Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Additional Section within Profile and Dropdown within Posts Details »
Additional Section within Profile and Dropdown within Posts
Mod Version: 2.1.1, by Wired1 (Coder) Wired1 is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (8 votes - 4.75 average) Installs: 180
Released: 07 Aug 2006 Last Update: 18 Jun 2007 Downloads: 1908
Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Code Changes  

NOTE: After checking out the vBulletin 3.7 First Look thread, which contains significant changes to the Member Profile page, it is clear that this mod as-is will probably not work properly when it comes to displaying the Extra Profile Info on that page. As soon as an official 3.7 comes out, I'll start working on the changes.

The 3.5.x version of this hack can be found here.

This hack builds upon my Extra Profile Fields Page hack. This template mod lets you take the extra fields from that hack and places them within a dropdown that sits below the user's title within each post, as well as replaces the Group Memberships area with a listing of only these specs. The EPFP hack is basically the entry form for the data that's manipulated in this hack. Please check out the pics at the EPFP hack link to get the full idea.

In my case, it is used for PC specs (and as you will see the instructions are tailored towards this), however it can be easily used for parts or specifications of almost anything (car parts for example).

An example is shown here:
http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=39826

Example of user profile with specs:
http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/member.php?userid=15


# of plugin hooks: 1
# of php page edits: 1 (just 1 line to add the custom hook line into member.php)
# of template edits: 3
# of phrase edits: 1

Any suggestions are appreciated.

Don't forget to hit INSTALL!

Support will only be given to people who have hit install.

Also, please post where you've installed this, as I'd like to see how people are using it. Or if guests can't see the effects, then please post a pic.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	as_1.JPG
Views:	4655
Size:	29.3 KB
ID:	51733   Click image for larger version

Name:	as_2.JPG
Views:	2992
Size:	38.1 KB
ID:	51734  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Additional Section within Profile and Dropdown within Posts Wired1 vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 64 13 Aug 2006 06:36
Additional Section within Profile Wired1 vBulletin 3.0 Template Modifications 15 19 Oct 2005 05:11

Comments
  #2  
Old 07 Aug 2006, 02:59
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Reserved for future use.
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07 Aug 2006, 04:57
bollie's Avatar
bollie bollie is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Zele (Belgium)
Real name: ivan
instal
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07 Aug 2006, 05:20
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07 Aug 2006, 09:02
Terminatoronly's Avatar
Terminatoronly Terminatoronly is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
good one keep the good work and of course installed
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07 Aug 2006, 13:00
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Thanks! Please post back if you're doing something cool with the mod
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07 Aug 2006, 20:19
delds delds is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Can the selections be made clickable to a url that opens in a new window ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07 Aug 2006, 22:38
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Not with this mod. All the selections are just user profiles. If Jelsoft ever lets profile fields become links, or you find a hack that gives you this option, then it should work fine automatically.
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08 Aug 2006, 00:57
steven s's Avatar
steven s steven s is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
In the 3.5 version you list the hook contents, but not in 3.6. ??
__________________
...steven
www.318ti.org
forum.nccbmwcca.org
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08 Aug 2006, 02:15
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by 1996 328ti
In the 3.5 version you list the hook contents, but not in 3.6. ??
Yeah, didn't feel there was a reason to, as you can read the XML code or read the plugin from the admincp.
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08 Aug 2006, 02:31
steven s's Avatar
steven s steven s is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
I can't figure why the pulldown menu doesn't open.
http://www.318ti.org/forum/showthread.php?t=11816
__________________
...steven
www.318ti.org
forum.nccbmwcca.org
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08 Aug 2006, 03:52
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Have you done the last step in the instruction file? (check the PM on your forum).
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08 Aug 2006, 04:26
steven s's Avatar
steven s steven s is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Originally Posted by Wired1
Have you done the last step in the instruction file? (check the PM on your forum).
You gave me a scare there.

It is in one postbit and not the other. I'm going to go to sleep and try again when I am awake. Thanks for your help.
__________________
...steven
www.318ti.org
forum.nccbmwcca.org
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08 Aug 2006, 04:32
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by 1996 328ti
You gave me a scare there.

It is in one postbit and not the other. I'm going to go to sleep and try again when I am awake. Thanks for your help.
Hehe, sleep goooood No problemo!
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08 Aug 2006, 06:22
Aligator21 Aligator21 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
I did exactly what you said in the instructions, but there is no pulldown menu show up in my forum
I use postbit_legacy and the changes i made them into postbit_legacy insteed of postbit

any help? (see a thread of my forum)
__________________
http://www.online-games.gr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: