Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Change Template Manager Display Details »
Change Template Manager Display
Mod Version: 1.00, by Princeton (Coder/Designer) Princeton is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.7 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 15
Released: 09 Apr 2005 Last Update: Never Downloads: 7
Not Supported  

I use FIREFOX on a daily basis ... and, I REALLY HATE USING the 2-column template display.

Anyway, this hack will enable you to change template display style in Internet Explorer and Mozilla browsers (firefox, netscape, gecko engines).
NOTE: 2-column display only works in Mozilla / IE >=4 browsers.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	temp1.gif
Views:	372
Size:	27.4 KB
ID:	25555   Click image for larger version

Name:	temp2.gif
Views:	380
Size:	20.2 KB
ID:	25556  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 09 Apr 2005, 18:50
Bolas's Avatar
Bolas Bolas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
It was time to release that hack!

* Add himself in "I HATE 2-COLUMN TEMPLATE DISPLAY CLUB" *
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09 Apr 2005, 18:55
frage frage is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
thanks
you made my day
I hate the two columns display too

best regards
fage
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09 Apr 2005, 21:55
moley's Avatar
moley moley is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Real name: Daniel
will install later as i mainly use firefox. Thanks for this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09 Apr 2005, 23:18
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
I like this! Excellent job, sir. I will even hit that thingy button.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10 Apr 2005, 16:00
The Realist's Avatar
The Realist The Realist is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Brian
This is a very nice job indeed, well done as one hits the large install thingy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10 Apr 2005, 16:09
The Realist's Avatar
The Realist The Realist is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Brian
Ummmm, your instructions say "FIND IN includes/subscriptions.php"

Dont you mean the /admin/template.php file and not /includes/subscriptions.php

Last edited by The Realist; 10 Apr 2005 at 16:36.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10 Apr 2005, 16:34
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
Originally Posted by The Realist
Ummmm, what is "FIND IN includes/subscriptions.php"

Subscriptions is in the root folder not the includes and what has the subscriptions file have to do with this hack?

Dont you mean the /admin/template.php file and not /includes/subscriptions.php
my bad ... it should be admincp/template.php
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11 Apr 2005, 12:40
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
Bolas, frage, moley, Boofo, The Realist..

thank you ...
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11 Jun 2005, 12:33
sv1cec sv1cec is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Real name: John
I have a question before installing this:

When using Firefox, if you select a template group to open, from the standard, two-column display (like say Postbit), the selected group is positioned at the last row of the left column, with the templates of that group not showing. So you have to click again on the group name and then scroll down, to see the templates of that group. In IE (which I hate), the template group is positioned in the first row, with the templates of the group shown, right below that.

Is this hack solving this issue too, or just rearranges the template manager in a single-column display?

Tnx and rgds
__________________

John
SV1CEC
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11 Jun 2005, 13:40
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
I'm not sure what you mean but, the templates will be displayed under the template group in which they belong in -- this is how it use to work before they made the 2-column in Firefox
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11 Jun 2005, 14:40
sv1cec sv1cec is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Real name: John
Originally Posted by princeton
I'm not sure what you mean but, the templates will be displayed under the template group in which they belong in -- this is how it use to work before they made the 2-column in Firefox
Well, when using Firefox, in the two-column display, suppose you scroll down enough to find the Postbit Templates group. You double-click on it, to open the group and see the templates within that group. The display which you get, positions the Postbit Templates group header, on the last line of the display, as shown in the first attached picture.

In order to see the templates within that group, you have to click on the Postbit Templates group header again, and then scroll down again.

If you are using IE, the Postbit Templates group header, is positioned at the first line of the display, with the templates of that group below the header, but directly viewable, as shown in the second attached picture.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tempman1.jpg (99.4 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg tempman2.jpg (121.4 KB, 10 views)
__________________

John
SV1CEC
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11 Jun 2005, 14:51
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
here's an example (view attachment)
notice the firefox tabs on top of image
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1top_of_browser.jpg (17.6 KB, 11 views)
File Type: jpg 2top_of_browser.jpg (24.9 KB, 13 views)
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11 Jun 2005, 19:34
sv1cec sv1cec is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Real name: John
I just installed it, and yes, it does solve the problem. The template manager works, just like it did in the older versions. Since there is no window displaying the templates, the problem no longer appears. Nice, thanks!
__________________

John
SV1CEC
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11 Jun 2005, 19:39
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
I'm glad it worked out for you ... you may also be interested in http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=81524
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:13.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: