show pictures similar/related to thread/content tags or title? Thx.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 25 Apr 2010, 11:15
pjaco's Avatar
pjaco pjaco is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 06 May 2010, 15:56
Xencored Xencored is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Mike
Any chance to have better quality of the thumbnail like the other guy said


Originally Posted by Videx View Post
Thumbnails here are perfect, no need to raise quality. None are showing at your link so I'm not sure what your problem may be. Perhaps the original photos are low quality?
No all images are fine for me in the right place etc....
quality is set to low somewhere

Also look at the demo image his images look low setting also
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 13 May 2010, 01:08
goxy63 goxy63 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Originally Posted by jimbos'ss View Post
can this be made to display left to right instead of up and down?
+1

Love this mod, thanks
__________________
VB5-- WHO HAS VISITED TODAY(last 24h) PLEASE VOTE HERE
VB5--FIRST POST ON EVERY PAGE PLEASE VOTE HERE
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 16 May 2010, 19:29
Karmann Karmann is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Nice one. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 21 May 2010, 02:03
tommac3 tommac3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
How can I make these pics horizontal rather than vertical?

Basically like:

xxx

rather than:

x
x
x
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 21 May 2010, 03:31
Veer Veer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
can we have forum block as well?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 21 May 2010, 04:53
Blackhat's Avatar
Blackhat Blackhat is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
yeah, a forum block would be nice
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 28 May 2010, 12:12
zipperty's Avatar
zipperty zipperty is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Real name: Gary
Thumbs up

Thanks for such a great widget. a+
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 10 Jun 2010, 13:22
Scitz0 Scitz0 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Originally Posted by Animemike View Post
Any chance to have better quality of the thumbnail like the other guy said




No all images are fine for me in the right place etc....
quality is set to low somewhere

Also look at the demo image his images look low setting also
I would also like to get better quality on the thumbnails.
Original pictures are fine.

Great widget otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 17 Jun 2010, 08:51
Scitz0 Scitz0 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
For those who want better quality on their images, remove "&thumb=1" without the quotes from the widget code and it should be fine. The reason for the low quality images are that original code retrieves the thumbnail for the image and then resize this thumbnail.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 17 Jun 2010, 11:24
ahmedipa ahmedipa is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
nice thank you
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 17 Jun 2010, 16:44
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by Scitz0 View Post
For those who want better quality on their images, remove "&thumb=1" without the quotes from the widget code and it should be fine. The reason for the low quality images are that original code retrieves the thumbnail for the image and then resize this thumbnail.
Thanks for figuring that one out. This was a complaint a few people had early on and I could never figure out what they were talking about since mine looked perfect. Apparently it has to do with what size your thumbnails are.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 07 Jul 2010, 10:30
XManuX XManuX is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Hello, you have to take into consideration that removing &thumb=1 will drastically increase the amount of data transferred and the page load time, since you will always load the full image and not its thumbnail.

The solution would be to configure the album's images thumbnails size, so they exactly match the widget thumbnail size, but as far as i know, the option to configure album thumbnail size is still missing in vB4.0.3 PL1...

Regards.

Last edited by XManuX; 07 Jul 2010 at 10:37.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:30.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: