Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread Details »
Randomly positioned ad in between postbits in showthread
Mod Version: 1.01, by UK Jimbo (Member) UK Jimbo is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.3 Rating: (5 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 237
Released: 10 Oct 2005 Last Update: Never Downloads: 138
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Inspired by this hack.

The ad is positioned randomly after one of the postbits. We use this for positioning adsense ads on visordown.com.

Install the attached plugin then add the following code to your postbit or postbit_legacy template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Changelog

v1.01
Bug fix: The ad code shouldn't appear on PMs any more (template change)

Donations

Hopefully this plugin will earn you provide you with some good revenue. If you'd like to show your appreciation please donate as little or as much as you like.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sponsored-ad-screengrab.jpg
Views:	4060
Size:	35.9 KB
ID:	35606  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 10 Oct 2005, 21:44
Wachtmeister's Avatar
Wachtmeister Wachtmeister is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I'll give this one a try, because the "Adsense after first post" did not work with Firefox at "Quick Reply". Thanks for releasing this one.

edit: works perfect.
__________________
Gastrohammer

Last edited by Wachtmeister; 10 Oct 2005 at 22:02.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10 Oct 2005, 22:20
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
I had the same problem with the adsense code affecting the functionality of AJAX. Quick reply would work ONLY if you did not have to click to activate it. One thing you may want to test is to attempt to click quick reply in a post AFTER the display of the adsense and see if it works.

The code I have now will allow you to click quick reply in a post above the adsense, however, not in a post below it.

If this works I will be using it
__________________
CommanderTalk.com --> www.commandertalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 03:53
DeeperImage DeeperImage is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
I've installed the plugging and the code and this is not working, What am I doing wrong? Thanks.

It just doesn't show up.

Last edited by DeeperImage; 11 Oct 2005 at 03:58.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 04:28
auz1111's Avatar
auz1111 auz1111 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
nice one! just wish we could add/edit the ads without going into the template.
__________________
www.schiphop.net
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 05:35
hbalagh1's Avatar
hbalagh1 hbalagh1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Heather
can you select certain usergroups not to see this?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 06:57
Keyser Söze's Avatar
Keyser Söze Keyser Söze is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
yea i got the same question, id prefer only guests see the ads, not logged in members, i get more guests than anything
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 07:01
GrendelKhan{TSU's Avatar
GrendelKhan{TSU GrendelKhan{TSU is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
mandatory "is there a screen shot?" request.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 10:38
Doc Great's Avatar
Doc Great Doc Great is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Real name: Sven
To make only guest see the ads take this code and add it at the end of the postbit (_legacy) template.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

@UK Jimbo, do you allow me to translate/modify and post this modification @ www.vbhacks-germany.com (of course with your copyright)?
__________________
Cheers,
Sven @ http://www.techsupportforum.de

Last edited by Doc Great; 11 Oct 2005 at 10:42.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 11:36
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Thanks for posting the usergroup variation Doc Great. I've got no issues with you re-posting the code elsewhere as long as it's not being sold!
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 11:41
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by GrendelKhan{TSU
mandatory "is there a screen shot?" request.
done
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 12:17
Doc Great's Avatar
Doc Great Doc Great is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Real name: Sven
Originally Posted by UK Jimbo
Thanks for posting the usergroup variation Doc Great. I've got no issues with you re-posting the code elsewhere as long as it's not being sold!
Thats for sure i hate making profit with "simple" php code Thanks for sharing.
__________________
Cheers,
Sven @ http://www.techsupportforum.de
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 18:48
dsotmoon dsotmoon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
how do you add additional usergroups? to


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

like this?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

ect etc?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 18:49
dieselpowered's Avatar
dieselpowered dieselpowered is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Arizona
This does appear to work with click for quick reply.

**clicks install**
__________________
CommanderTalk.com --> www.commandertalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11 Oct 2005, 19:07
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
To limit it just to certain user groups I'd recommend the following conditional rather than the in_array() solution posted above. This version ensures that secondary group assignments are checked too.

For a single user group (1 in this case)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

For multiple user groups (1, 2 & 3 in this case)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:00.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: