Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01 Jun 2017, 19:48
JARNAR JARNAR is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
[HOW TO - vB4] Create your own vBulletin page

Hello,

I created my presentation page, but it does not work!

Following this guide:

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=228112

Can you help me and correct the mistake?

This is my .php file (presentazione.php):
__________________________________________________________


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

_____________________________________________________________

Can you help my, please?

Last edited by MarkFL; 01 Jun 2017 at 20:01. Reason: Enclose code in appropriate tags.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01 Jun 2017, 20:07
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
I've moved your thread from the modifications area (those are for publishing vBulletin products/styles). I've also enclosed your PHP code in the appropriate tags to make it easier to read.

The main issue I see is that you're trying to define the templates by using the code rather than giving the template names. You need to use the Style Manager to create the templates in the Master Style, and then use their names in your PHP script.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Jun 2017, 20:33
JARNAR JARNAR is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
I've moved your thread from the modifications area (those are for publishing vBulletin products/styles). I've also enclosed your PHP code in the appropriate tags to make it easier to read.

The main issue I see is that you're trying to define the templates by using the code rather than giving the template names. You need to use the Style Manager to create the templates in the Master Style, and then use their names in your PHP script.

I don't know how do it. Can you correct it so that I understand, please?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Jun 2017, 20:55
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
This code here:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You need to create a template, with that code in it. Suppose you create this template and name it "mytesttemplate"...then your external script would look like:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Does this make sense? Do you know how to create a new template in your master style?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Jun 2017, 22:42
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Originally Posted by JARNAR View Post
I don't know how do it. Can you correct it so that I understand, please?
Go into the admincp under styles and under the main style click create template in the drop down menu.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02 Jun 2017, 02:41
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post

You need to create a template, with that code in it. Suppose you create this template and name it "mytesttemplate"...then your external script would look like:
Actually, you need to name the template whatever you have called it in this line of your php file:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and again called in this line:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

According to the first line, you need to name the template "test". If you name it anything else, then it won't work. So, I think Mark corrected the template name on one line, but not the other. Both of those should be the same.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02 Jun 2017, 03:09
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Actually, you need to name the template whatever you have called it in this line of your php file:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and again called in this line:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

According to the first line, you need to name the template "test". If you name it anything else, then it won't work. So, I think Mark corrected the template name on one line, but not the other. Both of those should be the same.
I have always used one name for the script, and then other names for the templates rendered by the script. As long as the templates are specified in the $globaltemplates array, then they can be rendered without issue, at least that's been my experience.

For example, here's a very simple script I coded a while back for someone:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02 Jun 2017, 23:55
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
I have always used one name for the script, and then other names for the templates rendered by the script. As long as the templates are specified in the $globaltemplates array, then they can be rendered without issue, at least that's been my experience.
ACK!!! My bad. I'm not sure what I was thinking - it's been a while since I have written a custom page and, um, uh, just forget what I said!!
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03 Jun 2017, 07:42
JARNAR JARNAR is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
I managed to create the page, thank for your support!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: