Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #16  
Old 14 Dec 2009, 17:07
Mythotical Mythotical is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
I noticed 2 things.

First:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You have that but not registered it for use in the template.

Second:
In your template I notice you have the form pointing to the same file that you are using to fill out this form. Am I mistaken that maybe you didn't give the process form location.

Also I noticed that you don't have this in your file:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

With your submit button, try this instead:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 14 Dec 2009, 17:42
AndrewD AndrewD is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Andrew
Thanks for the suggestions, see below.

Originally Posted by Steve M View Post
I noticed 2 things.

First:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You have that but not registered it for use in the template.

Also I noticed that you don't have this in your file:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
sorry, Steve, not true - both are done (line 7 and 45 in the php file)

Originally Posted by Steve M View Post
Second:
In your template I notice you have the form pointing to the same file that you are using to fill out this form. Am I mistaken that maybe you didn't give the process form location.
this was intended to be a simpe demo of the problem, and the script is designed to return to itself, report what was filled in the message box, and then re-present the editor. So, there's no error with that, and the same issue presents itself in the (much more complex) product code I'm working on.


Originally Posted by Steve M View Post
With your submit button, try this instead:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
This makes no difference. The message box contents are being correctly picked up in standard editor mode but not in wysiwig mode.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 14 Dec 2009, 17:56
Mythotical Mythotical is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Then you have completely contradicted what you said earlier about it not working. If you can't show me how this is being used in the complexity that you are trying to make it work then I can be of no help. Lastly there apparently is an error as you stated earlier and now you state there is no error. Overall you have your code set so without more info then I am of no help any further. Sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 14 Dec 2009, 18:18
AndrewD AndrewD is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Andrew
Originally Posted by Steve M View Post
Then you have completely contradicted what you said earlier about it not working. If you can't show me how this is being used in the complexity that you are trying to make it work then I can be of no help. Lastly there apparently is an error as you stated earlier and now you state there is no error. Overall you have your code set so without more info then I am of no help any further. Sorry.
I'll try to be a little clearer, since I didn't intend to seem to contradict myself.

The supplied attached php + template is a straightforward implementation of the code given in the first post, intended to demonstrate the problem.

With this demo code, and with the more complex product implementation, the contents of the editor message box are correctly returned (with all browser choices) when the editor is set to standard mode but not when it is set to wysiwig mode. I can consistently reproduce this problem on my own system. I am asking for someone else to attempt to reproduce it on another, so that I can be sure that it is/is not a bug in my coding or in the vb infrastructure.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 14 Dec 2009, 18:43
Mythotical Mythotical is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Originally Posted by AndrewD View Post
I'll try to be a little clearer, since I didn't intend to seem to contradict myself.

The supplied attached php + template is a straightforward implementation of the code given in the first post, intended to demonstrate the problem.

With this demo code, and with the more complex product implementation, the contents of the editor message box are correctly returned (with all browser choices) when the editor is set to standard mode but not when it is set to wysiwig mode. I can consistently reproduce this problem on my own system. I am asking for someone else to attempt to reproduce it on another, so that I can be sure that it is/is not a bug in my coding or in the vb infrastructure.
Ok gotcha, I will test it out and check for you.

--------------- Added 14 Dec 2009 at 18:56 ---------------

Ok tested it, you had a few issues in your template but I changed them to match my site mainly and it worked.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

--------------- Added 14 Dec 2009 at 18:56 ---------------

It all had to do with link tags and script tags.

EDIT AGAIN:
Tested again with your code and it worked that time so looks like it was in the template.

The way you have it, I have no idea why it won't work that way, not even sure what could cause it to not post.

Last edited by Mythotical; 14 Dec 2009 at 19:01. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 20 Dec 2009, 14:11
xman_79's Avatar
xman_79 xman_79 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: Suleiman
not understand why you use


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The php file


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I use the editor to about 10 hacks, I have no problem.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 23 Dec 2009, 08:27
Mythotical Mythotical is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
The part that I use above is sticking with code ethics basically, it saves on lines of code per file and does the same exact thing as this does:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Just one line of code instead of 10-15 lines to call all those templates.

In all honesty, you don't have to call these templates as you have done:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

From what I have learned is that each one of those templates is already cached and called when you use the editor.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 24 Dec 2009, 10:21
MaryTheG(r)eek MaryTheG(r)eek is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Maria
Strange appearance

Hello Steve,

I've problem including the editor in my mod. See the attached images to understand what I mean. The first one is without including "...GET_EDIT_TEMPLATES..." in my php file, the second is with this.

http://www.microhellas.com/dev4/auct...do=addedititem

I'm also getting that yellow triangle:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thank you in advance
Maria

PS- I found the solution

At the very top of the template,

After:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and Before:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Must be:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But that dammit triangle still exists.

Merry Christmas Steve (and to all surfers of course).
Maria
Attached Images
File Type: jpg without_get_edit_templates.jpg (20.3 KB, 49 views)
File Type: jpg with_get_edit_templates.jpg (21.5 KB, 51 views)

Last edited by MaryTheG(r)eek; 24 Dec 2009 at 11:25.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 24 Dec 2009, 19:16
Mythotical Mythotical is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Great to hear Maria.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 26 Dec 2009, 10:49
MaryTheG(r)eek MaryTheG(r)eek is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Maria
Problem in View mode

Hello Steve,

In view mode the text loses some formatting (in my case bullets). See attachment 1 which is in edit mode. Bullet list has been saved correctly. Now the 2nd attachment. Even if the text coloring is ok, the bullet list appears as normal text lines.

The code that I've wrote:

PHP file

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Template

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thank you
Maria
Attached Images
File Type: jpg editmode.jpg (37.7 KB, 56 views)
File Type: jpg viewmode.jpg (15.6 KB, 40 views)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 26 Dec 2009, 19:07
Mythotical Mythotical is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Thanks Maria, I will get it altered in the article.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04 Feb 2010, 20:54
mikey1991's Avatar
mikey1991 mikey1991 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Mikey
Steve, I know you posted this article for vB3, or one was posted, I just cannot find it. Any help?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 03:04
Mythotical Mythotical is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Originally Posted by mikey1991 View Post
Steve, I know you posted this article for vB3, or one was posted, I just cannot find it. Any help?
Here is the article, not written by me: Add Editor to Your Mods
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05 Feb 2010, 16:57
mikey1991's Avatar
mikey1991 mikey1991 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Mikey
Great, thanks alot steve, appreciate that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 15 Feb 2010, 22:20
Mythotical Mythotical is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Originally Posted by mikey1991 View Post
Great, thanks alot steve, appreciate that.
Your welcome.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:20.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: