Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
UKBL ~ FaceBook profile link in Postbit ~ Clickable !! Details »
UKBL ~ FaceBook profile link in Postbit ~ Clickable !!
Mod Version: 1.00, by TheLastSuperman (Senior Moderator) TheLastSuperman is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (7 votes - 4.57 average) Installs: 58
Released: 18 Jan 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 332
Supported Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations  

This is a super simple template edit that will allow your members to share their Facebook Profile with others .

You simply create a new user profile field and make one template edit and then your members do the rest and your all set!

Full Credit for this mod goes to UKBL, requested by taffy056 for use with vBulletin 4.0 Series here:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?p=1929367

And via PM to me

I did not realize UKBL had stated "Re-Usable" Code or I would have released this sooner However again I must make it clear that full credit goes to UKBL and per his thread the idea was presented to him by DobieGillis.

You can add your own links to postbit by following this same method just redoing the code snippets a bit so in essence you can have Facebook, Twitter, Myspace, LinkedIn and many more just by playing with the code a bit .

Screenshots are in UKBL's original thread and I just tested and verified this to be working on a 4.0.1 forum however it should be perfectly usable on any 4.0.x series. Please refer to the Install.txt file in the .zip for instructions on how to add this to your forum and Enjoy!

Sincerely,

TheLastSuperman

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
End-User Options UKBL ~ Twitter profile link on Postbit ~ Clickable UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 8 20 Nov 2011 14:15
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL ~ FaceBook profile link on Postbit UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 87 23 Sep 2011 07:11
End-User Options UKBL ~ Twitter profile link on Postbit ~ Clickable UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 52 18 Jul 2010 11:32
Forum Home Enhancements UKBL ~ FaceBook profile link on Postbit ~ Clickable UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 2 22 Apr 2009 02:29
End-User Options UKBL ~ Selling on Ebay Link in Postbit UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 1 15 Feb 2009 13:09

Comments
  #2  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 17:05
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Quick tips!

1. How 2 Guide - Template Conditionals

A Conditional If Statement simply put will show something to a user based on IF this or IF that SHOW them THIS. Very simple to follow once you initially grasp it so don't let it trick or fool you

Here's an Example:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now if you test this in 4.0 you will only see this code when logged in as a member . How do I put this code somewhere and utilize it like UKBL first mentioned? Well you can edit your forums templates... vBulletin uses a .php file with code in it, a template with the code in it that corresponds to the php file and css in your style vars area to show you every single page in your vBulletin so basically all three (and some other minor things no need to confuse you early on eh?) make the page display and you the forums owner can make it do your bidding!!

You can edit your styles templates by going to AdminCP > Style & Templates > Style Manager

Now I would create a Child Style to test with so you don't mess up your Live sites style...

AdminCP > Style & Templates > Style Manager > Select the style and to the right click the drop down and select "Add Child Style" and leave it all alone except change "Allow User Selection" to NO this way you can tinker with it behind the scenes .

Then You'll see the new style and click the drop down on the right and choose "Edit Templates" now go down and double click "Header" then at the very top type in TESTING 123 hit save & reload then select the style since you can as an admin and in that style at the very top you'll now see TESTING123 in plain old text .

You just edited your first template... now yes your right... you can do that but with all sorts of codes just be careful as some can make the style go on you so it will require a slight learning curve... and conditionals?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Put that in the Header Template instead...

Now refresh your page (your still logged in as an admin) and now it's gone, it is only showing to visitors or Guests of the forum i.e. non-logged in users .

Edit: Look what I just found http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=231525 and special Thanks to BBR-APBT for taking the time to post it up



2. How 2 Guide - Use Facebook ID# OR Name

Revised Code by Steve to show using Facebook ID number and "Vanity" profile name i.e. if you have already selected your custom Facebook URL i.e. mine is no longer a number it is thelastsuperman .

Originally Posted by abqtj

I got it to work using your code, and also tweaked it using code in the link you gave to the 3.8 version.

If you want an update, here's what I'm using:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


The second set, with field 7 in it, uses the vanity name instead of the user id.

Thanks again for this mod!!

-Steve
*Full Credit to UKBL so from here on out I need to see THANKS UKBL in your posts if you enjoy it
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!

Last edited by TheLastSuperman; 18 Jan 2010 at 21:19.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 19:02
abqtj abqtj is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Installed and still tweaking it to get it to work...should be good, though!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 19:31
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by abqtj View Post
Installed and still tweaking it to get it to work...should be good, though!
I tested just before I put up the mod on here so it should work fine "Out of the box" otherwise post and we'll get you sorted .

Mike
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 19:47
TimberFloorAu's Avatar
TimberFloorAu TimberFloorAu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Blue
Cheers Mike.

How is Gerry havent seen him in ages?
__________________

My Hacks [ click ] | Steve ~ Administrator for British Expats AustraliaBound.org/forum | Test our forum - user; don pass; pass123
Sports Tipping Mod - coming February 2010 ~ Show your Interest !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 19:49
Fusion2 Fusion2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
I like the idea, but could you be a little more explainable in your text file for us beginners!

It says add template conditional. Umm where do i add this?

Also How do I add the box around the section, as seen in the original posts on the profile page. Mine just shows all the text scrunched together with no enclosed box.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 20:02
abqtj abqtj is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
I tested just before I put up the mod on here so it should work fine "Out of the box" otherwise post and we'll get you sorted .

Mike
THanks,

I think I got it.

I edited the postbit_legacy, not postbit. Went back and edited postbit and it shows up fine.

I do not know what the difference is in those two spots, I suppose.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 20:11
kersti kersti is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I'm also asking how do I add the conditional??? Could someone please explain it to us noobs?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 20:56
kersti kersti is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I went back to the 3.8 version to work out how to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18 Jan 2010, 21:17
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by TimberFloorAu View Post
Cheers Mike.

How is Gerry havent seen him in ages?
I hope he is doing very well I have not heard from him but do know something came up in real life and I would like to wait for him to come back and let everyone know. I only released this because a few requested and UKBL makred it as re-usable code but I don't care about installs only helping when I have spare time to however when he returns I get to bug Paul M to change the threads owner to UKBL lol

Originally Posted by Fusion2 View Post
I like the idea, but could you be a little more explainable in your text file for us beginners!

It says add template conditional. Umm where do i add this?

Also How do I add the box around the section, as seen in the original posts on the profile page. Mine just shows all the text scrunched together with no enclosed box.
See Post #2 and post again if anymore questions

Originally Posted by abqtj View Post
THanks,

I think I got it.

I edited the postbit_legacy, not postbit. Went back and edited postbit and it shows up fine.

I do not know what the difference is in those two spots, I suppose.
You can specify in your AdminCP > Settings > Options > Style & Language Options > Now scroll down and look for:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Originally Posted by kersti View Post
I'm also asking how do I add the conditional??? Could someone please explain it to us noobs?
Please see post #2

Anything else feel free to post

Sincerely,

Mike
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19 Jan 2010, 00:45
taffy056 taffy056 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
cheers mate very much appreciate you porting this for me, and others now , it works fine for me
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19 Jan 2010, 01:35
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by taffy056 View Post
cheers mate very much appreciate you porting this for me, and others now , it works fine for me
No problem taffy056

Mike
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 19 Jan 2010, 03:31
abqtj abqtj is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Thanks UKBL for the original mod!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24 Jan 2010, 05:33
Rob F's Avatar
Rob F Rob F is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Have installed this and working lovely (after a little tweaking to fit my forum layout).

Is there any way to have the facebook icon show up when viewing the who's online listing like you can with the msn/icq/etc icons?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 25 Jan 2010, 09:28
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by Rob F View Post
Have installed this and working lovely (after a little tweaking to fit my forum layout).

Is there any way to have the facebook icon show up when viewing the who's online listing like you can with the msn/icq/etc icons?
Great idea, give me a bit I'm terribly busy atm (note the 4:27am my time that this is posted ) and you have one other member with a signature generator mod in front of you that was asked as a favor so when I have free time first comes first served but bare with me and I'll whip something up and again, great idea .

Mike
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:55.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: