Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Additional side navbar Details »
Additional side navbar
Mod Version: 1.01, by attroll (Coder/Designer) attroll is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.5 Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 72
Released: 21 Mar 2008 Last Update: 21 Mar 2008 Downloads: 791
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

I am using this post for a test writeup for a modification I am creating on another site.

Despite what category this is in it works with vBulletin 3.0 up to the most recent version of 3.7.
What this does is create another navbar bar as a left column ny inserting $navbar3 in your navbar template.
With very little modifications you can add to, remove or move items around in this additional navbar.

To install the this
1. Download the zipped file.
2. Unzip the file.
3. Import the product-navbar3.xml into your Plugins & Products Manage Plugins.
4. In the footer template find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that add;

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

5. In the navbar template find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

6. Upload the following file into your forum/images/misc/ directory
navbits_dash.gif
7. go into you Admincp and edit the template navbar3 to include the link you want to include in it.

Using this with CMPS
This xml file will work only on CMPS 3.0.0 it will not work on any of the previous RC versions.

If you would like to include this navbar3 on the front page of your CMPS you can import the following file "cmps_navbar3" through your Admincp--> vBa CMPS--> Download/Upload Module.

In adminCP - vBA CMPS Settings - Main Settings - Portal Output Global Variables type navbar3

You'll need to disable the original Navigation mudule or you're gonna have two of them on the page.

Thanks go out to Leo Brazil for creating the CMPS module.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sample.jpg
Views:	5271
Size:	57.2 KB
ID:	77524  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Additional Navbar 3.5.3 and up attroll vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications 91 26 Dec 2007 02:12
Additional Navbar attroll vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 235 24 Feb 2006 04:51

  #91  
Old 28 Jan 2009, 18:20
HaS€R HaS€R is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 28 Jan 2009, 20:08
dmknights dmknights is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Real name: Darren
now this looks good.
will try this later
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 29 Jan 2009, 09:54
GrendelKhan{TSU's Avatar
GrendelKhan{TSU GrendelKhan{TSU is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
wow. soooo gunna try this out!

anyone know if it works with 3.8.x?
__________________
Unreal Addicts: The Ultimate UT Fraggin Fix
Unreal Tournament Sniper Clan and UT Gaming Community.
Serving frags and fun to the UT Community Since 1999
www.UnrealAddicts.com
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 29 Jan 2009, 12:43
Leo Brazil's Avatar
Leo Brazil Leo Brazil is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
It works great on 3.8.0 and even CMPS module does

May be you'll have to change Forums width to look as you wish but it does work good.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 02 Feb 2009, 05:02
Azonaco Azonaco is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
How do I exclude this from being shown on forum home and user cp?
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 02 Apr 2009, 13:19
MindFixxer MindFixxer is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Installed and functional in less than two minutes!

Much thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 29 Apr 2009, 11:51
MTGDarkness MTGDarkness is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Say I want to make this collapsible (see this theme for details). Any idea how I would do that?
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 27 May 2009, 14:24
MindFixxer MindFixxer is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Just in case anyone wants to use this with 3.8.2, I just went through a few frustrating hours trying to get it to work with a certain theme. After doing some reading through the last 7 pages, and some experimenting, I got it to work nicely. (Which is no surprise, since the author of the product did a great job of making it.)

I just wanted the extra space on the front page. And after reading some of the posts in this thread, I went and read the advice offered here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...7&postcount=32

Problem was, he wasn't very clear on just how he did it. So, hopefully, this will help out someone else if they are ever stuck.

First, I made sure that all instructions for a normal install were followed, with one exception noted below. Then, as suggested in the above post, I went to the style manager and began to edit the template: Footer >> FORUMHOME

The only variation from the original instructions was that, instead of placing $navbar4 in the Navbar template (as said in the instructions) I placed it only in the FORUMHOME template.

The part where I placed it looks like this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

End result: It works and looks great on just the front page.


Many thanks to the author of the code!
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 22 Feb 2010, 19:31
doubleclick doubleclick is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Originally Posted by bgodbout View Post
Thank you for the quick responses.

I finally found a solution. I was unable to get the sidebar to display correctly in the threads BUT I moved the sidebar to the FORUMHOME template to only be showed on the forums home page which works out quite nice and displays perfectly. We have decided to use it as a extra area instead of a navigation replacement.

**NOTE** if you decide to do this as well you need to add a </table> tag at the beginning of the footer so it doesn't knock it out of line.
I tried this on my forum, adding navbar2 to just FORUMHOME and adding the </table> tag at the beginning of the footer. It looks great on Internet Explorer 6 and 8, but in Firefox 3.6 the right colum is too wide, as is the footer.

Can't where to control this so the whole right side aligns correctly. Any clues?
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 07 Nov 2015, 17:11
webnsn webnsn is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
how to do this step

6. Upload the following file into your forum/images/misc/ directory
navbits_dash.gif
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:20.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: