Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
UKBL ~ Choose Multiple Forum Colors - like VB.Org Details »
UKBL ~ Choose Multiple Forum Colors - like VB.Org
Mod Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive (Designer) UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.1 Rating: (9 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 64
Released: 18 Feb 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 568
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

UKBL ~ Choose Multiple Forum Colors - like VB.Org


With recent requests to do something similar to VB.org without all the complications of seperate CCS scripts and pages, Now you'll be able to change your forums color, Just like VB.org This hack will show you how to make and customise your own forum styles - Great Fun




PLEASE NOTE, The demo Screenshots are not the Colors you will be getting They are just quick examples i made to show different colors. The Colours are custom made by you when you Edit the CSS in your Styles template folder

Lets get Started

First you will need to decide how many colors you want, For example we'll chose just 4, but you can have as many or as little as you want.

Then decide which forum style you want to use to offer your color changes, I've used just the VB default style for this example.

So here we go..........

1. Go to your Admin CP and select Style Manager

2. Click the Link at the bottom - Add New Style

3. Parent Style - Select the Style that you want to offer Color Changes on, Normally this would be your chosen default style, and name it Default - Green Allow User selection - Yes Display order - 20 Then Save

4. You will see that you've created a copy of your default style called default green. Now we'll need to play with our Colors

5. On your defalt Green style click on All Style Options and GO, scroll down untill you come to the Body CSS

Then basically you need to work your way down this changing Background Colors, font colors etc,, If you click on one of the colored squares you will bring up a selector of colors which can let you chose the color you want without having to know Hex color numbers.

Trust me, I've not done this before and already within minutes i was making different forum styles, It really is that simple, The key word here is experiment You'll love it

To see your changes save and then click on the Forum Home Page link at the top right of your screen.

So basically thats what we need to do to make our different color Styles, Do a new Default Style for each color you want.

Color Squares

Next we'll need our color Squares









Just make your own in the color which best represents your Style and save to your forums /images/misc folder To fit nicely in the bottom navbar, I made mine 13 x 13 pixels and made them in paint.net, You can use photoshop or even windows paint

Half way there

Now comes the Fun Part

We need to Make our Color Squares Clickable so for that we'll have to edit a bit of code.

Open Notepad or a similar Text editor and add the following Code


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now we will need to add our url of our style to the Front of that code like this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You can find out which Style id you need in the Style Manager in your AdminCP, Next we add the url of our color square.

If you already havn't done so, Upload your Color squares to your forums image/misc folder and use the full url to link to that in the code, so now our code will be like this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Then we add a spacer Code to the end of our coded like this  



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thats it, Then you do that with all the colors and save them one after the other, so you end up with one long line of code


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thats the code done, Now to add a few words to the Front of it


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Remember to add a unedited Link back to your normal Style so members can keep using the original, You can use a white color square for this.

and thats it save your work

Next we'll need to upload the code to our footer template of our Parent Style

Go to Default (Parent) style in the Admin CP and select All style Options > Edit Templates > Footer
and then find


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and below it add your code, Then save.

You'll see that it will copy to all the child styles automatically

You should get something along the lines of this









Thats all folks

Please Click Install and i'll support 100%

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	choser.png
Views:	510
Size:	48.9 KB
ID:	95081   Click image for larger version

Name:	bluepage.png
Views:	177
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	95086   Click image for larger version

Name:	orangepage.png
Views:	160
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	95087   Click image for larger version

Name:	redpage.png
Views:	202
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	95088  

Click image for larger version

Name:	greenpage.png
Views:	240
Size:	51.0 KB
ID:	95089  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #61  
Old 07 Jul 2009, 10:11
RobbieZ RobbieZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
The color blocks at the bottom of your are sumwhat chunky.

Any chance of how to have them like vb.org's nice and sharp please.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 17 Jul 2009, 04:04
HeloHi's Avatar
HeloHi HeloHi is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
How would I replace the dropdown quick_style_chooser menu on the left hand side of the footer with this, rather than it being to the immediate left of "contact us"? I know it is probably very simple but I am a beginner

Clicked install, instructions were perfect (great job!) besides this little thing I wanted on my own...
__________________
officer meow
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 21 Jul 2009, 02:55
ShawneyJ's Avatar
ShawneyJ ShawneyJ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Shawn
going to give this a shoot, thanks very much

can the icons change with each style? or every icon has to be the same for each style?
__________________
Sorry Guys, just a little busy lately.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 28 Jul 2009, 16:00
sKippah sKippah is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Hi there. Thanks for this...
I am using a few styles from here http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=214585 - Grey will be standard, and lets say green, red, darkblue and plum should be the changeable ones..... I dont know how to add them that the Colorchange will work. How do i have to add the other styles?
Also one point i dont understand.. maybe its my bad english.... in the description is written "Display order - 20". Does it mean i need to give this number to every Style i add?! Confusing me

Last edited by sKippah; 28 Jul 2009 at 19:42.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 04 Aug 2009, 06:57
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I am using the CA Evo 3.8.3 styles (just 8 of them) and would love to use your mod so users can make a simple click to change colors. Is there a simple way to implement your mod with the already installed styles I already have?
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 04 Aug 2009, 06:59
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Originally Posted by basilrath View Post
Can someone tell me why you would want this rediculous "add on"

I'm as picky as anybody and I don't see anything "ridiculous" about it.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 04 Aug 2009, 07:17
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by GaryT View Post
I am using the CA Evo 3.8.3 styles (just 8 of them) and would love to use your mod so users can make a simple click to change colors. Is there a simple way to implement your mod with the already installed styles I already have?
Hi Gary

The Mod redirects the user to the color/style which he wants to view, If your using several different styles as opposed to colors, then thats fine, all you nee to do is to include your style url in the clickable color square. You will need to chose a basic color which compliments your style or you could use a small block of say 4 or 5 of the most common colors for your particular style.

Your first style line of code would be something like this.........

<a href="http://www.yourforum.com/forum/index.php?styleid=5"><img src="http://www.yourforum.com/forum/images/misc/style1.png"></a>

with this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Being the redirect to your chosen style

Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 04 Aug 2009, 16:41
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Originally Posted by UKBusinessLive View Post
Hi Gary

The Mod redirects the user to the color/style which he wants to view, If your using several different styles as opposed to colors, then thats fine, all you nee to do is to include your style url in the clickable color square. You will need to chose a basic color which compliments your style or you could use a small block of say 4 or 5 of the most common colors for your particular style.

Your first style line of code would be something like this.........

<a href="http://www.yourforum.com/forum/index.php?styleid=5"><img src="http://www.yourforum.com/forum/images/misc/style1.png"></a>

with this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Being the redirect to your chosen style

I have multiple styles that only differ in color and each color comes in either fixed or fluid. These are the styles offered by Sofia.

I'll dig into your suggestion and see what happens... thanks
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 04 Aug 2009, 21:48
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Let us know how you got on Gary
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 07 Aug 2009, 15:08
sKippah sKippah is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Hi. I still have some Probs. I added my Styles i want to use as u can see in the Picture


I have added this code in the footer of the Main Style - http://test.brainlag.eu/forums.php?styleid=39

Choose Your Color &nbsp; <a href="http://test.brainlag.eu/forums.php?styleid=39"><img src="http://www.test.brainlag.eu/images/colorchoose/blue.png"></a> &nbsp; <a href="http://test.brainlag.eu/forums.php?styleid=41"><img src="http://test.brainlag.eu/images/colorchoose/blue.png</a> &nbsp; <a href="http://test.brainlag.eu/forums.php?styleid=42"><img src="http://www.test.brainlag.eu/images/colorchoose/green.png"></a> &nbsp; <a href="http://test.brainlag.eu/forums.php?styleid=43"><img src="http://www.test.brainlag.eu/images/colorchoose/red.png"></a> &nbsp; <a href="http://test.brainlag.eu/forums.php?styleid=44"><img src="http://www.test.brainlag.eu/images/colorchoose/red.png"></a> &nbsp; <a href="http://test.brainlag.eu/forums.php?styleid=45"><img src="http://www.test.brainlag.eu/images/colorchoose/orange.png"></a> &nbsp; <a href="http://test.brainlag.eu/forums.php?styleid=46"><img src="http://www.test.brainlag.eu/images/colorchoose/orange.png"></a>
Still have probs with showing the squares (just using 4 atm to test it).

Another question i have is if i have to add the Code to all my styles?
btw.. I just want to use the Evo Styles. Thanks for helping me.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 07 Aug 2009, 16:18
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by sKippah View Post
Hi. I still have some Probs. I added my Styles i want to use as u can see in the Picture


I have added this code in the footer of the Main Style - http://test.brainlag.eu/forums.php?styleid=39



Still have probs with showing the squares (just using 4 atm to test it).

Another question i have is if i have to add the Code to all my styles?
btw.. I just want to use the Evo Styles. Thanks for helping me.
When you see the red cross That means that the url of where you have your color square is broken, you need to get the right url in the code.

Also if you add border=0 to the end of the graphic link, it will install your color square without the Purple link surrounding it

like this

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by UKBusinessLive; 07 Aug 2009 at 16:24.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 07 Aug 2009, 17:00
sKippah sKippah is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Thanks. I dont get the prob with the squares but i am on it...

U wrote to give the copied Style the number 20? What a bout the next added styles? not number 20?

And do i have to add the Code for the Colorchoose to every style?

Thank u
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 07 Aug 2009, 18:57
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Gerry
Originally Posted by sKippah View Post
Thanks. I dont get the prob with the squares but i am on it...

U wrote to give the copied Style the number 20? What a bout the next added styles? not number 20?

And do i have to add the Code for the Colorchoose to every style?

Thank u
The Links to your Styles are shown like the example below


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thats an example from my forum, if you go to your ADMIN CP and go to your Style Manager you will see all your available styles, clicking on those style will take you to your forum in the style you've chosen, Look at the url and you should see one similar to the example above.

I've only given an example styleid, as invidivual forums will differ

Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 07 Aug 2009, 19:21
sKippah sKippah is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Ok so far.. but what about the code? seems i have to add this to every footer Template? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 08 Aug 2009, 09:29
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Almost done

I've followed your directions and everything works as it should

Now, how can I remove the drop down style selector without disabling user selection? If I were to disable user selection it would disable their being able to set it in their user options.

I want to put your mod in place of the drop menu. (same place)

=================

Note:
I skipped the first part of your instructions as I am using the multiple colored styles offered by Sofia's "CA Evo 3.8.3 - 25 colors" styles.

Again, this mod is so simple to implement, even I could do it Trust me, that's saying a lot for your instructions.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: