Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11 Jul 2019, 15:34
mp3president mp3president is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Ron
Question install.php5 vbulletin opens instead of installing

Hi there,

I am trying to install VB 3.8.11 on my server.
However, i changed the config.php5 file on my PC with al the info needed.
By accident i said on windows open with "wordpad" and to do this always with this kind of file extension.

But now when i want to install and type : domain/install/install.php5 my computer want to open or save this file. It won't install

Does anyone know how to fix this??

Thank you

Greets
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11 Jul 2019, 19:54
iA1 iA1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
If you have the original config file downloaded from vbulletin members area, reupload that file and make the changes again. Use notepad++ or programmers' notepad for editing php file.
__________________
Make your forum mobile friendly and get app-like features:
App-like icon on your smartphone homescreen
Responsive style - for vBulletin 4.2.x as well as vB 3.8.x - Contact for custom work
Push notifications for new replies, likes and PM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11 Jul 2019, 20:41
mp3president mp3president is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Ron
Hi iA4,

Thanks for your respons, however did that and it didn't do the job.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11 Jul 2019, 20:57
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
You need to name the file correctly.

"config.php"

There is no "5" in the file extension.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12 Jul 2019, 04:49
mp3president mp3president is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Ron
@ In Omnibus

Yes there are.
Vbulletin 3.8.11 needs php5 and when you download this from the members area the files are .php5

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12 Jul 2019, 05:40
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
In my vB 3.8.11 install on my local server, the php files have the extension ".PHP"
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12 Jul 2019, 05:56
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
In my vB 3.8.11 install on my local server, the php files have the extension ".PHP"
Yes. They do on the vBulletin 3.8.11 package I downloaded moments ago as well. The customer above has circled the file type, not the extension. It appears ostensibly that his config file is missing the ".php" extension. It shows in my unzipped package.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12 Jul 2019, 08:42
mp3president mp3president is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real name: Ron
Even when the config.php5 is changed to config.php it still does this:





--------------- Added 12 Jul 2019 at 09:54 ---------------

fixed it

I downloaded from members area the wrong version.
You can choose default, or for specific version.
I chose the php5 version while all i needed was the default version.

Thank everyone for respondig, and sorry for my stupidity.

greetsss
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:24.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: