Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
  #31  
Old 23 May 2012, 15:19
nhawk nhawk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
They will not, the upgrade process does not remove any tabs/menus/links belonging to the core 'vbulletin' product.
Hmm... but it will for other products? Odd that's not considered a bug.

But, I'm not the one who classifies these things.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 23 May 2012, 16:15
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Not odd at all - the core isnt an add-on, other products are.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 23 May 2012, 19:48
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
A few points involving 4.2.1

Dont use the navbar_after_links or navbar_after_sublinks template hooks.
They were supposed to have been removed, and will probably go in 4.2.1.

These two hooks are likely to disappear as well - collapse_navigation_state, expand_navigation_state

The reason they existed was because the bit definitions for the state field were not defined in the vb bitfield file (long story), so the hooks were there to cope with any custom ones. However, another change due in 4.2.1 is to convert the state field to use bitfields defined in the vb bitfield file, so it will not be necessary to use any hooks to add to them.

Also, 4.2.1 should see all the Nav Man functions moved out of functions.php into their own file, making it easier to find, update or replace them in the future.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 23 May 2012, 19:54
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
A few points involving 4.2.1

Dont use the navbar_after_links or navbar_after_sublinks template hooks.
They were supposed to have been removed, and will probably go in 4.2.1.

These two hooks are likely to disappear as well - collapse_navigation_state, expand_navigation_state

The reason they existed was because the bit definitions for the state field were not defined in the vb bitfield file (long story), so the hooks were there to cope with any custom ones. However, another change due in 4.2.1 is to convert the state field to use bitfields defined in the vb bitfield file, so it will not be necessary to use any hooks to add to them.

Also, 4.2.1 should see all the Nav Man functions moved out of functions.php into their own file, making it easier to find, update or replace them in the future.

What hooks do we use then if we want to add our own sublinb menu? I have one that uses the vb:each to get the post days for searching and I can't use the navigation manager to add that sub-menu.

Last edited by Boofo; 23 May 2012 at 20:15.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 23 May 2012, 19:57
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
For those who may be looking on just how to change the default page off of the Activity Stream and back to the CMS or Forum check out this thread: https://www.vbulletin.com/forum/show...t-Tab-in-4-2-0
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 23 May 2012, 20:06
odln018's Avatar
odln018 odln018 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I'm wanting to create a tab called "Special Access", with sub-links that will go to my library, jukebox, etc. There is not any base page to associate it with. It's just a tab with the sublinks. How the heck do I do this?

Lynne indicated I " will require a plugin to define that tab as active.:

Could someone please assist with this?
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 23 May 2012, 20:44
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
If there's no page what page will show when someone clicks on it?
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 23 May 2012, 21:00
odln018's Avatar
odln018 odln018 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
That's just where I'm messed up, I don't know what kind of page I can make or place there.

Something tells me I'm not going to be able to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 23 May 2012, 21:05
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Its perfectly possible to have a tab with no target url defined, so its just to present a set of links.

However, bear in mind that no link will mean the system redirects you to your site default, so you may want to direct it (the tab) to something like forum.php.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 23 May 2012, 21:10
nhawk nhawk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
If there's no page what page will show when someone clicks on it?
I've enabled the bug report forms for registered users on my site. Go there and click on the navtab. You'll get a dropdown menu. I think that's what he's talking about.

Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Its perfectly possible to have a tab with no target url defined, so its just to present a set of links.
If a dropdown menu with links is what you're talking about.. Please do tell how?

I've tried everything I can think of with the navigation manager with no success.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 23 May 2012, 21:15
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
I see... This mod says it allows for drop down menus from Navtabs.

That is not a default feature in the new Navigation Manager.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 23 May 2012, 21:16
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by nhawk View Post
If a dropdown menu with links is what you're talking about.. Please do tell how?
I didnt say anything about a drop down menu, there is no such option as that.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 23 May 2012, 21:19
nhawk nhawk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
I see... This mod says it allows for drop down menus from Navtabs.

That is not a default feature in the new Navigation Manager.
Yeah, I saw that a couple of days ago. I was hoping that maybe some of that got incorporated in the new system.

But, for now creating a tab using the old navtab_end hook and template still works for those type of tabs.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 23 May 2012, 21:42
odln018's Avatar
odln018 odln018 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Its perfectly possible to have a tab with no target url defined, so its just to present a set of links.

However, bear in mind that no link will mean the system redirects you to your site default, so you may want to direct it (the tab) to something like forum.php.
OK, here is what I'd like to do (see attachment)

I added forum.php to a Special Access tab, but it still highlights the forum tab.
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.3.PNG (65.3 KB, 24 views)
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 23 May 2012, 21:45
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by odln018 View Post
OK, here is what I'd like to do (see attachment)

I added forum.php to a Special Access tab, but it still highlights the forum tab.


In Navigation Manager after you add the Tab "Paid Mods" you go to the drop down menu for "Paid Mods" and choose "Add Link" from the menu.

Each one of those options (Free Mods, Styles, etc...) is a Link I added via "Add Link."
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Article
Article Author Type Replies Last Post
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Navigation Manager Enhancements Andreas vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 337 03 Jan 2018 16:58



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:45.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: