Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
PP-Popup - Photo-Popup for Photopost Details »
PP-Popup - Photo-Popup for Photopost
Mod Version: 1.0, by cellarius (Coder) cellarius is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 9
Released: 16 Jan 2009 Last Update: 18 Jan 2009 Downloads: 19
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Auto-Template Additional Files Translations  

*************************************************
PLEASE NOTE:
This mod will be discontinued in this form. However, there now is a
completely remade version that integrates vB's Albums and Photopost Gallery. Either one can be used alone or both together.

URL to the new mod:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=202385
***********************************************************


*** Preface and Credits ***


This is my fist released mod, so please be patient with me

When my long fostered Photopost-Popup, the well known and unrivaled Geek Gallery Popup, finally stopped working in IE I tried to find replacement. When I couldn't, I decided to tackle the job myself.

Credits go to the Geek not only for the idea, but also for parts of the code - or at least for a very great many of hints I took from looking at it. Since The Geek granted permission to use his abandoned code as base for new development, I felt free to do so. While some of the code is close to his, especially the trouble-rousing injection-process of the images into the editor follows different lines altogether.

Please note that this modification is Photopost only and there are no plans to change that - especially since I do not have other gallery software.


I use this on my own live board, but will not be liable for any problems it may cause. Use at your own risk.The mod is fully functional and has been tested on
  • vB 3.7.4 (Sorry, not yet upgraded - perhaps someone else could test it?)
  • PhotoPost 6.2
  • with Browsers: Firefox, IE, Opera, Safari(Win) - all in their latest versions at time of release.


*** So, what does it do?
***

If you have installed Photopost, your users can click on a link below the smilies on the right in the editor. A window will pop up, where your users can click on their uploaded photos to insert them into the editor. Upon insertion the script will detect whether editor is in wysiwyg or codeview-mode and act accordingly, so that in wysiwyg-mode the actual image will be visible.

Several insert-options are available, and your users can choose from their own personal albums (or see all their uploaded photos).



*** What's in it? ***

Not much:
1 file-upload
1 product to import: bunch of phrases, a new Options-page in AdminCP and one template will be installed
1 template hack, done automatically if you're using TMS.



*** Installation ***

Is simple: Just upload pp-popup.php into your forum root, import the product file and
- if you're using TMS, you're done,
- if not, follow the instructions in templateedits.txt



*** Configuration ***

Just as easy: In the AdminCP go to vBuletin Options -> PP-Popup
There you'll find detailed instructions. See screenshot below.



*** Upgrade ***

Just reimport the product-xml-file, overwriting the old version, and reupload the pp-popup.php. Thats all.



*** Possible Pitfalls ***

Different databases setup
If your vB and PP use different databases, you'll have to activate the different databases setup in AdminCP/Options/PP-Popup. Furthermore, you'll have to give some information concerning the other database at the top of pp-popup.php file.
*** Debug Mode ***

There is a limited debug mode that shows some information only to administrators of the forum. Go to admincp, options and activate debug mode (set to yes).
Now you'll find the debug informtion on the bottom of the popup. If you do not get mysql-errors, the popup seems to work but you do not see any photos, please provide the information given in the debug box (especially datadir and code). If there are links given to original image and thumbnail, you can click them. if they don't work, there's probably a problem with your path to datadir.



*** Languages ***
German language file included. Import via phrases system.



*** Version history ***

-- v1.0
- complete rewrite of different databases setup, now tested and working
- added insert-options (7 different possibilities to insert images)
- of course, everythings phrased (or so I hope)

-- v0.3.1.
- added several new phrases
- changed templates accordingly. Please update template edits, TMS-users will receive those automatically
- added debug system, see this post.

-- v0.3
- new approach to implementing external PP-Database (if vB-db and PP-db are not the same). Should work, all db-Settings for PP are pulled from PP's config.inc.php, no more configuration needed than a simple yes/no-choice.

-- v0.2
- fixed some issues in pp-popup.php that caused broken links (some hard coded paths changed into variables)
- extended javascript for image-injection, now detects whether wysiwyg- or codeview-mode is active; therefore in wysiwyg-mode no longer code is visible upon injection, but the actual image

-- v0.1
initial release

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screeni_admincp.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	141.4 KB
ID:	92986   Click image for larger version

Name:	screeni_atwork.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	156.6 KB
ID:	92987  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Mini Mods Login Popup - Adds a DHTML popup login form w/ forgotten password & register links Analogpoint vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 41 28 May 2010 19:18
Geek Gallery Popup for vBadvanced Gallery or PhotoPost 4 or higher The Geek vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 332 21 Jan 2007 05:47
PhotoPost PopUp vB Code MPDev vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 88 02 Aug 2005 17:36

Comments
  #2  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 03:18
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Reserved.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 08:08
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
New version 0.2:

- fixed some issues in pp-popup.php that caused broken links (some hard coded paths changed into variables)
- extended javascript for image-injection, now detects whether wysiwyg- or codeview-mode is active; therefore in wysiwyg-mode no longer code is visible upon injection, but the actual image
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 08:34
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Hi cellarius nice idea!

I have some questions.
1: Does ist also work with vbGallery?
2: If you have pp installed in a different db, where in the admincp section can you edit the username and password for this db then? Or is it not needed cause the product is fetching these information from the pp config file?
__________________
Ciao jluerken
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 09:31
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Originally Posted by jluerken View Post
Hi cellarius nice idea!
Thanks, but I just went pilfering someone else's

I have some questions.
1: Does ist also work with vbGallery?
Originally Posted by Firstpost
Please note that this modification is Photopost only and there are no plans to change that - especially since I do not have other gallery software.
2: If you have pp installed in a different db, where in the admincp section can you edit the username and password for this db then? Or is it not needed cause the product is fetching these information from the pp config file?
Let me do some more research on this - I'll be back.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 11:01
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
So, here I am back: Took another approach to pulling PP-db-data out of config-inc.php. That was a real good idea!

Is this your setup? Do you have different dbs? I really'd like to know whether that works. Should - I pulled my own database settings, and though they're the same, I did'nt tell the script

Screenshot for admincp will change in a minute.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 13:50
mfowler70 mfowler70 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
I just installed on my board. My photopost and vb pull from different databases. Not sure if that's what is causing my problem but no photos are showing up. There is a cell for each one, and the correct number of them, but no photo is in them.

BTW, the phrase geek_gallery_open was not installed. Had to create it before the editor link would show up.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 18:28
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
So you're not getting a db-error and the script is pulling information from the database; else you'd probably see a mysql-error or the result would be empty. Most likely there's something wrong with the path to data-dir where your photos are stored.

A possibility to check this would be:
Look at the source code of the popup window. Look for
Edit: By that I meant the html-source in your browser, not the files of the mod. Sorry for misunderstandigs.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The code should read something like:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Please look at the part:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Is the URL to the image thumb valid and does it correspond correctly to your gallery installation? You can check this easily by trying the URL in your browser window.

If there is an error there, we can look to resolve it. If you want to, you can tell me your gallery settings (paths to gallery root and datadir) and copy the relevant part of the popup's source code here.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de

Last edited by cellarius; 17 Jan 2009 at 07:31.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 18:31
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Originally Posted by mfowler70 View Post
BTW, the phrase geek_gallery_open was not installed. Had to create it before the editor link would show up.
Ah, as one can see, the calling of the popup is Geek's heritage

I'll update to version 0.3.1 and add the missing phrase. Thanks for mentioning!
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 18:47
DaveS DaveS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Just a vote to say very well done for doing this.

I'm just getting my dev server rebuilt and will install this on there with vB 3.8 to test it for you if you still need that.

All we need now is a slick way of getting photo's in to Photopost and then it might actually be a decent integration.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 19:32
mfowler70 mfowler70 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Originally Posted by cellarius View Post
So you're not getting a db-error and the script is pulling information from the database; else you'd probably see a mysql-error or the result would be empty. Most likely there's something wrong with the path to data-dir where your photos are stored.

A possibility to check this would be:
Look at the source code of the popup window. Look for

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The code should read something like:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
I'm not finding that code anywhere in the pp-popup.php file or the template. Where exactly should I look?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 19:38
mfowler70 mfowler70 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Also the phrase geek_gallery_my_pictures isn't installed by the product file.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 20:12
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Originally Posted by mfowler70 View Post
I'm not finding that code anywhere in the pp-popup.php file or the template. Where exactly should I look?
Not in the files, but in your browser, the html-source code. But wait a few minutes, just adding some more phrases (the one you mentioned among them) and a debug system.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de

Last edited by cellarius; 17 Jan 2009 at 12:03.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 20:23
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
There now is a debug modus that shows some information only to administrators of the forum.

Go to admincp, options and activate debug mode (set to 1).

Now you'll find the debug informtion on the bottom of the popup.

In the case of mfowler70: Are there Links for Original image and Thumbnail image? If you click them, do they work? If they do not work, there's something wrong with your paths.
You may want to give the informtion given on Datadir and Code.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 16 Jan 2009, 20:29
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Originally Posted by DaveS View Post
Just a vote to say very well done for doing this.

I'm just getting my dev server rebuilt and will install this on there with vB 3.8 to test it for you if you still need that.
I'd very much appreciate that, yes.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:09.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: