Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Cyb - Check If Already Posted Details »
Cyb - Check If Already Posted
Mod Version: 1.5, by Valter (Coder) Valter is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (15 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 307
Released: 04 Aug 2006 Last Update: 24 Jan 2007 Downloads: 1029
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

vB 3.7 VERSION HERE:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=177936


=======

Info:
User can check if the same/similar thread already exist when posting new one. Button is shown right after the thread title field in newthread form. When button is clicked then javascript code opens popup window with search results. Entered thread title is used as search query. Additionaly you can choose to search thread titles only or entire posts, to show results as threads or posts, to search current forum only or all. You can also exclude forums in ACP, set default pop-up window dimensions,...

All search permissions (by usergroups, forums) will be applied here too.


Installation:
1. Import XML file (as product): AdminCP > Plugin System > Manage Products > [Add/Import Product]

2. OPTIONAL (for very customized styles - if button not shown):
In newthread template find: <td><input type="text" class="bginput" name="subject" value="$subject" size="40" maxlength="85" tabindex="1" /></td>
Below it add: $cybcheckifposted


To set options go to: AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Cyb - Check If Already Posted


Versions:
v1.0 - May 18. 2006.
-Initial Release
v1.1 - Aug 04. 2006.
-Release of this hack for vB v3.6
v1.2 - Aug 05. 2006.
-Uncached template bug fixed
v1.3 - Sep 20. 2006.
-Added option to exclude forums
-Added Product Version Checking
-Compatibility with different styles improved
-Few other improvements in code (new hook location, removed 1 template,...)
-Few other improvements in code (new hook location, removed 1 template,...)
v1.4 - Oct 08. 2006.
-Fixed bug (button not automatically added to the newthread form on vB 3.6.2)
-Fixed some validation issues (mentioned by ForumDog)
v1.5 - Jan 24. 2007.
-Added menu with search options which automatically expands when you mouse-over button.
-Search options in ACP changed. Now you just set default values for options shown to user.


Click INSTALL if you like this hack.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	acp.jpg
Views:	570
Size:	50.0 KB
ID:	59457   Click image for larger version

Name:	newthread.jpg
Views:	1281
Size:	51.6 KB
ID:	62540  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
New Posting Features Cyb - Check If Already Posted Valter vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 38 18 Dec 2011 20:49
Cyb - Check If Already Posted Valter vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 25 31 Jan 2008 20:45

Comments
  #2  
Old 04 Aug 2006, 10:15
ForYou ForYou is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Hello ,

What about anothe Font Like Arabic ,

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04 Aug 2006, 15:06
TygerTyger TygerTyger is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
The description for this plugin is for a different plugin of yours - "This will count new posts and threads since your last visit."

How about just opening the results in a standard new window? Those types of popups are generally unpopular.

Terrific idea though!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04 Aug 2006, 18:25
SVZ SVZ is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
I have this installed and turned it on, but the button isn't displaying. http://www.gossiprocks.com/forum/new...newthread&f=56

nm I fixed it was the cached template plugin

Last edited by SVZ; 04 Aug 2006 at 18:35.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05 Aug 2006, 12:32
Valter Valter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
v1.2 - Aug 05. 2006.
- Uncached template bug fix
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10 Aug 2006, 00:15
iran.gs's Avatar
iran.gs iran.gs is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
lnstalled ty
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10 Aug 2006, 06:23
ayaam ayaam is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
good idea
__________________
www.ayaam.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10 Aug 2006, 11:47
Ghanem's Avatar
Ghanem Ghanem is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Real name: Ghanem
Thank you very much
Originally Posted by ForYou
What about anothe Font Like Arabic
working fine with my Arabic foum
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12 Aug 2006, 13:47
ForumDog ForumDog is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Thank you for this, wonderful idea! I modified it to just open in a standard window so it is compliant with browser-tabs behaviour.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17 Aug 2006, 03:46
DPSR's Avatar
DPSR DPSR is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Thanks, really a very useful hack
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20 Aug 2006, 20:18
I||usi0nz I||usi0nz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Any Idea why it has spaces instead of like the others without any spaces?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21 Aug 2006, 09:54
Valter Valter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Hi I||usi0nz,

When you expand setting groups it shown only options titles, not descriptions, and some options in my hacks haven't titles defined. Then it shows only empty rows for those options. I put several options under one title to save page space and another reason is that I personally think it's unneded to define title for every single option.

This can be changed if anyone really need it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22 Aug 2006, 14:28
lolo² lolo² is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
excellent hack thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22 Aug 2006, 16:37
bbcentral's Avatar
bbcentral bbcentral is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
If you could build some kind of cut down search page, instead of the regular one, then I'd definitely use this. Not sure how hard that would be to do, it's just that I don't like horizontal scrollbars on the search results, and there's no point displaying my advertising, logo, etc in a popup window. If you could find a way to have 'cybsearch.php' file that only displays the search results, then I think this would be a 10/10 product
__________________
Blues Brothers Central
The Internet's Largest Blues Brothers Fansite

The Soul Food Cafe - Proudly vBulletin Powered
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20 Sep 2006, 07:35
SCRIPT3R SCRIPT3R is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Mod Version: 1.2 = minor description error...

description="This will count new posts and threads since your last visit."
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:15.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: