Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 20 Dec 2006, 23:46
jahshaka jahshaka is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
limit rss description

hey,

reall going crazy trying to figure this out! i have 2 forums running vbulletin and am about to start a 3rd but cant get my feeds to work right.

on my main forum, running vb 3.5, my rss feeds are cut at about 200 characters - i didnt set this and cant figure out how and where this was done?

http://www.vfxtalk.com/forum/external.php?type=rss2

on my 2nd forum, running vb 3.6, the feeds show the entire post!

http://www.vfxjobs.com/forum/external.php?type=rss2

and so people can jack all my job listings! how can i cut it back to be the same as in my first forum?

i also want to upgrade my first forum but am now concerned that the same problem will happen!

UPDATE!

ok so this is what i got back from vbulletin.com

I believe that is the difference between how RSS feeds are processed between 3.5 and 3.6. Changing this requires modifying the code.
are there any mod's for 3.6 that do just this - shorten the description in the feed?

Last edited by jahshaka; 21 Dec 2006 at 06:54. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23 Dec 2006, 09:27
jahshaka jahshaka is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
bump???
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25 Jan 2007, 09:37
jahshaka jahshaka is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
yea bump again,

this is a serious fricking problem in vb 3.6 in that your forums content gets jacked by everyone out there with a site and a rss reader... they can scoop down text, images, etc....

its a night mare how do i fix things so they just get the first 100 words??? rss is supposed to promote my site not let people jack it!

help please!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17 Feb 2007, 00:45
ResaleBroker's Avatar
ResaleBroker ResaleBroker is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Real name: Jeff Blackwell
Did anyone come up with a solution for this?
__________________
Jeff Blackwell
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30 Mar 2007, 12:36
jahshaka jahshaka is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
i have not been able to ... cant find a mod for this either!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24 Apr 2007, 03:05
jahshaka jahshaka is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
still no-one?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31 Oct 2007, 19:55
mccollin mccollin is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Mike
I would like to know this too... I would like to limit the feed to a few lines... not the whole article. Otherwise someone could just feed my news stories directly to their site. This is a crazy design if there is no way to limit it.
__________________
Mikey
PDAPhoneHome ... Get Converged! / NortheastFoto ... Get Imaged!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31 Oct 2007, 21:57
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
There is no way to limit it without using a plugin (as we do here).

This is a simplfied version of what we do ;

Hook: external_query

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31 Oct 2007, 22:08
mccollin mccollin is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Mike
Thanks for sharing that. I'm actually onto another plan now. It looks like its not that difficult to convert everything to Feedburner. I'm going to attempt to convert my stuff to that. In order to then force everyone through Feedburner, I wonder if there would be any side-effects if I changed the name of external.php to something else after I get it converted. That would assure that no one could use the old method and get full feeds.
__________________
Mikey
PDAPhoneHome ... Get Converged! / NortheastFoto ... Get Imaged!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06 Feb 2008, 18:00
ResaleBroker's Avatar
ResaleBroker ResaleBroker is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Real name: Jeff Blackwell
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
There is no way to limit it without using a plugin (as we do here).

This is a simplfied version of what we do ;

Hook: external_query

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
This works great. Thank You!!!
__________________
Jeff Blackwell
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26 Apr 2008, 22:55
maxicep maxicep is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
it doesnt work

I created a new plugin for external_query and product is vbulletin, plugin description is

unset($vbulletin->GPC['fulldesc']);
$vbulletin->options['threadpreview'] = 200;
$hook_query_fields .= ",LEFT(post.pagetext,400) AS message";
But RSS Feeds still not cuting.

Stil, looking full description and it is bad.

Version: vbb 3.7 b4
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16 Jun 2008, 17:01
lackhand lackhand is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Real name: Kyle
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
There is no way to limit it without using a plugin (as we do here).

This is a simplfied version of what we do ;

Hook: external_query

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
This worked for me, but does anyone know how to do this for vBulletin Blog?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29 Nov 2008, 19:22
siliconfinance siliconfinance is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Anyone find a solution?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17 Dec 2008, 20:16
TitanJeff's Avatar
TitanJeff TitanJeff is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
I'm in the same boat. I want to cut this to 50 characters.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19 Dec 2008, 02:58
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
There is no way to limit it without using a plugin (as we do here).

This is a simplfied version of what we do ;

Hook: external_query

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Will this work in 3.7?
How would we remove description all together and just show the thread title?
I'll play around with the 200 and 400

Thanks
-Brandon
__________________

Email me for website help: brandon[at]sheley[dot]org

Last edited by Brandon Sheley; 19 Dec 2008 at 03:03.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:07.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: