Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Banner Rotator (Definitive Mod) Details »
Banner Rotator (Definitive Mod)
Mod Version: 0.90, by andrefedalto (Member) andrefedalto is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.2 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 85
Released: 21 Dec 2005 Last Update: 23 Dec 2005 Downloads: 367
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

Hi you there. I was looking for a really nice Banner Rotator Mod, but i couldn't find one that had what i need. So i decided to code one. Finished it right now and i'll share with you.

So, what does this hack do?
- This mod allows you to add lots of forum banners.
- The banners will be automatically randomized everytime you reload your forums.

How can i work with it?
- It's all controlable through AdminCP.
- NOT NEEDED ftp access to upload banners.
- You CAN upload banners (jpg, gif & png) through AdminCP.
- You can set a description for individual banners.
- You can edit the description easily and individually.
- You can delete the banners through AdminCP (this function delete the banner from the ftp)
- You can activate/deactivate you banners.
- Deactivated banners remains in the ftp, but will not be shown on forum home.

How can i install? (Time to install: 1 minute if you are fast enough )
- Upload all the files contained in the "upload" folder inside the zip to your forum root directory and CHMOD 77 the folder "/image/banners"
- Install product-brotator.
- Go to your AdminCP > Style Manager > YOUR SKIN > Edit HEADER template and find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


You can change banner width and height editing the plugin called "Banner Rotator Generator" and changing the values:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

for your own values.

I really hope you enjoy this hack and, please, if you find any kind of bug, report it to me as soon as possible.
And if you have any suggestions, post here.

Thanks you all!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	banner_add.JPG
Views:	1271
Size:	35.9 KB
ID:	39764   Click image for larger version

Name:	banner_delete.JPG
Views:	1637
Size:	174.5 KB
ID:	39765   Click image for larger version

Name:	banner_edit.JPG
Views:	1506
Size:	161.9 KB
ID:	39766   Click image for larger version

Name:	banner_show.JPG
Views:	1565
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	39767  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks Banner Rotator (Definitive Mod) **UPDATED** andrefedalto vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 279 29 Aug 2011 16:30
Miscellaneous Hacks Banner Rotator andrefedalto vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 236 11 Mar 2011 01:05

  #16  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 01:13
16ggst 16ggst is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
im stupid.. where do i manage this banners in the admincp
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 01:32
andrefedalto andrefedalto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: André
Originally Posted by 16ggst
im stupid.. where do i manage this banners in the admincp
a small box will appear there, called BANNER ROTATOR, just like other submenus on the AdminCP
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 04:36
16ggst 16ggst is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
sorry i forgot to do something thanks

Last edited by 16ggst; 23 Dec 2005 at 04:38.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 11:24
newfun newfun is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Database error in vBulletin 3.5.2:

Invalid SQL:
UPDATE brotator SET active = '0' WHERE id = '1';

MySQL Error : Table 'forums.brotator' doesn't exist
Error Number : 1146
Date : Saturday, December 24th 2005 @ 12:22:26 AM
Script : http://localhost/forums/admincp/bann...activate&bid=1
Referrer :
IP Address : 127.0.0.1
Username : admin
Classname : vB_Database

I found this error? How can we fix that? plzzz
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 12:13
andrefedalto andrefedalto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: André
Originally Posted by newfun
Database error in vBulletin 3.5.2:

Invalid SQL:
UPDATE brotator SET active = '0' WHERE id = '1';

MySQL Error : Table 'forums.brotator' doesn't exist
Error Number : 1146
Date : Saturday, December 24th 2005 @ 12:22:26 AM
Script : http://localhost/forums/admincp/bann...activate&bid=1
Referrer :
IP Address : 127.0.0.1
Username : admin
Classname : vB_Database

I found this error? How can we fix that? plzzz
oops... my mistake... forgot to add the table prefix in some queries...
i'll just sent an update, just download and replace you /admincp/banner_rotator.php with the one in the package
that should fix your problem... if you get any other error, please report here
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 21:51
slvr ralliart slvr ralliart is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Arrow

I installed your banner rotator...

I go to upload a banner and I get this error screen..

Attached Images
File Type: jpg Error.JPG (119.2 KB, 200 views)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 23 Dec 2005, 21:59
DS MrSinister's Avatar
DS MrSinister DS MrSinister is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
uninstall it first

you need to edit the installer file and banner_rotator file thats in admincp folder..

look for forum and change it too forums

thats should take care of your problem.

after making these changs make sure you reinstall it..

Last edited by DS MrSinister; 23 Dec 2005 at 22:12.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 24 Dec 2005, 00:27
andrefedalto andrefedalto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: André
Originally Posted by slvr ralliart
I installed your banner rotator...

I go to upload a banner and I get this error screen..

just like sinister said..
uninstall it, open banner_rotator.php and product-brotator.xml.. you can do it with notepad..

press CTRL+H (to replace texts)
and replace "/forum" with "/forums"
save the files, reupload the .php file and reinstall the product

chmod "banners" folder to 777 and it will work perfectly
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 25 Dec 2005, 18:46
Aerovive1 Aerovive1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Does this mod work? I'm a lil concerned installing it with all the errors everyone has been getting...
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 25 Dec 2005, 22:27
andrefedalto andrefedalto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: André
Originally Posted by Aerovive1
Does this mod work? I'm a lil concerned installing it with all the errors everyone has been getting...
'course it works.. i'm using it
try it out, if you get any kind of errors, contact me
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 26 Dec 2005, 03:07
puertoblack2003's Avatar
puertoblack2003 puertoblack2003 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
getting this error:

Invalid SQL:
INSERT INTO brotator (id, name, alt, active) VALUES ('', 'toonsalbumdecor3.gif', 'Toon's Album Decor', '1');

MySQL Error : You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 's Album Decor', '1')' at line 1
Error Number : 1064
Date : Sunday, December 25th 2005 @ 07:03:36 PM
Script : http://www.xxxxxxxxx/admincp/banner_rotator.php
Referrer : http://xxxxxxxx/admincp/banner_rotator.php?do=add
IP Address : xxxxxxxxxxxx
Username : xxxxxxxxx
Classname : vb_database
__________________
Android Custom Creations
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 26 Dec 2005, 23:10
Aerovive1 Aerovive1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I'm getting this error when I try isntalling a banner, and why is there no field to enter a url?


Warning: move_uploaded_file(/home/toyotaug/public_html/forum/images/banners/otugbanner.gif): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /admincp/banner_rotator.php on line 56

Warning: move_uploaded_file(): Unable to move '/tmp/php3GF8oT' to '/home/toyotaug/public_html/forum/images/banners/otugbanner.gif' in /admincp/banner_rotator.php on line 56

Last edited by Aerovive1; 26 Dec 2005 at 23:47.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 00:38
andrefedalto andrefedalto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: André
Originally Posted by nievesidenshop
getting this error:

Invalid SQL:
INSERT INTO brotator (id, name, alt, active) VALUES ('', 'toonsalbumdecor3.gif', 'Toon's Album Decor', '1');

MySQL Error : You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 's Album Decor', '1')' at line 1
Error Number : 1064
Date : Sunday, December 25th 2005 @ 07:03:36 PM
Script : http://www.xxxxxxxxx/admincp/banner_rotator.php
Referrer : http://xxxxxxxx/admincp/banner_rotator.php?do=add
IP Address : xxxxxxxxxxxx
Username : xxxxxxxxx
Classname : vb_database
dont use ' in the names
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 00:39
andrefedalto andrefedalto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: André
Originally Posted by Aerovive1
I'm getting this error when I try isntalling a banner, and why is there no field to enter a url?


Warning: move_uploaded_file(/home/toyotaug/public_html/forum/images/banners/otugbanner.gif): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /admincp/banner_rotator.php on line 56

Warning: move_uploaded_file(): Unable to move '/tmp/php3GF8oT' to '/home/toyotaug/public_html/forum/images/banners/otugbanner.gif' in /admincp/banner_rotator.php on line 56
uninstall it, open banner_rotator.php and product-brotator.xml.. you can do it with notepad..

press CTRL+H (to replace texts)
and replace "/forum" with "/PATH"
(where PATH is the path name where your forum is located into)
save the files, reupload the .php file and reinstall the product

chmod "banners" folder to 777 and it will work perfectly
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 27 Dec 2005, 00:58
Aerovive1 Aerovive1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Got it. Now isn't there an option to insert a URL to the individual banners?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:34.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: